It is currently 23 Mar 2017, 08:06
   
Text Size

Major Bug Report

Moderators: timmermac, moomarc, Chris H., friarsol, DennisBergkamp, Rob Cashwalker, CCGHQ Admins

Major Bug Report

Postby mtgrares » 08 Sep 2008, 22:18

This is inteneded to be a list of major bugs in MTG Forge. Bugs that make the program crash or major implementation issues like Shadow creatures blocking non-Shadow. My focus is primarily on the "big bugs".

Bugs that cause MTG Forge to crash:
1. attacking on your first turn with a creature with haste, like Raging Goblin
2. currently Shadow creatures can block non-Shadow (although this can easily be fixed).
mtgrares
DEVELOPER
 
Posts: 1352
Joined: 08 Sep 2008, 22:10
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 11 times

Re: Major Bug Report

Postby Huggybaby » 08 Sep 2008, 23:43

Hey mtgrares, welcome to the forum! :)

My hasty goblins deck is one of my favorites. I hope you fix the haste bug soon. [-o<
User avatar
Huggybaby
Administrator
 
Posts: 3026
Joined: 15 Jan 2006, 19:44
Location: Finally out of Atlanta
Has thanked: 538 times
Been thanked: 559 times

Re: Major Bug Report

Postby GandoTheBard » 11 Sep 2008, 07:39

MTG Forge Still doesnt save drafts correctly, nor does it save over a filename if you give it one already being used. Nor does it warn you of this.
visit my personal homepage here: http://outofthebrokensky.com
visit my art page here: http://gandothebard.deviantart.com
User avatar
GandoTheBard
Tester
 
Posts: 1038
Joined: 06 Sep 2008, 18:43
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Major Bug Report

Postby mtgrares » 11 Sep 2008, 16:05

MTG Forge Still doesnt save drafts correctly, nor does it save over a filename if you give it one already being used. Nor does it warn you of this.
I don't have this problem. I've tried a few drafts and they all work for me. Reading and writing files (IO) tends to be hard/buggy. The problem when reading and writing files is that there are so many errors conditions. In version 2 I plan to save each deck in a separate file, which should minimize the problems.

If other people have this problem, post it.
mtgrares
DEVELOPER
 
Posts: 1352
Joined: 08 Sep 2008, 22:10
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 11 times

Re: Major Bug Report

Postby GandoTheBard » 19 Sep 2008, 07:18

Not sure how the computer managed this but I was playing my vise deck vs my sliver deck and noticed at the end of the first turn the computer had drawn 15 cards. It played 4 (land mox mox sliver and discarded 4. I assume this is a Vise related bug.

Same game later on I cast Ancestral on him on my turn to bring his hand total to 10, then he draws 7 more cards on his turn. Screenie attached.
visit my personal homepage here: http://outofthebrokensky.com
visit my art page here: http://gandothebard.deviantart.com
User avatar
GandoTheBard
Tester
 
Posts: 1038
Joined: 06 Sep 2008, 18:43
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Major Bug Report

Postby Mr.Chaos » 20 Sep 2008, 05:36

I encountered the carddrawing bug with Black Vise as well.
It even carried over from 1 game to the next. Meaning that on turn 1 of the 2nd game of a best of 3, the ai would draw several cards instead of just 1, even if there was no Black Vise or Howling Mine on the table.
This bug only affects the ai side of the game, it never let me draw more than 1 card.
](*,) = coder at work, according to a coder.It does explain some of the bugs. :wink:
Mr.Chaos
Tester
 
Posts: 625
Joined: 06 Sep 2008, 08:15
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Major Bug Report

Postby mtgrares » 23 Sep 2008, 13:29

Thanks for telling me about Black Vise, hopefully I can fix it.
mtgrares
DEVELOPER
 
Posts: 1352
Joined: 08 Sep 2008, 22:10
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 11 times

Re: Major Bug Report

Postby GandoTheBard » 25 Sep 2008, 21:58

I seem to have discovered a way to permanently freeze the game without freezing the client. It is the 2nd main phase and I am clicking ok and the button goes blue then grey and nothing happens. I look at the Taskmanager, Runforge.exe is using no cpu. 10 minutes later it is still not doing anything...I happen to have a hand where nothing is castable so cant even cast anything to check to see if the game is still operational, but I can select various cards and look at their pics. Which means the game is still functional just not going forward for some reason. I figured this is a bug that is probably hard to repeat but I might as well report it anyway. As a follow up I conceded the match because that functionality still worked and now the forge client wont allow the match to continue (button goes blue then grey again).
visit my personal homepage here: http://outofthebrokensky.com
visit my art page here: http://gandothebard.deviantart.com
User avatar
GandoTheBard
Tester
 
