PLEASE ADD SAVEGAMES TO YOUR TOPIC !
by stassy » 09 Jul 2012, 11:12
by Gargaroz » 09 Jul 2012, 12:49
However I fixed another issue about Bitterblossom : nobody noticed it doesn't drain your life anymore ? It's fixed now.
by Gargaroz » 09 Jul 2012, 13:00
by Althuna » 10 Jul 2012, 13:24
Reason: fixed bug
by Althuna » 10 Jul 2012, 13:28
Reason: fixed 2 bugs
by porphyre » 10 Jul 2012, 15:02
If the spell or ability specifies targets, it checks whether the targets are still legal. A target that's no longer in the zone it was in when it was targeted is illegal. Other changes to the game state may cause a target to no longer be legal; for example, its characteristics may have changed or an effect may have changed the text of the spell. If the source of an ability has left the zone it was in, its last known information is used during this process. The spell or ability is countered if all its targets, for every instance of the word "target," are now illegal. If the spell or ability is not countered, it will resolve normally. However, if any of its targets are illegal, the part of the spell or ability's effect for which it is an illegal target can't perform any actions on that target or make that target perform any actions. The effect may still determine information about illegal targets, though, and other parts of the effect for which those targets are not illegal may still affect them.
Example: Sorin's Thirst is a black instant that reads, "Sorin's Thirst deals 2 damage to target creature and you gain 2 life." If the creature isn't a legal target during the resolution of Sorin's Thirst (say, if the creature has gained protection from black or left the battlefield), then Sorin's Thirst is countered. Its controller doesn't gain any life.
Example: Plague Spores reads, "Destroy target nonblack creature and target land. They can't be regenerated." Suppose the same animated land is chosen both as the nonblack creature and as the land, and the color of the creature land is changed to black before Plague Spores resolves. Plagues Spores isn't countered because the black creature land is still a legal target for the "target land" part of the spell. The "destroy target nonblack creature" part of the spell won't affect that permanent, but the "destroy target land" part of the spell will still destroy it. It can't be regenerated.
9/25/2006 When Momentary Blink resolves, the creature is exiled, then immediately returned to the battlefield. The game sees the returning card as a different permanent from the one that left the battlefield. Any counters, Auras, and so on are removed. Any spells or abilities targeting the creature no longer target it.
Beacon of Destruction
7/15/2007 If a Beacon is countered, it’s put into its owner’s graveyard, not shuffled into the library.
by stassy » 10 Jul 2012, 17:35
I Lightning Bolt my opponent creature, then my opponent cast Momentary Blink and target his creature, so the Lightning Bolt is supposed to fizzle since the target is no longer the same.
So in Althuna's case, Beacon of Destruction is cast and target his creature, Althuna cast Momentary Blink on his creature so Beacon of Destruction no longer have a target and should fizzle, right?
Unless fizzling and countering don't have the same meaning or the 2 sentences of the Beacon of Destruction are distinct, meaning whatever result (successfully resolve of the 1st sentence or not), it will shuffle anyway?...
by porphyre » 10 Jul 2012, 21:14
*AI casts Beacon of Destruction targeting Creature #1.
*In response, Player casts Momentary Blink targeting Creature #1.
*AI and Player have no further responses; stack resolves.
*Momentary Blink resolves, causing Creature #1 to exile, then come back into play. Creature #1 is now Creature #2 - per 9/25/2006 ruling clarification.
*Beacon of Destruction tries to resolve, targeting Creature#1.
However, Creature#1 does not exist anymore. Since BoD only has one "target" clause and the target is no longer valid, BoD is countered per rule 608.2b. Per 7/15/2007 ruling clarification, "it’s put into its owner’s graveyard, not shuffled into the library."
You can actually see this happening in Manalink. Hit Ctrl-T to "Show ID Tags" then shoot a creature w/ Momentary Blink. You will see it gets a different ID Tag number.
You can replicate it with anything that should counter BoD on resolution... Morphling, anything that gains protection from Red, shroud, hexproof... at instant speed.
BoD is bugged.
Who is online
Users browsing this forum: Zeshin and 1 guest