It is currently 25 Apr 2024, 00:41

Text Size

State of current game engines ?

Discuss anything concerning this site and its contents

Moderator: CCGHQ Admins

State of current game engines ?

Postby spiph » 19 Nov 2012, 00:59

Hi,

First off, I have to say it's very exciting to find this site and the resources collected here. I am new to MTG but am very interested in the games engines available. I've already sunk a lot of money into cards to build up my collection, but I realize that I enjoy the theory of the game and understanding the game mechanics and deck building more than actually playing (although that's fun too!)

I'm very interested in the game engines on this site. It seems to me that the main engines that are in active development are Forge and Mage. My impression is that the big granddaddy in terms of community is Cockatrice, but it is a more 'manual' affair. Is that a fair assessment ?

What is the reason behind having two engines (Mage and Forge) actively developed ?
What are the respective strengths and weaknesses of each ?
Any recommendations for which engine has a more approachable source code ?

Thanks so much for your time and any replies are appreciated.
spiph

Re: State of current game engines ?

Postby spiph » 19 Nov 2012, 04:58

Also, are there any common standards used between engines ? ie: game records, or card databases ?
spiph

Postby Aswan jaguar » 19 Nov 2012, 05:00

If you haven't seen this,take a look:
http://www.slightlymagic.net/wiki/List_of_MTG_Engines

I see more or less what is posted in all MTG games and most of them are in continuous development.
---
Trying to squash some bugs and playtesting.
Aswan jaguar
Super Tester Elite

Postby melvin » 19 Nov 2012, 05:19

Welcome to the forum, spiph :)