It is currently 24 Apr 2017, 15:20
   
Text Size

Feature Requests Thread

Moderators: timmermac, moomarc, Chris H., DennisBergkamp, Rob Cashwalker, friarsol, CCGHQ Admins

Feature Requests Thread

Postby apthaven » 18 Aug 2009, 14:42

Please post any requests for MTG Forge's features and/or feedback on the current ones here.

---
Well, I can't think of much. But here's one.

Why not make a continuous duel mode? Where in your current life would carry on to the next match. However you cannot change your deck or modify it in any way. So if a deck you battle against has protection against your deck, you're screwed. The decks you can use here are the ones you have constructed from the standard cardpool.

It would be also good to have your opponent use a different deck after you had beaten it. Or even have an option of choosing the opponent's deck afterwards.

It would be also good if each match is a best of 3 just like the standard mode. Or to make it even harder a best of 1.

This would give tremendous challenge for a given deck, that is if it can beat all decks the AI can handle in one go.

Should the player lose a match, the game ends. It is also imperative that there is a save feature here. Having 999 wins in one go isn't possible in just one go. And Forge has the tendency to slow down at times after a couple of duels.

Micropose's Shandalar had this feature in the old 1996 game.
"I am a man and real men do not consume pink beverages. Get thee gone woman, and bring me something brown." - Jace Wayland
apthaven
Tester
 
Posts: 242
Joined: 20 Jun 2009, 12:34
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Feature Requests Thread

Postby Chris H. » 18 Aug 2009, 15:02

apthaven wrote:Should the player lose a match, the game ends. It is also imperative that there is a save feature here. Having 999 wins in one go isn't possible in just one go. And Forge has the tendency to slow down at times after a couple of duels.
Having a save feature for this mode would be a plus. At times someone may notice the "Computer is thinking" message. Forge will require us to quit the match at this point. A save feature would help to mitigate this type of problem.
User avatar
Chris H.
Forge Moderator
 
Posts: 6320
Joined: 04 Nov 2008, 12:11
Location: Mac OS X Yosemite
Has thanked: 644 times
Been thanked: 643 times

Re: Feature Requests Thread

Postby ponposessed » 18 Aug 2009, 16:00

Hi, I have a simple request: pause the game to play actions or instants before the computer combat phase begins, so we can activate the Faerie Conclave to defend (as example). I can do that when the computer plays a card before her combat phase, but when i finish my turn, and the computer attacks inmediately, i can't do nothing.
ponposessed
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 14 May 2009, 20:06
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Feature Requests Thread

Postby Huggybaby » 19 Aug 2009, 17:09

Feature Request threads are valuable. Stickied.
User avatar
Huggybaby
Administrator
 
Posts: 3030
Joined: 15 Jan 2006, 19:44
Location: Finally out of Atlanta
Has thanked: 540 times
Been thanked: 559 times

Re: Feature Requests Thread

Postby Mr.Chaos » 01 Sep 2009, 06:38

It is now possible to show cards in the editor by date. (showing last added cards at the top)
Would it be possible to do something similar with the decks you made/downloaded?
I mean at the main screen, where you select a deck to play against the computer, at the "YOUR DECK" and "OPPONENT" prompts.
Because my list of decks is long. And when I import a deck, it can be hard to find that deck in the list of decks already in there.
So, yes. It basically is about me being lazy. But it would be a cool feature. :wink:

Just a choice to display decks by alphabet or date would be sweet.
](*,) = coder at work, according to a coder.It does explain some of the bugs. :wink:
Mr.Chaos
Tester
 
Posts: 625
Joined: 06 Sep 2008, 08:15
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Feature Requests Thread

Postby silly freak » 08 Sep 2009, 12:00

in the blog, anonymous wrote:Could you add another LAF option to the menu, for us folks running under Linux? Namely the "GTK+" LAF (class name is com.sun.java.swing.plaf.gtk.GTKLookAndFeel)? Even better would be to search for available LAFs when listing the Display Options - I think there is a method that does just that.
i have changed the L&F chooser code to use the method mentioned (UIManager.getInstalledLookAndFeels() by name). Linux users are likely to have a number of new possibilities with the next release 8)

in the blog, anonymous wrote:Maybe add an icon to the application's window? I was thinking something like a mana color icon (particularly swamp or mountain). If you're not allowed to distribute it due to copyright, you could search for it inside the pics folder, like you do for card pictures, and use the generic icon if it's not there.
(treat this quote as a regular feature request;))
___

where's the "trust me, that will work!" switch for the compiler?
Laterna Magica - blog, forum, project, 2010/09/06 release!
silly freak
DEVELOPER
 
Posts: 582
Joined: 26 Mar 2009, 07:18
Location: Vienna, Austria
Has thanked: 82 times
Been thanked: 19 times

Re: Feature Requests Thread

Postby Marek14 » 09 Sep 2009, 09:34

I'll repeat my request from another thread :)

If you draw mana from an object that can produce more than one type, currently you get a window where you have to select a type of mana, then click OK.

However, sometimes you don't care what type of mana you get, for example when you only want to satisfy the generic cost.

