It is currently 25 Apr 2024, 07:04

Text Size

An offer for MTG Strategic Layer development.

Post MTG Forge Related Programming Questions Here

Moderators: timmermac, Blacksmith, KrazyTheFox, Agetian, friarsol, CCGHQ Admins

An offer for MTG Strategic Layer development.

Postby Headrock » 24 Feb 2014, 17:20

Good day,

My name is Headrock, and I've been a long-time MTG fan since childhood. I've been playing MTG Forge for almost two years now, and have a great appreciation for its flexibility and its practical execution.

Over the past couple of months I have been spending a lot of time formulating an idea that I've had for a long time. It did not seem too likely to work with other versions of digital MTG that I had encountered in the past, but MTG Forge seems incredibly suited for it - given all the groundwork that's already been done on match play, interface, and the amazing moddability it as through external data (for cards, decks, matches, and obviously the quest system).

The idea I'm working on involves creating a strategy layer that is somewhat similar to MTG Shandalar, but operates more in line with turn-based strategy games. Instead of just walking around to find opponents to fight, cards to buy, and random encounters to loot cards from (which is basically what both Shandalar and the current MTG Forge Quest mode do), I've been thinking hard about how to make a game that models the MTG card gameplay as a functioning world. In essence, the player would have control of areas of the map, draw mana from said areas, acquire cards by capturing and upgrading territory, and then use all of these resources to field armies that would battle each other. The battles themselves would be handled as regular MTG Forge matches. The strategic layer basically provides the over-arching experience, similarly to how the Quest mode works today in MTG Forge, but far more involved and more interesting than that.