It is currently 23 Apr 2024, 15:02
   
Text Size

Forge version 1.5.38

Post MTG Forge Related Programming Questions Here

Moderators: timmermac, Blacksmith, KrazyTheFox, Agetian, friarsol, CCGHQ Admins

Re: Forge version 1.5.38

Postby Xitax » 16 Apr 2015, 21:56

I've always disliked the command panel. If there's a better way than I'm all for it.
Xitax
 
Posts: 918
Joined: 16 May 2010, 17:19
Has thanked: 183 times
Been thanked: 133 times

Re: Forge version 1.5.38

Postby KrazyTheFox » 19 Apr 2015, 22:31

I just found and fixed a long-standing bug that's been annoying me forever. It involves cards/packs/decks/boxes/etc being removed from the shop one more time than it should be, resulting in fewer of these items being available in the shop than there should be.

Here's the problem: I can't get the mobile dev module to run, so I can't test this to make sure this change hasn't broken things there.

I've removed this.qa.getShopList().remove(card, qty); (or similar) from buyCard(), buyPack(), and buyPrecon() in QuestUtilCards. The items are then removed once, and in the correct quantity, at the end of sell() in QuestSpellShop.

If someone could make sure the cards are still able to be purchased correctly in the mobile version, I'd appreciate it.
User avatar
KrazyTheFox
Programmer
 
Posts: 725
Joined: 18 Mar 2014, 23:51
Has thanked: 66 times
Been thanked: 226 times

Re: Forge version 1.5.38

Postby elcnesh » 29 Apr 2015, 08:20

I've looked a bit into relaxing the constraints on quest preferences. They're actually hard-coded, so they might be quite hard for non-devs to change. I've changed them into the following (locally, not committed yet):
  • STARTING_POOL_COLOR_BIAS: between 1 and 10, unchanged
  • ITEM_LEVEL_RESTRICTION: 0 or 1, unchanged
  • BOOSTER_COMMONS/BOOSTER_UNCOMMONS/BOOSTER_RARES: each must be >= 0, and total must be no greater than 15. Maybe we can even remove this constraint and just require them to be >= 0? Or is there a programming-related reason for this constraint?
  • SHOP_MAX_PACKS, SHOP_MAX_SELLING_PRICE, SHOP_WINS_FOR_ADDITIONAL_PACK, WINS_NEW_DRAFT, WINS_ROTATE_DRAFT, WINS_UNLOCK_SET: >= 1. These number are all used as a denominator in some calculation, so they can't be 0.
  • All others: >= 0. Maybe some of these may not be 0?

If someone with a little more affinity for the quest code can take a look at this I'd appreciate it. Otherwise, I think removing all these constraints allows for a much greater diversity in quest settings :)

PS: Maybe we can do a release again soon? Is there any way to get it working? Btw, IMO we could increase the version number to 1.6, with the addition of online play :)
elcnesh
 
Posts: 290
Joined: 16 May 2014, 15:11
Location: Netherlands
Has thanked: 34 times
Been thanked: 92 times

Re: Forge version 1.5.38

Postby KrazyTheFox » 29 Apr 2015, 22:27

elcnesh wrote:Maybe we can do a release again soon? Is there any way to get it working?
I'm guessing that a new web host would fix the problems we've been having alongside some pom cleanup. I've been shopping around for web hosts, but few are cheap with lots of storage space (or they come with horrible bandwidth restrictions). With the size of Forge, we'd need a lot. If anyone knows of a good web host that'll let us store a bunch of data, I'd be happy to pitch in a bit every month to cover the costs.

I think the only thing you're missing as far as quest prefs go is that "Wins for (X):" should be tested at 0, then bumped to 1 if that breaks things. The draft settings should not be below 1, at least.
User avatar
KrazyTheFox
Programmer
 
Posts: 725
Joined: 18 Mar 2014, 23:51
Has thanked: 66 times
Been thanked: 226 times

Re: Forge version 1.5.38

Postby Fizanko » 30 Apr 2015, 02:33

I am wondering, could the musics be made as some kind of optional download ?

It could solve a bit of the webspace problem, as for the same space it would allow to store a lot more Forge builds because the music are in total for +/- 38mb (uncompressed, i have not tested how much whatever compression formats can do on them) and having them in every Forge build will in the end takes considerable space on the host server.
probably outdated by now so you should avoid : Innistrad world for Forge (updated 17/11/2014)
Duel Decks for Forge - Forge custom decks (updated 25/10/2014)
User avatar
Fizanko
Tester
 
Posts: 780
Joined: 07 Feb 2014, 11:24
Has thanked: 155 times
Been thanked: 94 times

Re: Forge version 1.5.38

Postby KrazyTheFox » 30 Apr 2015, 02:52

With the recent reports of quest saves getting corrupted on save, I've committed a change that now creates a backup of quest files before saving them. Only one backup will be kept and that will be overwritten the next time the quest is saved. This should keep people from completely losing quests. They're in the same location as the regular quest save except with a ".bak" extension.
User avatar
KrazyTheFox
Programmer
 
Posts: 725
Joined: 18 Mar 2014, 23:51
Has thanked: 66 times
Been thanked: 226 times

Re: Forge version 1.5.38

Postby Salasnet » 30 Apr 2015, 12:34

I think I posted this bug report in the wrong thread:

http://www.slightlymagic.net/forum/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=16978&start=120#p177991

My apologies if somebody already has fixed this.
Salasnet
 
Posts: 29
Joined: 02 Jan 2011, 06:12
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 16 times

