It is currently 29 Apr 2024, 15:27

Text Size

I would like to contribute UI/UX development.

Moderators: North, BetaSteward, noxx, jeffwadsworth, JayDi, TheElk801, LevelX, CCGHQ Admins

I would like to contribute UI/UX development.

Postby kamikazekent » 19 Feb 2015, 23:02

Hi all,

I recently discovered XMage after using Cockatrice for quite some time. I must say the program itself is amazing. My only gripe which I'm sure is shared by many is the real lack of UX design in the program. I'm a web developer by trade and completed 2 out of 4 years of a game design program at the University of Utah. I would like to contribute some of my design and development expertise to make XMage really shine. I also have some sound design experience which I feel could also help the user experience.

I've already started preliminary work on some mock-ups which I can share on completion and I've also taken some time to look over the code. Is a UI/UX overhaul already in the works? If so, I would like to help the current effort and if not, I would like to spear-head such an overhaul.
kamikazekent

Re: I would like to contribute UI/UX development.

Postby LevelX » 19 Feb 2015, 23:20

Hello kamikazekent,

there is currently no overhaul in the work. So a lot of work can be done in this area.

There is currently another new developer interested to work for this.
See here: https://github.com/magefree/mage/issues/729

So you're not into Java/Swing?
But you would try to work with Java/Swing directly?
Or you only see you to create UI design?

Some examples of useful UI changes that come to my mind:
A color selector that looks nice (showing the 5 colors of magic).
Improve handling of top card of library if it's face up.
Embellish and improve tournament panel.
Redesign of the ability selector (position, handling, showing html)
Adding a country selector in connection dialog and add a country flag column to the user list.