It is currently 29 Jul 2014, 14:45
   
Text Size

Developing Bugs

Post MTG Forge Related Programming Questions Here

Moderators: timmermac, moomarc, DennisBergkamp, Rob Cashwalker, Chris H., CCGHQ Admins

Re: Developing Bugs

Postby friarsol » 08 Sep 2011, 21:42

I generally Resolve bugs I add code for, and Close bugs I don't add code for (can't reproduce, or something that's already been fixed). In theory, a QA team would go through and verify the bugs that are resolved. If they are still around, then the bug can be reopened. Otherwise, the QA team would close them out.
--Sol, Rules Lawyer

Post a Useful Bug Report
friarsol
Programmer
 
Posts: 5136
Joined: 15 May 2010, 04:20
Has thanked: 111 times
Been thanked: 422 times

Re: Developing Bugs

Postby Max mtg » 08 Sep 2011, 22:26

Did mantis send an email to you when I resolved some issues you reported?
Maybe it is not just set up and reportets don't know about their issues' updates?
Single class for single responsibility.
Max mtg
Programmer
 
Posts: 1978
Joined: 02 Jul 2011, 14:26
Has thanked: 172 times
Been thanked: 330 times

Re: Developing Bugs

Postby friarsol » 09 Sep 2011, 13:00

I get lots of emails from Mantis because I'm an admin on there, so I don't know whether or not other people get them.
--Sol, Rules Lawyer

Post a Useful Bug Report
friarsol
Programmer
 
Posts: 5136
Joined: 15 May 2010, 04:20
Has thanked: 111 times
Been thanked: 422 times

Re: Developing Bugs

Postby ArsenalNut » 09 Sep 2011, 14:03

I get lots of email from Mantis but I don't think I get email for everything. I don't usually read the emails. I mostly use the emails as a reminder to check Mantis for anything related to changes I've made.

On the topic of Mantis, do we have guidelines for assigning issues to developers. In general, I can figure out why an issue occurs but it may be in part of the code I am not familiar with. In these cases, it will get fixed faster if it is assigned to someone more familiar ,e.g. the person who made the most recent change, than me.
So many cards, so little time
User avatar
ArsenalNut
 
Posts: 509
Joined: 08 Jul 2011, 03:49
Has thanked: 27 times
Been thanked: 121 times

Re: Developing Bugs

Postby friarsol » 09 Sep 2011, 14:12

ArsenalNut wrote:On the topic of Mantis, do we have guidelines for assigning issues to developers. In general, I can figure out why an issue occurs but it may be in part of the code I am not familiar with. In these cases, it will get fixed faster if it is assigned to someone more familiar ,e.g. the person who made the most recent change, than me.
We don't really have a "War room" where bugs get assigned. And since all the time is volunteered, assigning a bug to someone won't necessarily mean it'll get fixed faster. But it might be good to have a way where you can suggest bugs to people if you know that's an area they've worked in. (eg. "suggesting" I check out a Cost bug, since I just revamped it)

Although, I don't know how that system would work in reality.
--Sol, Rules Lawyer

Post a Useful Bug Report
friarsol
Programmer
 
Posts: 5136
Joined: 15 May 2010, 04:20
Has thanked: 111 times
Been thanked: 422 times

Re: Developing Bugs

Postby slapshot5 » 13 Sep 2011, 00:52

How do I close a bug in Mantis?
slapshot5
Programmer
 
Posts: 1391
Joined: 03 Jan 2010, 17:47
Location: Mac OS X
Has thanked: 25 times
Been thanked: 68 times

Re: Developing Bugs

Postby ArsenalNut » 13 Sep 2011, 01:54

slapshot5 wrote:How do I close a bug in Mantis?
There should be a row of buttons right under the "Attached Files" field. One of the buttons is "Change Status" with a pull down for choices.

If you don't see this button then you probably aren't setup as a developer role in the Mantis tool. Check next to your name and see what role you are currently assigned. I believe only developers and administrators can change the status of a reported issue.
So many cards, so little time
User avatar
ArsenalNut
 
Posts: 509
Joined: 08 Jul 2011, 03:49
Has thanked: 27 times
Been thanked: 121 times

Re: Developing Bugs

Postby slapshot5 » 13 Sep 2011, 02:20

ArsenalNut wrote:
slapshot5 wrote:How do I close a bug in Mantis?
There should be a row of buttons right under the "Attached Files" field. One of the buttons is "Change Status" with a pull down for choices.

If you don't see this button then you probably aren't setup as a developer role in the Mantis tool. Check next to your name and see what role you are currently assigned. I believe only developers and administrators can change the status of a reported issue.
I have Monitor, Reopen, Move, Delete

Looking at: http://cardforge.org/bugz/view.php?id=273

It says developer next to my name.

