It is currently 21 Oct 2019, 12:16
   
Text Size

deck builder and card generator don't work on mac

by Nate

Moderators: Snacko, CCGHQ Admins

deck builder and card generator don't work on mac

Postby hendo » 07 Feb 2007, 15:12

i was really excited to see this software that was supposed to work on all platforms. However, I am assuming you have to run the DeckBuilder.exe file to run DeckBuilder. .exe files are windows only therefore it will not work on a mac. It would be great if you could...same with the card generator...i don't think it runs on a mac either....
Yes, Yes
hendo
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 07 Feb 2007, 15:01
Location: Barrie, Ontario
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Postby Goblin Hero » 07 Feb 2007, 17:27

I'm not the author but I'll try to help you. DeckBuilder is written in Java, so you need Java Virtual Machine. Go to http://www.apple.com/java/ and download it. After that just click on deckbuilder.jar file. As for the card generator - you need php interpretator for MacOS.
When you´re a goblin, you don´t have to step forward to be a hero -- everyone else just has to step back.
User avatar
Goblin Hero
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1940
Joined: 23 Oct 2005, 09:37
Location: Russia
Has thanked: 145 times
Been thanked: 317 times

Postby dragon » 10 Feb 2007, 03:43

the problem with that is, the files and everything that we need to run the app itself is in the self extracting .exe file, which can't be run on the mac so unless there's a way to unpack the file without it thinking that it's a windows application......
-------------------------------------------------------
There's always free cheese in the mousetrap...
dragon
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 08 Feb 2007, 18:55
Location: amarillo, tx
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Postby Goblin Hero » 10 Feb 2007, 16:20

dragon wrote:the problem with that is, the files and everything that we need to run the app itself is in the self extracting .exe file
Everything is packed with zip, so you can easily extract it.
When you´re a goblin, you don´t have to step forward to be a hero -- everyone else just has to step back.
User avatar
Goblin Hero
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1940
Joined: 23 Oct 2005, 09:37
Location: Russia
Has thanked: 145 times
Been thanked: 317 times

Postby dragon » 12 Feb 2007, 01:42

Goblin Hero wrote:Everything is packed with zip, so you can easily extract it.
the "I can decompress anything" app for OSX won't give that option, though, I suppose you could just rename the .exe to .zip and see if it'll work that way....
-------------------------------------------------------
There's always free cheese in the mousetrap...
dragon
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 08 Feb 2007, 18:55
Location: amarillo, tx
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Postby Goblin Hero » 12 Feb 2007, 06:46

Dragon, what .exe are you talking about? I do not undersdand.
When you´re a goblin, you don´t have to step forward to be a hero -- everyone else just has to step back.
User avatar
Goblin Hero
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1940
Joined: 23 Oct 2005, 09:37
Location: Russia
Has thanked: 145 times
Been thanked: 317 times

Postby dragon » 13 Feb 2007, 15:04

the two .exe files that you use to install the deckbuilder.

they can't be dealt with on a mac, and unless my linux knowledge has fallen behind (which it probably has) I don't think *nix can open a .exe even if it is a self extracting archive, because it also has application data as well as the compressed archive
-------------------------------------------------------
There's always free cheese in the mousetrap...
dragon
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 08 Feb 2007, 18:55
Location: amarillo, tx
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Postby Goblin Hero » 13 Feb 2007, 17:43

dragon wrote:the two .exe files that you use to install the deckbuilder.
You do not need them. Just run the .jar file.
When you´re a goblin, you don´t have to step forward to be a hero -- everyone else just has to step back.
User avatar
Goblin Hero
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1940
Joined: 23 Oct 2005, 09:37
Location: Russia
Has thanked: 145 times
Been thanked: 317 times

Postby dragon » 14 Feb 2007, 20:03

tried that too.....said something was missing....it's strange, but, then again, if I do it on a windows machine without extracting the .exe's it says something's missing too....
-------------------------------------------------------
There's always free cheese in the mousetrap...
dragon
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 08 Feb 2007, 18:55
Location: amarillo, tx
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Postby Goblin Hero » 15 Feb 2007, 06:49

I've tried it on my windows machine with both of these exe files deleted. Everything was ok. Make sure you have the latest java version.
When you´re a goblin, you don´t have to step forward to be a hero -- everyone else just has to step back.
User avatar
Goblin Hero
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1940
Joined: 23 Oct 2005, 09:37
Location: Russia
Has thanked: 145 times
Been thanked: 317 times

