It is currently 18 May 2025, 02:25
   
Text Size

Bug Reports (snapshot builds)

Post MTG Forge Related Programming Questions Here

Moderators: timmermac, Blacksmith, KrazyTheFox, Agetian, friarsol, CCGHQ Admins

Re: Bug Reports (snapshot builds)

Postby drdev » 10 Jun 2014, 00:33

In that case, why don't we create a separate copy of each card to use for the thread that's calculating all the card info, and then as needed simply copy that information over to the card objects that the UI is using. In addition to fixing this flicker issue, I imagine it would also get rid of a lot of the concurrent modification errors that are just way to common right now, unless I misunderstanding the cause of that problem.
drdev
Programmer
 
Posts: 1958
Joined: 27 Jul 2013, 02:07
Has thanked: 189 times
Been thanked: 565 times

Re: Bug Reports (snapshot builds)

Postby KrazyTheFox » 10 Jun 2014, 01:04

drdev wrote:In that case, why don't we create a separate copy of each card to use for the thread that's calculating all the card info, and then as needed simply copy that information over to the card objects that the UI is using. In addition to fixing this flicker issue, I imagine it would also get rid of a lot of the concurrent modification errors that are just way to common right now, unless I misunderstanding the cause of that problem.
It looks like that's going to have to be how that works. I can't figure out how to get everything to update correctly. The closest I've gotten is no flickering, but cards entering the battlefield sometimes render without P/T (and stay that way). I just don't know how the game works well enough to figure out a real fix for this. The main problem with the method you've described would probably be making sure that everything is up to date.
User avatar
KrazyTheFox
Programmer
 
Posts: 725
Joined: 18 Mar 2014, 23:51
Has thanked: 66 times
Been thanked: 226 times

Re: Bug Reports (snapshot builds)

Postby Hanmac » 10 Jun 2014, 07:18

Jarad, Golgari Lich Lord seems broken:
i have 4 Creatures in my Graveyard
Splinterfright with 4/4 on the field enchanted with Nighthowler to make it 8/8

then i sacrifice Splinterfright, Nighthowler becomes a creature and on the stack is:
[Opponent loses 8 life]
but before it can resolve i sacrifice Nighthowler 5/5 too and then this is on the stack
[Opponent loses 13 life] (seems it calced wrong, should be 5)
[Opponent loses 8 life]

for test Opponent has 40 life

then i resolve them:
[Opponent loses 13 life] -> 40 - 13 = 27 (it does remove to much but it calc correct)
[Opponent loses 8 life] -> 27 - 13! = 14 (it seems it removed to much again)

so it seems the ability is broken if she is already on the stack

----
Animar, Soul of Elements still cant reduce additional cost like from Chorus of the Conclave or from Hydra like Protean Hydra
Hanmac
 
Posts: 954
Joined: 06 May 2013, 18:44
Has thanked: 229 times
Been thanked: 158 times

Re: Bug Reports (snapshot builds)

Postby WindSparrow » 11 Jun 2014, 00:42

Hi,

I've been having this bug for several of the recent versions lately : whenever I try to download card images through the "Download LQ Card Pictures" option, it always stops partway when it comes to certain missing images : for example, my current downloader stops at around 215/276 images (0:15 remaining) and refuses to complete. I think this may be relevant to the fact that the card images it is not downloading are the Commander 2013 and Journey into Nyx images - these images seem to have to been made available a few months ago yet they seem to never download successfully in these botched downloads, yet I've noticed older cards that have been recently added to Forge (e.g. Adarkar Unicorn) still download succesfully despite the fact I have to forcefully close the download every time it freezes up.

