It is currently 23 Apr 2024, 18:10

Text Size

Help with compiling Forge snapshots for myself.

Post MTG Forge Related Programming Questions Here

Moderators: timmermac, Blacksmith, KrazyTheFox, Agetian, friarsol, CCGHQ Admins

Help with compiling Forge snapshots for myself.

Postby ZappaZ » 26 Sep 2015, 21:53

Hello, since both the snapshot locations have not updated in a while I decided to take a crack at compiling my own using the Forge:How to Get Started Developing Forge and after about three hours I've realized I might need some help.

FYI I've had zero experience with SVN, Eclipse or Maven before. There is a TL:DR if you don't want to read about my adventures.

This is what I've managed so far:

1. Install and test Java, Check
2. Install and test Subversion. Check. But here was the first snag, the .zip after the link is only the source, took me a while to figure out( :roll: ) and then I had to test 3 of the windows versions before I found SlikSVN that passed the command line test (Do you have to install them in program files or something?)
3. Install and test Maven. No. Seems I don't need this if I only want to compile something for myself, wierd that it seems so important later.. (Nitpick: here it tells me to skip ahead to the m2e plugin if I'm not planning on being part of the development process, but you still have to install Eclipse..)
4. Install Eclipse. Check. I might have gone wrong here, the instructions are for 3.7 but I installed 4.5 the latest stable release, seemed sensible and the guide recommended it, this might explain some of the strange things ahead.
5. Installing Subclipse. Check. There is something wierd here, if I install version 1.6 I two steps below have to search for a m2e-subclipse svn connector, this is not in the list anymore? So I had to go back and install version 1.8 (1.7? confusing..)