It is currently 27 Apr 2024, 00:32

Text Size

Porting to JavaFX 8+

Moderators: North, BetaSteward, noxx, jeffwadsworth, JayDi, TheElk801, LevelX, CCGHQ Admins

Porting to JavaFX 8+

Postby lopho » 21 May 2015, 09:15

Hi there,

just here to give a heads up to xmage devs that I will give a shot at porting xmage from swing to javafx 8, piece by piece.
Ill dedicate the next week to it and see how it fares. If it goes somewhat smooth i'll keep at it, if not... maybe ill keep at it as well.
Im pretty new to javafx and this will be a learning project for me, so no promises.

Any pointers where to start or what to look out for from the devs would be appreciated. You can follow my progress on my xmage fork - javafx branch - on github (same username as here).

Greetings and stuff
lopho

Re: Porting to JavaFX 8+

Postby BetaSteward » 21 May 2015, 12:54

I would hold off for a few days before starting. I am in the process of updating the client/server communication framework and this will mean that some changes to the client are needed. I am hoping that the interface will be simpler for those working on UI pieces. Look for a new branch shortly.

As for a starting point I would look at the login dialog and then the tables pane along with it's associated chat pane. That is usually the first view that users have and it encompasses a lot of the necessary client/server communication.

BetaSteward
BetaSteward
DEVELOPER

Postby lopho » 21 May 2015, 13:04

ok, ill not get into it seriously until then. I will have the next week all to myself, and i wanted to dedicate my time to this.
Do you think you will be done by the coming week (sat,sun,mon)?
lopho

Postby LevelX » 21 May 2015, 13:47

Maybe you don't know but there were already some effords to create such a JavaFX client.

North was also working on it and maybe he can tell about of the problems he run into (if I remember right there were some).

Here's the project link on github:
https://github.com/magefree/fx-client