Magic Origins
Moderators: North, BetaSteward, noxx, jeffwadsworth, JayDi, TheElk801, LevelX, CCGHQ Admins
17 posts
• Page 2 of 2 • 1, 2
Re: Magic Origins
by fireshoes » 08 Jul 2015, 17:12
Magic Origins release notes were issued today. http://magic.wizards.com/en/articles/archive/feature/magic-origins-release-notes-2015-07-08
"A double-faced card on the battlefield can't be turned face down." (e.g. Ixidron)
"Check to see if there are two or more instant and/or sorcery cards in your graveyard as the spell resolves to determine whether the spell mastery ability applies. The spell itself won't count because it's still on the stack as you make this check." (I noticed yesterday that Send to Sleep seemed to be counting itself. ")
"In one unusual situation, you can cast Calculated Dismissal targeting an instant or sorcery spell you control while there is one instant or sorcery card in your graveyard. In this situation, if you decline to pay 3, the spell will be countered and put into your graveyard. The spell mastery ability will then apply and you'll scry 2."
"Each player who gets Chandra's emblem is the owner of that emblem. In multiplayer games, that emblem will remain in the game as long as its owner does, even if Chandra's owner leaves the game."
Day's Undoing:
*"Ending the turn this way means the following things happen in order: 1) All spells and abilities on the stack are exiled. This includes spells and abilities that can't be countered. 2) If there are any attacking and blocking creatures, they're removed from combat. 3) State-based actions are checked. No player gets priority, and no triggered abilities are put onto the stack. 4) The current phase and/or step ends. The game skips straight to the cleanup step. 5) The cleanup step happens in its entirety."
*"If any triggered abilities do trigger during this process, they're put onto the stack during the cleanup step. If this happens, players will have a chance to cast spells and activate abilities, then there will be another cleanup step before the turn ends." However, Matt Tabak says, "If you cast Day's Undoing, any abilities that trigger before you start ending the turn won't happen (i.e. ones like Sphinx's Tutelage)." and "Technically, it triggers but never goes on the stack. There will be a new rule to clarify this." (new rule coming next week)
Demonic Pact "If the ability is countered (either for having its target become illegal or because a spell or ability counters it), the mode chosen for that instance of the ability still counts as being chosen."
"Faerie Miscreant's triggered ability checks to see if you control another creature named Faerie Miscreant at the time the new Faerie Miscreant enters the battlefield. If you don't, the ability won't trigger at all. The ability will check again as it tries to resolve. If, at that time, you don't control another creature named Faerie Miscreant, the ability will have no effect."
"If more than one red mana produced by a Pyromancer's Goggles is spent to cast a single red instant or sorcery spell, the delayed triggered ability associated with each mana spent will trigger. That many copies will be created. It doesn't matter if this red mana was produced by one Pyromancer's Goggles or by multiple Pyromancer's Goggles."
"A double-faced card on the battlefield can't be turned face down." (e.g. Ixidron)
"Check to see if there are two or more instant and/or sorcery cards in your graveyard as the spell resolves to determine whether the spell mastery ability applies. The spell itself won't count because it's still on the stack as you make this check." (I noticed yesterday that Send to Sleep seemed to be counting itself. ")
"In one unusual situation, you can cast Calculated Dismissal targeting an instant or sorcery spell you control while there is one instant or sorcery card in your graveyard. In this situation, if you decline to pay 3, the spell will be countered and put into your graveyard. The spell mastery ability will then apply and you'll scry 2."
"Each player who gets Chandra's emblem is the owner of that emblem. In multiplayer games, that emblem will remain in the game as long as its owner does, even if Chandra's owner leaves the game."
Day's Undoing:
*"Ending the turn this way means the following things happen in order: 1) All spells and abilities on the stack are exiled. This includes spells and abilities that can't be countered. 2) If there are any attacking and blocking creatures, they're removed from combat. 3) State-based actions are checked. No player gets priority, and no triggered abilities are put onto the stack. 4) The current phase and/or step ends. The game skips straight to the cleanup step. 5) The cleanup step happens in its entirety."
*"If any triggered abilities do trigger during this process, they're put onto the stack during the cleanup step. If this happens, players will have a chance to cast spells and activate abilities, then there will be another cleanup step before the turn ends." However, Matt Tabak says, "If you cast Day's Undoing, any abilities that trigger before you start ending the turn won't happen (i.e. ones like Sphinx's Tutelage)." and "Technically, it triggers but never goes on the stack. There will be a new rule to clarify this." (new rule coming next week)
Demonic Pact "If the ability is countered (either for having its target become illegal or because a spell or ability counters it), the mode chosen for that instance of the ability still counts as being chosen."
"Faerie Miscreant's triggered ability checks to see if you control another creature named Faerie Miscreant at the time the new Faerie Miscreant enters the battlefield. If you don't, the ability won't trigger at all. The ability will check again as it tries to resolve. If, at that time, you don't control another creature named Faerie Miscreant, the ability will have no effect."
"If more than one red mana produced by a Pyromancer's Goggles is spent to cast a single red instant or sorcery spell, the delayed triggered ability associated with each mana spent will trigger. That many copies will be created. It doesn't matter if this red mana was produced by one Pyromancer's Goggles or by multiple Pyromancer's Goggles."
Re: Magic Origins
by LevelX » 10 Jul 2015, 12:46
Also to check:
Hixus, Prison Warden
In a multiplayer game, if Hixus's owner leaves the game, the exiled cards will return to the battlefield. Because the one-shot effect that returns the cards isn't an ability that goes on the stack, it won't cease to exist along with the leaving player's spells and abilities on the stack.
Hixus, Prison Warden
In a multiplayer game, if Hixus's owner leaves the game, the exiled cards will return to the battlefield. Because the one-shot effect that returns the cards isn't an ability that goes on the stack, it won't cease to exist along with the leaving player's spells and abilities on the stack.
-
LevelX - DEVELOPER
- Posts: 1677
- Joined: 08 Dec 2011, 15:08
- Has thanked: 174 times
- Been thanked: 374 times
17 posts
• Page 2 of 2 • 1, 2
Who is online
Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest