Page 1 of 1

Everlasting Torment interaction bug

PostPosted: 18 Aug 2017, 23:15
by timmermac
Everlasting Torment caused an interaction that I believe to be incorrect. Computer attacked with an Alms Beast. I blocked with a Goblin Outlander. The Outlander died. Since it has protection from white and the Alms Beast is a white card, it shouldn't have taken damage, as I understand how protection works, correct?

Re: Everlasting Torment interaction bug

PostPosted: 19 Aug 2017, 04:25
by Agetian
Hmm, I believe this is actually correct. "Protection from X" says that "damage from X sources is prevented", and Everlasting Torment says that "damage can't be prevented". As far as I understand Magic rules, if there is a request to do something ("prevent damage from a white source") and an effect in play that prohibits it ("damage can't be prevented"), then the prohibiting effect takes priority.

Checking the rulings on Everlasting Torment on Gatherer, I found this:
The “damage can’t be prevented” statement overrides all forms of preventing damage, including protection abilities. Damage prevention spells and abilities can still be cast and played; they just don’t do anything.

- Agetian