It is currently 24 Apr 2024, 02:54

Text Size

CardGrid - New Digital TCG - In Development

Discuss anything concerning this site and its contents

Moderator: CCGHQ Admins

CardGrid - New Digital TCG - In Development

Postby Formedras » 06 Mar 2011, 02:05

If you've noticed the few posts I've made so far, you may have noticed that I have been making my own TCG program. Before now, I wasn't ready to officially announce it to the world, mostly because my first post, less than one week ago, was asking about how to get it done in the first place. I've made considerable progress, considering I have had no real help from anyone. And now I'm ready to make the official announcement.

I am making a completely new TCG. That game is called CardGrid. I have been working on the rules on and off for about three years, all on my own.

What makes CardGrid different?
Unlike virtually any other TCG/CCG thus far, turn-taking will not be just one player acts then the other. Instead, Characters will be the ones to take turns, with the player deciding what to do.
You will not draw cards just because it's your Character's turn. Instead, you will have to decide when to use your turn up to draw cards.
There are no minions. Your Characters are who you start with, and that's it.

CardGrid as a commercial venture (albeit indie):
CardGrid will be a free-to-play title, but intended to draw a profit through advertisements and/or a Cash Shop. If it is decided both are to be implemented, advertisements can be turned off temporarily for a small fee. I'm sorry if this irritates some of you, but this is the way it's going to be.

CardGrid's current state:
The initial test version of the CardGrid client and server are not yet functional. I'd say (as usual) assume Valve Time, but that needs a set date to fail to meet.

Projected platform of release: