It is currently 16 Apr 2024, 13:50

Text Size

Forge language translation

Moderators: timmermac, Blacksmith, KrazyTheFox, Agetian, friarsol, CCGHQ Admins

Forge language translation

Postby Jessica » 14 Feb 2019, 20:44

Hi,

I'm no developer but I'm interested in translating Forge to Dutch language.
Is this possible for non-developers and is there a translation project going on for translating Forge to other languages?

If yes to both question, can somebody tell me how the translation works and what exactly I need to do?

thx
Jessica

Re: Forge language translation

Postby churrufli » 15 Feb 2019, 11:21

Hi Jessica,

I was working recently in the internationalization of Forge. There is still a lot to do, and initially only the GUI will be translated but not the math part.
If you want to translate to your language (what there is for now) you can do it like this:

Edit user\preferences\forge.preferences and change the value of

UI_LANGUAGE = en-US by nl-NL

Create a copy of the res\ languages\ en-US.properties file and call it nl-NL.properties.

Translate the value of text strings that you will find in the file. If you complete it in your language, let me know.
EDIT: I have created a windows tool to manage translations. I put it in my post "Tools for Forge users in Windows".viewtopic.php?f=26&t=21514

Regards
Last edited by churrufli on 22 Feb 2019, 09:34, edited 1 time in total.
churrufli

Postby Jessica » 15 Feb 2019, 14:58

Hi

That is very understandable for a non-developer and I want to help (only for Dutch)!
But ... the file en-US.properties just contains 4 lines, that's it. Am I using the right file because it's very short?

In the attachment is the Dutch translated file. Wow, that was completed quickly :mrgreen:

(words like "decks" I couldn't translate very well, so I think it's best to keep it the same as English.)