The solution I propose is to automatically highlight the first choice of mana, so if I just press "Enter" right away, that's the one that will be used without having to click anything. If I care about the type of mana, I could normally click a different type before OKing it.
Marek14
Tester
 
Posts: 2498
Joined: 07 Jun 2008, 07:54
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 215 times

Re: Feature Requests Thread

Postby silly freak » 09 Sep 2009, 16:49

i'm currently doing a new selection dialog, I could incorporate that easily.

other features would be the option to submit a choice by double-clicking it, and choosing more than one at the same time (would require to change all cards that could make use of such thing)
___

where's the "trust me, that will work!" switch for the compiler?
Laterna Magica - blog, forum, project, 2010/09/06 release!
silly freak
DEVELOPER
 
Posts: 582
Joined: 26 Mar 2009, 07:18
Location: Vienna, Austria
Has thanked: 82 times
Been thanked: 19 times

Re: Feature Requests Thread

Postby zerker2000 » 10 Sep 2009, 05:23

Abstract idea: all-decks2 merger? I.e. "import from all-decks2 file" in deck editor. I am not sure how to do this, as I have not looked at deck saving code at all, but I wouldn't imagine this to be a complicated addition.
O forest, hold thy wand'ring son
Though fears assail the door.
O foliage, cloak thy ravaged one
In vestments cut for war.


--Eladamri, the Seed of Freyalise
zerker2000
Programmer
 
Posts: 569
Joined: 09 May 2009, 21:40
Location: South Pasadena, CA
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Feature Requests Thread

Postby Chris H. » 10 Sep 2009, 19:13

I am (slowly) studying the Sun web-based java tutorials and I have spent some time learning how to change the some of the default settings.

I now have the Specify Card Size settings set to large, The Stack AI Land to off, and the Stop at End of Turn set to on.

I am not sure if it would be practical or not, but it would be nice if we had a preference setting window where we could set the preferences which in turn would be written to a preference file.

When Forge is launched it could look for this file and set the preferences for us and we would not have to change these settings every time that we start the game.
User avatar
Chris H.
Forge Moderator
 
Posts: 6320
Joined: 04 Nov 2008, 12:11
Location: Mac OS X Yosemite
Has thanked: 644 times
Been thanked: 643 times

Re: Feature Requests Thread

Postby DennisBergkamp » 10 Sep 2009, 20:15

This would be awesome, saving default settings in some kind of .cfg file (in text). Different users will have different preferences after all (I prefer playing with card size set to small).
User avatar
DennisBergkamp
AI Programmer
 
Posts: 2602
Joined: 09 Sep 2008, 15:46
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Feature Requests Thread

Postby BarkBarkBark » 22 Sep 2009, 04:08

I am with Ponposessed. I would love to play some of my instants (like evacuation) after the computers second main phase and before my first main phase. But, this isn't an option at the moment.


This program is amazing! Thank you!
"Only one man can kill this many Russians...."
BarkBarkBark
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 22 Sep 2009, 04:01
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Feature Requests Thread

Postby Huggybaby » 22 Sep 2009, 06:25

I can generate a random deck in normal mode, but not quest mode, is this correct? And if so can it be changed? I really don't like making decks from scratch, I just want to play then maybe tweak.
User avatar
Huggybaby
Administrator
 
Posts: 3030
Joined: 15 Jan 2006, 19:44
Location: Finally out of Atlanta
Has thanked: 540 times
Been thanked: 559 times

Re: Feature Requests Thread

Postby Chris H. » 22 Sep 2009, 11:20

Huggybaby wrote:I can generate a random deck in normal mode, but not quest mode, is this correct? And if so can it be changed? I really don't like making decks from scratch, I just want to play then maybe tweak.
Here is a minor work-around.

Select Deck Editor from the New Game window
Select Deck Actions -> New Deck - Generate Constructed Deck
Select Deck Actions -> Export Deck

Select Quest Mode from the New Game window
Select a Quest Length and then click on Continue Quest
Select Deck Editor from the Quest Mode window
Select Deck -> Import Deck

Navigate to the random deck file that you created and then exported earlier. This random deck will be a two color 60 card deck. You will also see a full card pool of 275 additional cards in the All Cards table.

You can play this random deck file in quest mode. You can later adjust your random deck using the Deck Editor while you are between matches.
User avatar
Chris H.
Forge Moderator
 
Posts: 6320
Joined: 04 Nov 2008, 12:11
Location: Mac OS X Yosemite
Has thanked: 644 times
Been thanked: 643 times

Re: Feature Requests Thread

Postby Chris H. » 22 Sep 2009, 11:24

BarkBarkBark wrote:I am with Ponposessed. I would love to play some of my instants (like evacuation) after the computers second main phase and before my first main phase.
While you are in the window which displays the battlefield, you can select:

Menu -> Stop at End of Turn
User avatar
Chris H.
Forge Moderator
 
Posts: 6320
Joined: 04 Nov 2008, 12:11
Location: Mac OS X Yosemite
Has thanked: 644 times
Been thanked: 643 times

Next

Return to Forge

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Deadpool, mfanta and 17 guests


Who is online

In total there are 19 users online :: 2 registered, 0 hidden and 17 guests (based on users active over the past 10 minutes)
Most users ever online was 279 on 11 Jul 2013, 22:03

Users browsing this forum: Deadpool, mfanta and 17 guests

Login Form