It is currently 27 Apr 2024, 13:18
   
Text Size

Dominion (by Rio Grande Games)

Continuing Development of MicroProse's Magic: The Gathering!

Moderators: BAgate, drool66, Aswan jaguar, gmzombie, stassy, CCGHQ Admins

Dominion (by Rio Grande Games)

Postby jatill » 05 Mar 2010, 15:57

This post isn't strictly Magic-related, but I thought that fans of Manalink might also enjoy a card game called Dominion (by Rio Grande Games).

I learned some VB to write the custom set editor, so I thought I'd apply my knowledge to coding this awesome game as well. Give it a shot, and have fun.

Install Instructions:
just unzip and play!
http://www.mediafire.com/file/fzyfnjtrovk/dominion.zip

If you gets errors because your OS is missing files, then run this installer, and then repeat the step above.
http://www.mediafire.com/file/dzmjtnhizii/installer.zip

Here are the game rule:
http://www.riograndegames.com/uploads/G ... eRules.pdf
Last edited by jatill on 08 Mar 2010, 17:17, edited 1 time in total.
jatill
DEVELOPER
 
Posts: 2118
Joined: 24 Feb 2009, 16:35
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 17 times

Re: Dominion (by Rio Grande Games)

Postby PaybackJack » 07 Mar 2010, 17:19

Really cool! Do you plan on adding the expansions in as well? Thanks again, I was hoping someone would get around to doing this. Also you should post/link this on the Board Game Geek website. I'm sure a lot of people on there would love to have this.
PaybackJack
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 07 Mar 2010, 17:14
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Dominion (by Rio Grande Games)

Postby Orvin » 07 Mar 2010, 17:38

Thanks for making this. The AI appears to be pretty good at the game.

I did find a bug though. When I try to use the mine card to turn a copper into a silver, I get a notice:

Runtime error '9':
Subscript out of range

and the game crashes when I hit okay. I get the notice when I am prompted to choose a treasure to discard and I click on the copper.


After playing some more games, I have noticed that I get the same error occasionally when using Remodel. The error from using mine has occured every time I use mine, but using Remodel rarely generates the error.
Orvin
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 07 Mar 2010, 17:32
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Dominion (by Rio Grande Games)

Postby heavensblade23 » 07 Mar 2010, 23:29

Big Dominion fan, thanks for making this!
heavensblade23
 
Posts: 14
Joined: 28 Aug 2008, 01:55
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Dominion (by Rio Grande Games)

Postby jatill » 08 Mar 2010, 00:01

PaybackJack wrote:Really cool! Do you plan on adding the expansions in as well? Thanks again, I was hoping someone would get around to doing this. Also you should post/link this on the Board Game Geek website. I'm sure a lot of people on there would love to have this.
Will do. I plan on doing to expansions within a couple weeks (50 more actions for those that were wondering)
Thanks for the bug reports. I've already fixed the Mine bug in my version, but I'll have to check out Remodel. I've never seen that crash yet.
jatill
DEVELOPER
 
Posts: 2118
Joined: 24 Feb 2009, 16:35
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 17 times

Re: Dominion (by Rio Grande Games)

Postby mcdog » 08 Mar 2010, 14:25

Looks great!

I've yet to be able to complete a game though. I keep getting "subscript out of range" and a crash every game. I'd be happy to help test any new versions.
mcdog
 
Posts: 12
Joined: 08 Mar 2010, 14:21
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Dominion (by Rio Grande Games)

Postby nantuko84 » 08 Mar 2010, 14:50

wow! amazing
I'm great fan of this game, we play it my friends very often ;)
unfortunately I also got Subscript out of range exception and couldn't finish any game
but keep working!!!

btw, what language do u use? can I help with developing?
nantuko84
DEVELOPER
 
Posts: 266
Joined: 08 Feb 2009, 21:14
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 9 times

Re: Dominion (by Rio Grande Games)

Postby jatill » 08 Mar 2010, 15:50

I'm not sure where the subscript out of range bug is coming from. Can you try downloading this version and see if it is any better? This version includes 7 or 8 new cards, too, but they are not tested yet.

http://www.mediafire.com/file/fzyfnjtrovk/dominion.zip

nantuko84-
I'm using VB6 to develop. Is that something you can help with?
jatill
DEVELOPER
 
Posts: 2118
Joined: 24 Feb 2009, 16:35
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 17 times

Re: Dominion (by Rio Grande Games)

Postby Boom2010 » 08 Mar 2010, 16:12

Wow! This is excellent. One of my favourite boardgames and play regularly. Please do keep up the good work.

