It is currently 25 Jun 2017, 07:02
   
Text Size

Help with drafting

Moderators: Jorbes, CCGHQ Admins

Help with drafting

Postby Lej » 10 Feb 2010, 01:36

Me and a friend just tried out drafting with Online Playtable. It seems promising.

After we have picked our cards we are presented with the option to save the deck. After this how are we supposed to proceed? We need to sideboard some cards and add land. Are we supposed to just exit the drafting table and do this in the "deckbuilder" and if so how can we guarantee that no one cheats? Or is there some other way to do it?

I read the http://www.slightlymagic.net/wiki/Draft but it's a bit vague on this point. Explanation in baby steps please. Thanks in advance.

Some other small questions:
-Is it possible to make it show the entire cards in your hand not just the top half?
-Where do I find servers to play on? The only one I know opt.magic-league.com doesn't seem to have Worldwake yet.
Lej
 
Posts: 10
Joined: 24 Aug 2009, 02:07
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Help with drafting

Postby Jorbes » 10 Feb 2010, 11:29

Hi

Thanks for trying OPT.

After the draft is done, you can save the cardpool to a dck file yes. Then you can just leave the draft table, nothing will happen there anymore, the draft is done.

You can then basically do whatever you like, there is no strict rules about what to do with the deck.
You can open it with the deckbuilder, but some prefer Nate's Deckbuilder, you can find it here on the website also.
Add some land and play a game I guess. The draft should also provide you with security codes for each player.

Other questions:

- in the next release, the libray and hand will be "floating" zones, just like the stack / reveal are, this will allow you to move them to whereever and also increase the height of the play area a bit.

- I do not control the magic-league server, so you'd have to ask the people from magic-league.
Jorbes
DEVELOPER
 
Posts: 333
Joined: 10 Oct 2008, 10:46
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Help with drafting

Postby gont » 10 Feb 2010, 16:54

Jorbes wrote:I do not control the magic-league server, so you'd have to ask the people from magic-league.
Ok, that's up to them ...but can you provide new version of OPTServ with WWK support? 0.6.1 ends on ZEN.

As for after-draft deck building it would be fantastic if you could allow making it at end of draft, and saving it after as ready to play with. I love the way OPT shows scans of all cards to pick - it feels like a non-virtual draft then, so why can't I build my deck same way? [-o<
You could just add another field (window?) as a sideboard (so player can drag&drop some cards to/from there) and simple 5-coloured +/- buttons to change amount of basic lands and that should be enough. Think about it, please...
gont
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 03 Feb 2010, 11:44
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Help with drafting

Postby Jorbes » 11 Feb 2010, 09:24

Yes gont, that is secretly scheduled for 2.0
It's quite a lot of work and because there are working alternatives like Nate's Deckbuilder or the included one, I don't see it as a pressing issue.

ps: In the data folder, mtg.cards and mtg.sets For the server you can just copy these to the data folder of the server and you will be good to go. After the cards updater for OPT is perfectly working (still has a bug or 2 Im sure) I will port the code to the server (C#).
Jorbes
DEVELOPER
 
Posts: 333
Joined: 10 Oct 2008, 10:46
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Help with drafting

Postby Huggybaby » 11 Feb 2010, 16:40

If the deckbuilder is appropriate, perhaps it could be integrated into OPT, either directly or via plugin. I hate to see the wheel reinvented and the deckbuilder is suited to being used by other apps AFAIK.

There seems to be a deckbuilder fetish in the dev community. Maybe coding a custom deckbuilder is fun? lol There is certainly no shortage of them!
User avatar
Huggybaby
Administrator
 
Posts: 3034
Joined: 15 Jan 2006, 19:44
Location: Finally out of Atlanta
Has thanked: 542 times
Been thanked: 559 times

Re: Help with drafting

Postby Lej » 11 Feb 2010, 22:51

Thanks for the answers.
Downloaded the server files and copied the mentioned files. It seems to work just fine.
Looking forward to future versions.
Lej
 
Posts: 10
Joined: 24 Aug 2009, 02:07
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Help with drafting