Current forge version and java info are as follows :
Code: Select all
Forge Version:    1.5.20-SNAPSHOT-r26249 (mixed revisions detected; please update from the root directory)
Java Version:     1.7.0_55 Oracle Corporation
Thanks for all the work that's been done so far, I'd appreciate any help with this.
His is the fury of the wildfire, the boiling blood of the volcano. He fights you not because you've wronged him, but because you're there.
User avatar
WindSparrow
 
Posts: 13
Joined: 11 Jun 2014, 00:30
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Bug Reports (snapshot builds)

Postby friarsol » 11 Jun 2014, 00:56

WindSparrow wrote: I think this may be relevant to the fact that the card images it is not downloading are the Commander 2013 and Journey into Nyx images - these images seem to have to been made available a few months ago yet they seem to never download successfully in these botched downloads, yet I've noticed older cards that have been recently added to Forge (e.g. Adarkar Unicorn) still download succesfully despite the fact I have to forcefully close the download every time it freezes up.
Just because card scripts are available, doesn't mean that card art is. This is basically Forge FAQ #11 although odd that it freezes like that.
friarsol
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 7593
Joined: 15 May 2010, 04:20
Has thanked: 243 times
Been thanked: 965 times

Re: Bug Reports (snapshot builds)

Postby yoshimario40 » 11 Jun 2014, 03:51

Upon loading Forge, this error happened. As far as I can tell, it attempted to load my draft decks and failed. I looked inside the decks folder and confirmed that there is a draft folder with one deck inside it.

I was able to get rid of the error by renaming my draft folder to something else other than 'draft' (IE get rid of the folder temporarily)
Edit: It's now creating an empty draft folder itself and crashing immediately afterwards.

NullPointerException | Open
Code: Select all
Forge Version:    1.5.20-SNAPSHOT-r26249 (mixed revisions detected; please update from the root directory)
Operating System: Windows XP 5.1 x86
Java Version:     1.7.0_45 Oracle Corporation

java.lang.NullPointerException
   at forge.quest.QuestController.getDraftDecks(QuestController.java:158)
   at forge.screens.home.quest.CSubmenuQuestDraft.initialize(CSubmenuQuestDraft.java:96)
   at forge.view.FView.initialize(FView.java:121)
   at forge.control.FControl$3.run(FControl.java:243)
   at java.awt.event.InvocationEvent.dispatch(Unknown Source)
   at java.awt.EventQueue.dispatchEventImpl(Unknown Source)
   at java.awt.EventQueue.access$200(Unknown Source)
   at java.awt.EventQueue$3.run(Unknown Source)
   at java.awt.EventQueue$3.run(Unknown Source)
   at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
   at java.security.ProtectionDomain$1.doIntersectionPrivilege(Unknown Source)
   at java.awt.EventQueue.dispatchEvent(Unknown Source)
   at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpOneEventForFilters(Unknown Source)
   at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEventsForFilter(Unknown Source)
   at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEventsForHierarchy(Unknown Source)
   at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEvents(Unknown Source)
   at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEvents(Unknown Source)
   at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.run(Unknown Source)
yoshimario40
 
Posts: 23
Joined: 11 Mar 2014, 09:02
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: Bug Reports (snapshot builds)

Postby rnitni » 11 Jun 2014, 15:59

KrazyTheFox wrote:Hrm, thought I'd fixed this one. Should have it fixed in a few hours.

Edit: I can't replicate this. Could I get the quest file from you?
Sorry, it seems I was using an outdated version. It works with a newer snapshot. Thank your very much for your effort.
rnitni
 
Posts: 9
Joined: 10 Aug 2011, 08:34
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Bug Reports (snapshot builds)

Postby KrazyTheFox » 11 Jun 2014, 16:08

yoshimario40 wrote:Upon loading Forge, this error happened. As far as I can tell, it attempted to load my draft decks and failed. I looked inside the decks folder and confirmed that there is a draft folder with one deck inside it.
If you haven't yet, try updating to r26260. elcnesh appears to have fixed this already in that revision.

rnitni wrote:Sorry, it seems I was using an outdated version. It works with a newer snapshot. Thank your very much for your effort.
Good to know. Glad it's working for you!