I have been able to complete one game so far but all the others (possibly 5 or so) have crashed out with the subscript out of range bug. I think mostly occur when I have selected the wrong thing "out of turn" i.e a mistaken mouse click or selection box. Not tried the new version you have just posted.
Last edited by Boom2010 on 08 Mar 2010, 16:30, edited 1 time in total.
Boom2010
 
Posts: 83
Joined: 08 Mar 2010, 16:02
Has thanked: 21 times
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Dominion (by Rio Grande Games)

Postby mcdog » 08 Mar 2010, 16:18

Completed 2 games without any crashes with the new version!


edit: Played about 10 games and no more crashes. Very nice job!
mcdog
 
Posts: 12
Joined: 08 Mar 2010, 14:21
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Dominion (by Rio Grande Games)

Postby Boom2010 » 08 Mar 2010, 18:39

Bug? - There seems to be 30 available curse cards. In rules there should be same number as VP cards.
Boom2010
 
Posts: 83
Joined: 08 Mar 2010, 16:02
Has thanked: 21 times
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Dominion (by Rio Grande Games)

Postby jatill » 08 Mar 2010, 20:06

Boom2010 wrote:Bug? - There seems to be 30 available curse cards. In rules there should be same number as VP cards.
That is incorrect. For 4 players, the rules specify 30 Curses. Though I will need to update the code for 2 and 3 players (10 and 20 curses respectively)
jatill
DEVELOPER
 
Posts: 2118
Joined: 24 Feb 2009, 16:35
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 17 times

Re: Dominion (by Rio Grande Games)

Postby Boom2010 » 08 Mar 2010, 21:59

jatill wrote:
Boom2010 wrote:Bug? - There seems to be 30 available curse cards. In rules there should be same number as VP cards.
That is incorrect. For 4 players, the rules specify 30 Curses. Though I will need to update the code for 2 and 3 players (10 and 20 curses respectively)
Oops! That is rather embarrassing! I was thinking 2 player - but was wrong anyway. I guess that is what happens when you just play with 2 player config'ed packs.
Boom2010
 
Posts: 83
Joined: 08 Mar 2010, 16:02
Has thanked: 21 times
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Dominion (by Rio Grande Games)

Postby Boom2010 » 09 Mar 2010, 11:03

jatill wrote:I'm not sure where the subscript out of range bug is coming from. Can you try downloading this version and see if it is any better? This version includes 7 or 8 new cards, too, but they are not tested yet.
This new version is much more stable and I have had no more subscript error messages (in 13 games). Also not sure that I have seen all of the 7/8 new cards yet, but I haven't seen any implementation errors as yet (although it can be difficult to keep track of duration effects despite the memo details on left of the screen).

Again fantastic work!
Boom2010
 
Posts: 83
Joined: 08 Mar 2010, 16:02
Has thanked: 21 times
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Dominion (by Rio Grande Games)

Postby DrLambda » 09 Mar 2010, 15:14

That is awesome. But you should be careful, because Dominion is also available at Brettspielewelt, which is probably the holder of rights for the online version of Dominion.
DrLambda
 
Posts: 49
Joined: 09 Jul 2008, 00:46
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Next

Return to ManaLink 3.0

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 43 guests


Who is online

In total there are 43 users online :: 0 registered, 0 hidden and 43 guests (based on users active over the past 10 minutes)
Most users ever online was 4143 on 23 Jan 2024, 08:21

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 43 guests

Login Form