It is currently 24 Apr 2024, 17:32

Text Size

How can I help?

Moderators: timmermac, Blacksmith, KrazyTheFox, Agetian, friarsol, CCGHQ Admins

How can I help?

Postby Xyx » 06 Mar 2014, 18:29

Hi!

A friend introduced me to Forge about a month ago and, well, consider me a fan! I would like to help out however I can.

I've been taking notes for the past week and I now have a list of feedback several pages long including bug reports, AI observations, requests, pointers, suggestions, opinions, etcetera.

I'm interested in helping out with the code. I have 10 years experience as a software dev, mostly C#. I'm a little rusty and I only have a tiny bit of java experience, but I've been properly schooled in object oriented programming.

I also made a quest world or two with almost a hundred decks built from scratch.

So... how can I help? :)
Xyx
Tester

Re: How can I help?

Postby Chris H. » 06 Mar 2014, 23:42

Hello Xyx.

You should view the Forge:How to Get Started Developing Forge and this Topic Working out the multi-module maven setup and set up a working dev system.

You should not that the AI is limited and their are many cards that the AI can not use effectively. There is a column in the deck editor which state if the AI can't effectively use the card. You may find that some of the cards in your quest world decks will need to be replaced.
Chris H.
Forge Moderator

Postby Xyx » 07 Mar 2014, 12:25

Chris H. wrote:You should view the Forge:How to Get Started Developing Forge
I hit a few snags:

2.1.1 Installations / Java / Windows-Specific Instructions
According to the instructions I need the JDK. However, I am pointed to a page where I can download the JRE, not the JDK. After some searching I found a JDK on the Oracle website. (I would post the link to the page but the forum software won't let me; it's the top result if you google for "java se downloads".) Is that the right place to get the JDK?

2.3.1 Installations / Subversion / Windows Instructions