Re: Forge version 1.5.38

Postby KrazyTheFox » 02 May 2015, 15:58

I've just pulled the trigger on a VPS and domain (cardforge.link). Pretty soon I'll be taking a look at rewriting the poms and fixing up the release process to deploy to this new server. It has unlimited bandwidth and 30GB of storage space which should be good enough for a while.
User avatar
KrazyTheFox
Programmer
 
Posts: 725
Joined: 18 Mar 2014, 23:51
Has thanked: 66 times
Been thanked: 226 times

Re: Forge version 1.5.38

Postby elcnesh » 02 May 2015, 17:44

Wow, awesome! If you want to share some of the expenses I'm more than happy to contribute ;)
elcnesh
 
Posts: 290
Joined: 16 May 2014, 15:11
Location: Netherlands
Has thanked: 34 times
Been thanked: 92 times

Re: Forge version 1.5.38

Postby KrazyTheFox » 02 May 2015, 18:45

elcnesh wrote:Wow, awesome! If you want to share some of the expenses I'm more than happy to contribute ;)
I would love to split the costs. Right now it's $15/mo for the VPS and $9/year for the domain. I'll get in contact with you once I've determined that this will work as I expect it to. :P

Before that happens, though, I'm right in the middle of rewriting the starting pool generation for quests. I'd like to finish that up before anything else. It'll let you be highly specific with your starting pool: Image

That'll also have the side-effect of making sense of the Color Bias option that nobody seems to understand.
User avatar
KrazyTheFox
Programmer
 
Posts: 725
Joined: 18 Mar 2014, 23:51
Has thanked: 66 times
Been thanked: 226 times

Re: Forge version 1.5.38

Postby serrasmurf » 04 May 2015, 16:29

KrazyTheFox wrote:
elcnesh wrote:Wow, awesome! If you want to share some of the expenses I'm more than happy to contribute ;)
I would love to split the costs. Right now it's $15/mo for the VPS and $9/year for the domain. I'll get in contact with you once I've determined that this will work as I expect it to. :P
I'm also willing to contribute.

KrazyTheFox wrote:Before that happens, though, I'm right in the middle of rewriting the starting pool generation for quests. I'd like to finish that up before anything else. It'll let you be highly specific with your starting pool
I have one request for this (not sure if others agree): make the card selection the same as with a fat pack or booster box (or in the real world): now you always end up with a set of unique cards, and I would appreciate the extra variance in being able to end up with duplicate copies of cards.
serrasmurf
 
Posts: 316
Joined: 30 Jan 2010, 14:09
Location: The Netherlands
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 18 times

Re: Forge version 1.5.38

Postby KrazyTheFox » 04 May 2015, 17:22

serrasmurf wrote:I'm also willing to contribute.
Awesome! I'll get in touch with you and elcnesh in the next few days regarding that.

serrasmurf wrote:I have one request for this (not sure if others agree): make the card selection the same as with a fat pack or booster box (or in the real world): now you always end up with a set of unique cards, and I would appreciate the extra variance in being able to end up with duplicate copies of cards.
You mean when you open up packs from the spell shop? I'm at work and can't look up how those work at the moment. If I'm understanding you correctly, a fat pack or booster box will give you no duplicates across all your packs (I'll get 36 unique rares)? If so, that's something I can look into fixing. It sounds like a bug to me.
User avatar
KrazyTheFox
Programmer
 
Posts: 725
Joined: 18 Mar 2014, 23:51
Has thanked: 66 times
Been thanked: 226 times

Re: Forge version 1.5.38

Postby friarsol » 04 May 2015, 18:04

KrazyTheFox wrote:
serrasmurf wrote:I have one request for this (not sure if others agree): make the card selection the same as with a fat pack or booster box (or in the real world): now you always end up with a set of unique cards, and I would appreciate the extra variance in being able to end up with duplicate copies of cards.
You mean when you open up packs from the spell shop? I'm at work and can't look up how those work at the moment. If I'm understanding you correctly, a fat pack or booster box will give you no duplicates across all your packs (I'll get 36 unique rares)? If so, that's something I can look into fixing. It sounds like a bug to me.
I think he's talking about the initial pool.
friarsol
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 7593
Joined: 15 May 2010, 04:20
Has thanked: 243 times
Been thanked: 965 times

Re: Forge version 1.5.38

Postby serrasmurf » 04 May 2015, 18:19

Exactly, fat packs and the like are fine, but initial pools currently never have duplicates
serrasmurf
 
Posts: 316
Joined: 30 Jan 2010, 14:09
Location: The Netherlands
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 18 times

Re: Forge version 1.5.38

Postby friarsol » 04 May 2015, 18:31

The main issue with allowing duplicates is in some circumstances there isn't very many options (typically gold cards) so for example, for each loop of a starting pool generation, you get 1 of each color, .5 of colorless, and .25 of multicolor. (The actual generation might be slightly off). If you are supposed to get 8 rare multicolor cards and the player limits their starting pool in such a way that only 1 card is available. You'll just get 8 copies of that card. In the current system, repeats are excluded from being added into the pool (I think by retrying X amount of times if the card randomly grabbed is already in the pool). If there aren't any cards available, it just skips the requirement and keeps going to fill up the pool.

I'd be fine with an option being added called "Starting Pool Duplicates" which defaults to 1, where players can change this number to whatever positive integer they want. That way people like serrasmurf can get multiples of things, but you also don't fill your starting pool with 8 of the same card.
friarsol
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 7593
Joined: 15 May 2010, 04:20
Has thanked: 243 times
Been thanked: 965 times

PreviousNext

Return to Developer's Corner

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 41 guests


Who is online

In total there are 41 users online :: 0 registered, 0 hidden and 41 guests (based on users active over the past 10 minutes)
Most users ever online was 4143 on 23 Jan 2024, 08:21

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 41 guests

Login Form