It is currently 18 Aug 2018, 14:07
   
Text Size

Non-english cards

Moderators: charmer, CCGHQ Admins

Re: Non-english cards

Postby Edmondo » 12 Jul 2010, 09:37

This is the 1st time I'm creating a database with OpenOffice. Just tell me if it would be ok like this:
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/5447898/MTG%204th%20Test.odb
Ed.
User avatar
Edmondo
 
Posts: 24
Joined: 24 Mar 2010, 11:05
Location: Germany
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Non-english cards

Postby Goblin Hero » 12 Jul 2010, 09:44

Edmondo wrote:I imagine to copy/paste the info into the access file. Will that do?
Yes. But remember I need all 5 columns filled: English name, localized name, localized type, localized text, localized flavor.
Edmondo wrote:P.S.: I just discovered that I can only save the database as .odb (OpenOffice). Hope that's not a problem.
I can install OpenOffice if needed.
Try to gather the data for any one set and send it to me,
When you´re a goblin, you don´t have to step forward to be a hero -- everyone else just has to step back.
User avatar
Goblin Hero
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1907
Joined: 23 Oct 2005, 09:37
Location: Russia
Has thanked: 133 times
Been thanked: 307 times

Re: Non-english cards

Postby AsBest » 12 Jul 2010, 12:42

Do you mean something like this? Ä Ö Ü ß ?
Yes.

4th Edition example:
http://www.magiccards.info/query?q=e%3A ... rd&s=cname
I think this should be sufficient. I imagine to copy/paste the info into the access file. Will that do?
Look a bit carefully: some text represent new oracle data. Text on original cards is different.

P.S.: I just discovered that I can only save the database as .odb (OpenOffice). Hope that's not a problem.
If you have OpenOffice, better use Calc format.
User avatar
AsBest
HQ Team Member
 
Posts: 150
Joined: 08 Nov 2009, 18:40
Location: Ukraine
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Non-english cards

Postby Edmondo » 13 Jul 2010, 08:03

Seems to me that the german text there is the original (awkward) text from the german cards. Should the database contain only the renewed text? I finished the first 60 cards of 4th Edition. If someone (preferably GH) could tell me if it's ok like this, I'd be more than happy to go on. I don't want to enter about 360 cards for nothing. With some time I could do all missing editions in german, so please have a look at what I've done yet and tell me if I can go on like this. Here's my ODB file:
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/5447898/MTG%204th%20Test.odb
In the meantime I'll check out the calc format.
Ed.
User avatar
Edmondo
 
Posts: 24
Joined: 24 Mar 2010, 11:05
Location: Germany
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Non-english cards

Postby AsBest » 13 Jul 2010, 15:11

Edmondo wrote:Should the database contain only the renewed text?
No, db should contain only original texts.
User avatar
AsBest
HQ Team Member
 
Posts: 150
Joined: 08 Nov 2009, 18:40
Location: Ukraine
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Non-english cards

Postby Goblin Hero » 13 Jul 2010, 16:36

Edmondo wrote:Here's my ODB file
I've opened it with OpenOffice but there're zeroes instead of real data in the table.
When you´re a goblin, you don´t have to step forward to be a hero -- everyone else just has to step back.
User avatar
Goblin Hero
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1907
Joined: 23 Oct 2005, 09:37
Location: Russia
Has thanked: 133 times
Been thanked: 307 times

Re: Non-english cards

Postby AsBest » 14 Jul 2010, 07:07

Goblin Hero wrote:zeroes instead of real data
Have the same and this is strange, because file contain data...
Ed, please, move all data to Calc and repost new file.
User avatar
AsBest
HQ Team Member
 
Posts: 150
Joined: 08 Nov 2009, 18:40
Location: Ukraine
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Non-english cards

Postby Edmondo » 14 Jul 2010, 07:11

This turns out to be tougher than I thought. :)
It should look like this
Image
and then like this:
Image
Ed.
User avatar
Edmondo
 
Posts: 24
Joined: 24 Mar 2010, 11:05
Location: Germany
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Non-english cards

Postby AsBest » 14 Jul 2010, 07:24

Yes, first screen looks like yours, but second contains just zeros instead the data...
User avatar
AsBest
HQ Team Member
 
Posts: 150
Joined: 08 Nov 2009, 18:40
Location: Ukraine
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Non-english cards

Postby Edmondo » 14 Jul 2010, 08:02

Okay, I found out that I could Drag&Drop every field from Base to Calc, but at some point (after about 140 Drag&Drops) some "Textimport" window came up and both programs (not the whole computer) kinda froze. Is there perhaps a way to import the whole Base thingy into the Calc thingy? I never, ever used Calc (or Excel for that matter) before, so I got no clue what's going on there.
Damn, I'm such a noob! :(
I really want to help with this, but I do not want to type in everything manually.

Ed.
User avatar
Edmondo
 
Posts: 24
Joined: 24 Mar 2010, 11:05
Location: Germany
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Non-english cards

Postby Edmondo » 14 Jul 2010, 08:25

YES!!! I did it! :lol:
Figured it out! So, finally, here's your Calc-file.
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/5447898/MTG%204th%20Ed.ods
Man, am I glad this worked! [-o<
User avatar
Edmondo
 
Posts: 24
Joined: 24 Mar 2010, 11:05
Location: Germany
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Non-english cards

Postby Goblin Hero » 14 Jul 2010, 10:42

Edmondo wrote:Figured it out! So, finally, here's your Calc-file.
It's ok now. I have only one wish: I'd prefer proper line breaks inside text and flavor.
When you´re a goblin, you don´t have to step forward to be a hero -- everyone else just has to step back.
User avatar
Goblin Hero
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1907
Joined: 23 Oct 2005, 09:37
Location: Russia
Has thanked: 133 times
Been thanked: 307 times

Re: Non-english cards

Postby Edmondo » 14 Jul 2010, 12:10

Do you mean like it's originally on the card? Can do! :)
User avatar
Edmondo
 
Posts: 24
Joined: 24 Mar 2010, 11:05
Location: Germany
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Non-english cards

Postby Goblin Hero » 14 Jul 2010, 18:48

Edmondo wrote:Do you mean like it's originally on the card?
Yes.
When you´re a goblin, you don´t have to step forward to be a hero -- everyone else just has to step back.
User avatar
Goblin Hero
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1907
Joined: 23 Oct 2005, 09:37
Location: Russia
Has thanked: 133 times
Been thanked: 307 times

Re: Non-english cards

Postby SoldT » 27 Sep 2010, 21:26

Hi there!

Well, I only want to ask if it's possible to help you adding some sets in other languages, like Edmondo did with German 4th edition...

I have almost all my cards in Spanish, and have several complete sets... and I love Magic Album, so, if I could help you it would be great.

I read this topic http://www.slightlymagic.net/forum/viewtopic.php?f=32&t=2333 and used the sample database without problem, adding 15 cards from the Onslaught set in Spanish. So if you want, I can continue adding the entire Onslaught cycle and then pass the Db file to you...

Pedro.
SoldT
 
Posts: 34
Joined: 23 Oct 2009, 09:29
Location: Spain
Has thanked: 13 times
Been thanked: 12 times

PreviousNext

Return to Magic Album

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


Who is online

In total there is 1 user online :: 0 registered, 0 hidden and 1 guest (based on users active over the past 10 minutes)
Most users ever online was 279 on 11 Jul 2013, 22:03

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

Login Form