It is currently 18 Apr 2024, 23:26

Text Size

I'm developing a rules enforcement system, need help

General Discussion of the Intricacies

Moderator: CCGHQ Admins

I'm developing a rules enforcement system, need help

Postby Jonix » 18 Aug 2009, 09:04

First of all, I am not a programmer. However, I've been working as a producer/game designer for a while, and I have some skills in developing algorithms and systems for games.

Right now, I am developing a rules enforcement system for Magic, that could be implemented to support something like 95% of all cards ever printed.

But, I have to admit that since my playing experience is limited, and I am not familiar with many blocks/sets, thus I need some help.

So far, all cards that I could pen'n'paper test with my system should be working just fine. But I am sure that there might be some tricky cards that I am simply not aware of.

All I am asking for are examples of cards that are extremely hard to implement with currently available engines, so that I can test my system on those. If my system is not any better that those available, it just might not be worth working on.
Jonix

Re: I'm developing a rules enforcement system, need help

Postby Snacko » 18 Aug 2009, 10:39

Most of the problems lie in the layer system an it's interaction with different triggered abilities. You should read Comprehensive Rules which describe game of magic in an algorithm like fashion, there's also Ruling Summaries, which can tell how the card behaves with other cards, however it might be no in sync with the current rules so you always have to check.

Some of the most abused examples of hard to implement card interactions are Conversion, Magus of the Moon, and Watery Grave at the same time which makes Watery Grave into Plains.