-slapshot5
slapshot5
Programmer
 
Posts: 1391
Joined: 03 Jan 2010, 17:47
Location: Mac OS X
Has thanked: 25 times
Been thanked: 68 times

Re: Developing Bugs

Postby ArsenalNut » 13 Sep 2011, 04:08

slapshot5 wrote:
ArsenalNut wrote:
slapshot5 wrote:How do I close a bug in Mantis?
There should be a row of buttons right under the "Attached Files" field. One of the buttons is "Change Status" with a pull down for choices.

If you don't see this button then you probably aren't setup as a developer role in the Mantis tool. Check next to your name and see what role you are currently assigned. I believe only developers and administrators can change the status of a reported issue.
I have Monitor, Reopen, Move, Delete

Looking at: http://cardforge.org/bugz/view.php?id=273

It says developer next to my name.

-slapshot5
I think only someone that is an administrator can move it to the closed state.
So many cards, so little time
User avatar
ArsenalNut
 
Posts: 509
Joined: 08 Jul 2011, 03:49
Has thanked: 27 times
Been thanked: 121 times

Re: Developing Bugs

Postby slapshot5 » 13 Sep 2011, 04:12

ArsenalNut wrote:
I think only someone that is an administrator can move it to the closed state.
Can we change that? Bugs will never get closed this way. It would be ideal if any Admin, Devel, or the original reporter can close the bug.

-slapshot5
slapshot5
Programmer
 
Posts: 1391
Joined: 03 Jan 2010, 17:47
Location: Mac OS X
Has thanked: 25 times
Been thanked: 68 times

Re: Developing Bugs

Postby Max mtg » 13 Sep 2011, 05:07

i recently managfed to close some - it was a mass operation performed on a list of cards

Pls, add 1.1.4 version to mantis
Single class for single responsibility.
Max mtg
Programmer
 
Posts: 1978
Joined: 02 Jul 2011, 14:26
Has thanked: 172 times
Been thanked: 330 times

Re: Developing Bugs

Postby friarsol » 16 Sep 2011, 17:35

slapshot5 wrote:
ArsenalNut wrote:
I think only someone that is an administrator can move it to the closed state.
Can we change that? Bugs will never get closed this way. It would be ideal if any Admin, Devel, or the original reporter can close the bug.

-slapshot5
Slap,
You don't see the Change Status button with a dropdown next to it? See attached
Attachments
status.png
--Sol, Rules Lawyer

Post a Useful Bug Report
friarsol
Programmer
 
Posts: 5136
Joined: 15 May 2010, 04:20
Has thanked: 111 times
Been thanked: 422 times

Re: Developing Bugs

Postby ArsenalNut » 17 Sep 2011, 02:17

friarsol wrote:
slapshot5 wrote:
ArsenalNut wrote:
I think only someone that is an administrator can move it to the closed state.
Can we change that? Bugs will never get closed this way. It would be ideal if any Admin, Devel, or the original reporter can close the bug.

-slapshot5
Slap,
You don't see the Change Status button with a dropdown next to it? See attached
I think SlapShot is talking about moving something from the resolved state to the closed state. I can close something if it's not in the resolved state but once it's in the resolved state, all I can do is reopen it.
So many cards, so little time
User avatar
ArsenalNut
 
Posts: 509
Joined: 08 Jul 2011, 03:49
Has thanked: 27 times
Been thanked: 121 times

Re: Developing Bugs

Postby friarsol » 17 Sep 2011, 03:12

ArsenalNut wrote:I think SlapShot is talking about moving something from the resolved state to the closed state. I can close something if it's not in the resolved state but once it's in the resolved state, all I can do is reopen it.
That's stupid. I think I just changed the option in the prefs that wasn't allowing Devs to close bugs. See if that has fixed it?
--Sol, Rules Lawyer

Post a Useful Bug Report
friarsol
Programmer
 
Posts: 5136
Joined: 15 May 2010, 04:20
Has thanked: 111 times
Been thanked: 422 times

Re: Developing Bugs

Postby ArsenalNut » 17 Sep 2011, 04:32

friarsol wrote:
ArsenalNut wrote:I think SlapShot is talking about moving something from the resolved state to the closed state. I can close something if it's not in the resolved state but once it's in the resolved state, all I can do is reopen it.
That's stupid. I think I just changed the option in the prefs that wasn't allowing Devs to close bugs. See if that has fixed it?
That fixed it. I just closed 225 as a test.
So many cards, so little time
User avatar
ArsenalNut
 
Posts: 509
Joined: 08 Jul 2011, 03:49
Has thanked: 27 times
Been thanked: 121 times

PreviousNext

Return to Developer's Corner

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


Who is online

In total there are 3 users online :: 0 registered, 0 hidden and 3 guests (based on users active over the past 10 minutes)
Most users ever online was 279 on 11 Jul 2013, 22:03

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

Login Form