It is currently 26 Apr 2024, 21:16

Text Size

Quest mode improvements

Moderators: timmermac, Blacksmith, KrazyTheFox, Agetian, friarsol, CCGHQ Admins

Quest mode improvements

Postby PineApple » 19 May 2014, 04:01

Hello this is my first time posting. I just stumbled upon forge a few weeks ago. It is extremely impressive with all the work that has been put in it. I'd also like to contribute to this project. I've got a few years of programming under my belt and this looks like a blast. I had a few ideas for improvements and wanted to hear any feed back before I started to work on these.

Travel
While playing quest mode I feel as if something is missing to truly make it feel like a quest. My suggestion is to add limits to portions of the mode. Mainly the free travel between worlds sticks out. Making it so the player can only change worlds after X conditions are met would help make them stick in one place to enjoy the compiling list of decks created for each world. It also fixes the shop refreshing each time you travel and changing out opponents. The conditions would be variable so that when creating a world it can give just a bit more control over the game.

The types of conditions that could be used are wide spread. Number of wins can force a player to stay in one world through easy to mid ranged opponents. Meaning the deck they would have would consist mostly of the starting pool and world they are on. When doing the number of wins you can make it free travel after X wins or travel is available every X wins. Paying gold to travel offer more freedom with slight punishment. Even a combination of both would be great as well.

Also like the challenge duels you could have a boss duel that needs to be won in order to travel. Giving the player another goal. It may even be so that each boss you beat lets you unlock one world. Free travel between worlds unlocked. This way even allows you to add story in if needed. Although it would be mostly on the bosses only.