It is currently 16 Dec 2018, 09:00
   
Text Size

Anvil of Bogardan trigger?

General Discussion of the Intricacies

Moderator: CCGHQ Admins

Anvil of Bogardan trigger?

Postby Huggybaby » 26 Jan 2011, 17:07

With Anvil of Bogardan, does the Anvil trigger when Necropotence is in play or something similar like Solitary Confinement or Yawgmoth's Bargain?

It says that the discard effect of anvil is not skipped, but my understanding was skipping your draw step means you have no draw step as it never existed. Untap -> Upkeep -> Precombat Main Phase.

Thanks!
User avatar
Huggybaby
Administrator
 
Posts: 3077
Joined: 15 Jan 2006, 19:44
Location: Finally out of Atlanta
Has thanked: 574 times
Been thanked: 572 times

Re: Anvil of Bogardan trigger?

Postby Incantus » 26 Jan 2011, 19:47

Huggybaby wrote:It says that the discard effect of anvil is not skipped, but my understanding was skipping your draw step means you have no draw step as it never existed. Untap -> Upkeep -> Precombat Main Phase.
!
Both of these are correct, but you are confusing the draw step with the actual event of drawing a card. The Anvil ruling says that the discard effect is not skipped if the draw part of the effect is replaced (for example, with Obstinate Familiar). However, if you skip the entire draw step, the draw/discard triggered ability of Anvil of Bogardan will not fire.
Incantus
DEVELOPER
 
Posts: 267
Joined: 29 May 2008, 15:53
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 3 times


Return to Magic Rules Engine Programming

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


Who is online

In total there is 1 user online :: 0 registered, 0 hidden and 1 guest (based on users active over the past 10 minutes)
Most users ever online was 279 on 11 Jul 2013, 22:03

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

Login Form