Re: deck builder and card generator don't work on mac

Postby exilekng » 05 Sep 2009, 04:48

You have a great program. I have some suggestions that could make it better. I don't want to be rude so I apologize in advance. I don't really have the technical knowledge to do it myself
1) Make the search bar about half the size.
2) There should be an install or .dmg for us Mac users.
3) I should be able to get the program to run in a window or fullscreen rather it be 800x600 or 1920x1200 with all the available buttons in the screen.
4) Is there a way to put the current value of the card in the card list? I think that if you are looking at the card.. It will tell you what it does so having a second info bar is a bit unnecessary.

Thanks for the program!
Attachments
Picture 1.png
Can we fix this please?
exilekng
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 17 Aug 2009, 11:05
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: deck builder and card generator don't work on mac

Postby jendave » 05 Sep 2009, 09:03

I use a Mac and have no problem running neither the Deckbuilder nor the CardGen. The Deckbuilder runs out of the box. Make sure to open up a terminal and type "java -jar Deckbuilder.jar". Forget the .exe files - they mean nothing for OSX.

The CardGenerator is much harder to run. I will post a page on the Wiki about it. I wrote a few scripts and installed Macports to get it to run. It works great. I hope to get the wiki page up this weekend.
jendave
 
Posts: 307
Joined: 01 Jun 2008, 07:19
Has thanked: 8 times
Been thanked: 21 times

Re: deck builder and card generator don't work on mac

Postby Snacko » 05 Sep 2009, 10:03

I read on Apple Dev page that you could make a java programme into an installable software bundle with a native executable (like exe for windows), however to be able to build it you need a mac which I don't have access to.
I read that you could bundle the software without the native executable but then again you get some default java icon in your dock bar or something similar.

The search bar width depends on the container width and in your case it looks like the toggable buttons with card types are much bigger and have a bigger spacing than on windows where all the buttons fit half the size of it. You should be able to run it in a window, however the minimal size to fit all the buttons is bigger on Mac it seems.

As for 4, the card list on the left doesn't track deck cards.
Snacko
DEVELOPER
 
Posts: 826
Joined: 29 May 2008, 19:35
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 73 times

Re: deck builder and card generator don't work on mac

Postby Chris H. » 05 Sep 2009, 10:56

Snacko wrote:I read on Apple Dev page that you could make a java programme into an installable software bundle with a native executable (like exe for windows), however to be able to build it you need a mac which I don't have access to.
In Eclipse do:

File -> Export… -> Other -> Mac OS X application bundle -> Next

Select a launch configuration
paste in any needed arguments
give it an application name
pick a JVM version
there is a check box for using SWT

and last there is an option to assign an Icon. If you don't provide an icon a standard java icon is used.

I played around with these options using the Forge source and discovered that the application ended up about twice the size of the basic jar file.
User avatar
Chris H.
Forge Moderator
 
Posts: 6320
Joined: 04 Nov 2008, 12:11
Location: Mac OS X Yosemite
Has thanked: 644 times
Been thanked: 643 times

Re: deck builder and card generator don't work on mac

Postby Snacko » 05 Sep 2009, 14:24

Chris H. wrote:
Snacko wrote:I read on Apple Dev page that you could make a java programme into an installable software bundle with a native executable (like exe for windows), however to be able to build it you need a mac which I don't have access to.
In Eclipse do:

File -> Export… -> Other -> Mac OS X application bundle -> Next

Select a launch configuration
paste in any needed arguments
give it an application name
pick a JVM version
there is a check box for using SWT

and last there is an option to assign an Icon. If you don't provide an icon a standard java icon is used.

I played around with these options using the Forge source and discovered that the application ended up about twice the size of the basic jar file.
This option is only available on Mac Os :P
Snacko
DEVELOPER
 
Posts: 826
Joined: 29 May 2008, 19:35
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 73 times

Next

Return to Deck Builder and Excellent Rules Viewer

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


Who is online

In total there is 1 user online :: 0 registered, 0 hidden and 1 guest (based on users active over the past 10 minutes)
Most users ever online was 287 on 31 Mar 2019, 04:11

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

Login Form