It is currently 23 Apr 2024, 13:07

Text Size

Web-based front end for mage

Moderators: North, BetaSteward, noxx, jeffwadsworth, JayDi, TheElk801, LevelX, CCGHQ Admins

Web-based front end for mage

Postby braden » 06 Feb 2015, 03:59

I'm a web dev experienced in building rich client apps and am also a huge magic fan. I've always wanted to build a web-based mtg client, and I think that using all the hard work that the mage devs have put in would be amazing. I've got a lot of experience writing realtime apps in React.js, and thought that me and a couple friends could build something pretty cool.

What do you guys think? I feel like difficult parts of doing this are:

* How do we share the card logic between client and server (Possibly compile the common modules to javascript, so that we can write the card logic once...Maybe use one of the java to javascript compilers out there (GWT?)
* I understand that mage uses jboss remoting which would have to also support accepting websocket connections and messages so that the client may send and receive updates from the mage server...what do the mage data contracts look like?

PS. really appreciate the work you guys/girls have done making such a great project.

Sorry for no urls for react and some Java -> Js compilers....post looks too spammy apparently
braden

Re: Web-based front end for mage

Postby LevelX » 09 Feb 2015, 11:34

Hi braden,

sorry for the late response (I was a bit busy with the XMage update over the weekend).
Nice to hear that you want to contribute the the XMage project.

I talked lately with North about the replacement of JBoss Remoting with another communication layer.
The cause of this was the high amount of disconnects that happen on the server currently. Here is what he wrote - just as basic information. I hope he stays involved and getting the communication layer updated to some modern tool would be a great thing.
Maybe also a good point to settle the needs of a new client.