Posts: 1038
Joined: 06 Sep 2008, 18:43
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Major Bug Report

Postby jpb » 26 Sep 2008, 04:56

Looks like a problem when the recursion in nextPhase was removed. Someone would need to attach a debugger and run into the problem to figure it out. If you can come up with a scenario to reproduce this issue I can try to debug it.
jpb
 
Posts: 132
Joined: 05 Sep 2008, 13:12
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Major Bug Report

Postby GandoTheBard » 29 Sep 2008, 04:00

The AI cheat bug where it draws a zillion cards is not confined to the black vise deck. I just played several games with against my mono black pain drain deck where it drew +6 cards during the draw step (or whenever it chooses to) Sometimes it drew extra cards (without a card telling it to) after the combat phase.

This bug is a real game killer imho. Any opponent can win given enough cards in hand, and a smoothed land draw. The two cheats together is quite deadly.
visit my personal homepage here: http://outofthebrokensky.com
visit my art page here: http://gandothebard.deviantart.com
User avatar
GandoTheBard
Tester
 
Posts: 1038
Joined: 06 Sep 2008, 18:43
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Major Bug Report

Postby Mr.Chaos » 30 Sep 2008, 12:41

Actually, not sure if this qualifies as a major bug, but it sure reduces the AI's options.
What is it: when the AI has a creature in play with a temperary ability, like Roofstalker Wight, then during the AI's first main phase, it will activate this ability over and over again until it runs out of mana.
I have seen this happen with many other cards like it.
So the AI will add flying or haste to the same creature until it runs out of mana. Preventing the AI from playing spells due to no more mana available.

Why the AI does this? No idea. First time it was funny, now it is annoying me.
](*,) = coder at work, according to a coder.It does explain some of the bugs. :wink:
Mr.Chaos
Tester
 
Posts: 625
Joined: 06 Sep 2008, 08:15
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Major Bug Report

Postby Incantus » 30 Sep 2008, 13:59

Mr.Chaos wrote:Actually, not sure if this qualifies as a major bug, but it sure reduces the AI's options.
What is it: when the AI has a creature in play with a temperary ability, like Roofstalker Wight, then during the AI's first main phase, it will activate this ability over and over again until it runs out of mana.
I have seen this happen with many other cards like it.
So the AI will add flying or haste to the same creature until it runs out of mana. Preventing the AI from playing spells due to no more mana available.

Why the AI does this? No idea. First time it was funny, now it is annoying me.
This is why the AI needs a true minimax search ;)
Incantus
DEVELOPER
 
Posts: 267
Joined: 29 May 2008, 15:53
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: Major Bug Report

Postby DennisBergkamp » 30 Sep 2008, 15:00

The same happens with Flowstone Hellion, the AI just plays its ability until it dies.

EDIT: I think checks in the canPlayAI() methods associated with abilities like these would fix this, where false would be returned if Roofstalker Wight already has flying, or if Flowstone Hellion has a toughness lower than 2. Or, I don't know, maybe it's more complicated than that...
User avatar
DennisBergkamp
AI Programmer
 
Posts: 2602
Joined: 09 Sep 2008, 15:46
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Major Bug Report

Postby jpb » 30 Sep 2008, 18:56

It is that simple. Please implement that.
jpb
 
Posts: 132
Joined: 05 Sep 2008, 13:12
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Major Bug Report

Postby GandoTheBard » 06 Oct 2008, 05:23

The screwed up computer draws 4-6 cards a turn bug seems related to how many games one plays before killing the client (thus resetting all globals.) I do not quite understand how it manages the cheat but it seems like it starts after 4-5 matches have been played. The deck it plays or against is apparently irrelevant.
visit my personal homepage here: http://outofthebrokensky.com
visit my art page here: http://gandothebard.deviantart.com
User avatar
GandoTheBard
Tester
 
Posts: 1038
Joined: 06 Sep 2008, 18:43
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Next

Return to Forge

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


Who is online

In total there are 3 users online :: 0 registered, 0 hidden and 3 guests (based on users active over the past 10 minutes)
Most users ever online was 279 on 11 Jul 2013, 22:03

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

Login Form