Postby gont » 12 Feb 2010, 08:19

Huggybaby wrote:If the deckbuilder is appropriate, perhaps it could be integrated into OPT, either directly or via plugin. I hate to see the wheel reinvented and the deckbuilder is suited to being used by other apps AFAIK.[cut]
I got your point, byt IMO there's no need to use as complicated app as deckbuilder to work with 45 drafted cards only. What I mean is, that you won't use all those filtering and card searching options if you can easily see all your cards on single screen. And in a sollution suggested by me above you could literally SEE those cards - just like in real life - not only some text and stats windows (as you have it in other apps).
As we have working alternatives there's no rush with it, but I deeply hope OPT will get rid of all it's bugs soon and Jorbes'll have spare time to work on it for v2.0 ",

ps. I rather see it as imroving invented wheel than reinventing it - we wouldn't want to stay with stone one and use it in cars, trolleys and other stuff, woult we?

regards, gont
gont
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 03 Feb 2010, 11:44
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Help with drafting

Postby Huggybaby » 12 Feb 2010, 08:20

I gotcha, I don't like overkill either. Simpler is better and just enough is perfect.
User avatar
Huggybaby
Administrator
 
Posts: 3034
Joined: 15 Jan 2006, 19:44
Location: Finally out of Atlanta
Has thanked: 542 times
Been thanked: 559 times

Re: Help with drafting

Postby modernlifeiswar » 18 Apr 2010, 20:23

Hello!
OPT looks very nice now! Cool job!
But I've got a little problem: when I try to play draft with my friend (by using OPT server), I'm succeed only in playing by boosters ME2, 7-9Е and M10.
They are displayed after "/sets" is typed in a textbar. All attempts to play other sets come to a message like, for example: Booster #1 (ALA) is unavailable on this server, re-configure your draft please.
Why does this happen? What should I do? I'm using the latest version of programm and uptdated cardbase.


Thanks and long life to OPT ;o)
modernlifeiswar
 
Posts: 12
Joined: 01 Mar 2010, 22:27
Has thanked: 25 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Help with drafting

Postby Jorbes » 18 Apr 2010, 23:14

The person running the server needs to check those sets in the server program, then you can use them for drafting.
Jorbes
DEVELOPER
 
Posts: 333
Joined: 10 Oct 2008, 10:46
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Help with drafting

Postby modernlifeiswar » 19 Apr 2010, 20:47

That's right, thank you. I've just forgotten about settings in server program.
During the draft I've noticed that a timer covers card's conveted mana cost. It would be pretty nice to move the timer somewhere else.
Thanks a lot.
modernlifeiswar
 
Posts: 12
Joined: 01 Mar 2010, 22:27
Has thanked: 25 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Help with drafting

Postby Jorbes » 20 Apr 2010, 13:36

modernlifeiswar wrote:That's right, thank you. I've just forgotten about settings in server program.
During the draft I've noticed that a timer covers card's conveted mana cost. It would be pretty nice to move the timer somewhere else.
Thanks a lot.
I'll have it docked to the left of the highlight card in the next version. Note that you will not see this unless you delete/overwrite your theme file, since the default setting will be overridden by your theme file settings.
Jorbes
DEVELOPER
 
Posts: 333
Joined: 10 Oct 2008, 10:46
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Help with drafting

Postby pfeffa » 20 Apr 2010, 21:30

Jorbes, thanks a lot for OPT!
Drafting and synchronization with MWS are awesome! An interface is pretty good. Much better than one of MWS :oops:
So, I have a few questions: when will be Rise Of Eldrazi able for drafting? And what should I do for drafting it? :roll: That's ok with other sets.
pfeffa
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 20 Apr 2010, 21:14
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Help with drafting

Postby Jorbes » 21 Apr 2010, 08:26

pfeffa wrote:Jorbes, thanks a lot for OPT!
Drafting and synchronization with MWS are awesome! An interface is pretty good. Much better than one of MWS :oops:
So, I have a few questions: when will be Rise Of Eldrazi able for drafting? And what should I do for drafting it? :roll: That's ok with other sets.
So far, the cards updater the OPT program has, is not in the server. Mainly because the server is written in C# and OPT is not. So you will have to put the mtg.cards and mtg.sets file in the data folder of the server and restart. Then load ROE in the server by checking the box in the sets lists and you are good to go.
Jorbes
DEVELOPER
 
Posts: 333
Joined: 10 Oct 2008, 10:46
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Help with drafting

Postby pfeffa » 21 Apr 2010, 18:16

Thanks a lot! You're a perfect dear!=))
pfeffa
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 20 Apr 2010, 21:14
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Next

Return to Online PlayTable

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 1 guest


Who is online

In total there are 2 users online :: 1 registered, 0 hidden and 1 guest (based on users active over the past 10 minutes)
Most users ever online was 279 on 11 Jul 2013, 22:03

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 1 guest

Login Form