Page 1 of 1

Bug Report - Declaration In Stone and Voldaren Pariah

PostPosted: 02 Aug 2016, 01:20
by Adanaz
Hello guys,

My Voldaren Pariah was targeted by Declaration in Stone, so I triggered it's flip (sacrificed three creatures) and flipped her into Abolisher of Bloodlines. Declaration in Stone proceeded to exile Abolisher of Bloodlines. This is a mistake as it switched the target to Abolisher of Bloodlines instead of the target remaining as Voldaren Pariah, who was no longer a legal target due to transforming into the Eldrazi Vampire - Abolisher of Bloodlines.

Below is a log of the interaction:

Phase: Enro's End of Turn
Resolve stack: Declaration in Stone (75) - Exile target creature and all other creatures its controller controls with the same name as that creature. That player investigates for each nontoken creature exiled this way. (Targeting: [Abolisher of Bloodlines (59)]) Put (0) Clue tokens onto the battlefield.
Resolve stack: When a non-Angel creature you control dies, transform Archangel Avacyn at the beginning of the next upkeep. [Zone Changer: Knight Ally (213)]
Add to stack: Enro triggered Archangel Avacyn (62).
Resolve stack: When this creature transforms into Abolisher of Bloodlines, target opponent sacrifices three creatures. (Targeting Enro) [Transformed: Abolisher of Bloodlines (59)]
Add to stack: Adam triggered Abolisher of Bloodlines (59) targeting Enro Enro .
Resolve stack: Abolisher of Bloodlines (59) - Transform Abolisher of Bloodlines (59).
Add to stack: Adam activated Voldaren Pariah (59).
Add to stack: Enro cast Declaration in Stone (75) targeting Voldaren Pariah (59) .
Mana: Westvale Abbey (119) - {T}: Add {C} to your mana pool.
Mana: Fortified Village (88) - {T}: Add {W} to your mana pool.

Voldaren Pariah and Abolisher of Bloodlines both have (59). If this is both of the cards' ID in the coding, this would appear to be the problem.

Best wishes,

Adam

Re: Bug Report - Declaration In Stone and Voldaren Pariah

PostPosted: 02 Aug 2016, 05:44
by Marek14
Nope, that is absolutely correct.

As it happens, the yesterday's Cranial Insertion (http://www.cranialinsertion.com/article/2024) actually had a question pertaining to this (edited to remove the quiz format):

Q: Harry controls one Thing in the Ice with one counter and one Thing in the Ice with two counters. Hermione casts Declaration in Stone targeting the Thing with one counter. In response, Harry casts some instant to trigger the counter-removing ability. What happens?

A: Declaration in Stone exiles just Awoken Horror. The Thing that Hermione targeted with Declaration in Stone transforms into Awoken Horror, but it transforms in place, so it's still the same permanent it was before and Declaration in Stone doesn't lose track of it. When Declaration in Stone resolves, it checks the target's current name, which is Awoken Horror, and looks around for any other creatures that Harry controls that are named Awoken Horror. There aren't any, so Declaration in Stone exiles only the Awoken Horror and leaves the Thing in the Ice alone.

Re: Bug Report - Declaration In Stone and Voldaren Pariah

PostPosted: 02 Aug 2016, 15:33
by Adanaz
Thanks Marek14. I asked the online magic judges last night and have had two, now three, confirmations of how DiS works. I was thrown off by the creature name part.

I was too forward in claiming that it was a mistake and should have said may be a mistake.

Thanks for the clarification :-)