Page 1 of 1

Planeswalkers removed from battlefield

PostPosted: 01 Dec 2019, 19:32
by nero
I had Elspeth, Knight-Errant in play. I cast Elspeth Tirel, and both cards were moved to the graveyard.
According to Wizards, this should only happen if both Planeswalkers have the same full name. ... lker-cards
3.The type line. All planeswalkers are also legendary. This means you can’t have control of two planeswalkers with the same full name at the same time. On older planeswalkers, the word “legendary” may not be printed on the type line, but all planeswalkers fall under this rule.

For example, if you control Jace, Ingenious Mind Mage and cast Jace, Cunning Castaway, nothing happens. You can keep both planeswalkers as they have different full names. But if you cast a second Jace, Ingenious Mind Mage, you’ll put one of them into your graveyard.