--

After a while of testing the changes after fixing the CPU usage for the targeting overlay, it seems it was coded that way to ensure that the arrows are drawn on top consistently. Right now it doesn't cover all the cards it's supposed to. I'd rather not put the code back in, as there has to be better way to achieve the same thing without murdering CPU cores.
User avatar
KrazyTheFox
Programmer
 
Posts: 725
Joined: 18 Mar 2014, 23:51
Has thanked: 66 times
Been thanked: 226 times

Re: Bug Reports (snapshot builds)

Postby WindSparrow » 11 Jun 2014, 18:59

friarsol wrote:
WindSparrow wrote: I think this may be relevant to the fact that the card images it is not downloading are the Commander 2013 and Journey into Nyx images - these images seem to have to been made available a few months ago yet they seem to never download successfully in these botched downloads, yet I've noticed older cards that have been recently added to Forge (e.g. Adarkar Unicorn) still download succesfully despite the fact I have to forcefully close the download every time it freezes up.
Just because card scripts are available, doesn't mean that card art is. This is basically Forge FAQ #11 although odd that it freezes like that.
Thanks for the reply - for future reference, where are the images currently downloaded from? I was under the impression they were from mtgimage(dot)com (I'm unable to post links due to being a new user at the moment, sorry), but it seems I've misunderstood something. (I'd also appreciate if you can look into the freezing too. ^^)
His is the fury of the wildfire, the boiling blood of the volcano. He fights you not because you've wronged him, but because you're there.
User avatar
WindSparrow
 
Posts: 13
Joined: 11 Jun 2014, 00:30
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Bug Reports (snapshot builds)

Postby mastroego » 11 Jun 2014, 22:43

@WindSparrow
Go under Game Option - Content Downloaders: from there you get some options to let Forge download the images by itself.
This is the default option, and you'll need it in any case for quest images and so on.
But for card images, you may prefer to get the High-Res versions instead (my preferred option also because I get a lot of corrupt images with the downloaders).

So for the HighRes pictures you may refer to this subforum:
viewforum.php?f=15
You'll find links to torrents and such. Keep in mind that there are differences in the folder structure, for instance Forge uses a specific path for Token card images, while in the torrent tokens are placed together with cards of the relevant sets. But for the most part things match just fine.

Another option is this site:
http://mtgimage.com/
KrazyTheFox made a program to automate the process if you want to grab images here, see this topic:
viewtopic.php?f=26&t=14626

Hope this helps.
mastroego
 
Posts: 236
Joined: 22 Sep 2013, 14:04
Has thanked: 28 times
Been thanked: 16 times

Re: Bug Reports (snapshot builds)

Postby rikimbo » 13 Jun 2014, 00:23

kuriboh0 wrote:I'm using r25182, and I've noticed that "Shards of Alara"'s Heralds (e.g. Angel's Herald) don't work properly:
-- The AI seems to get away just sacrificing one 3-colored creature instead of 1 per color.
This should be fixed now. The payment of costs was done with a map from class name to payment decision. So if there were several instances of the same type of cost part (such as three sacrifice costs), a decision made towards one of those costs would overwrite the previous ones of the same type in the map. This is why only one creature was sacrificed when the cost payments were actually executed (in fact, the creature could be any one of the required colours and still be the only one sacrificed).

EDIT: Okay, it's partially fixed. The issue above was indeed a problem, but now the AI is still able to trump the payment system by selecting the same creature to satisfy more than one of the sacrifice costs. (For example, the AI is able to use Behemoth's Herald by sacrificing just Behemoth's Herald and Boros Recruit.)
User avatar
rikimbo
 
Posts: 52
Joined: 25 Mar 2014, 14:15
Location: Winnipeg
Has thanked: 10 times
Been thanked: 7 times

Re: Bug Reports (snapshot builds)

Postby swordshine » 13 Jun 2014, 04:58

Was DamageDealAi changed recently? AI CANNOT choose targets. :shock:
How to reproduce.
Discard AI's hand (One with Nothing), give AI a Mountain and a Shock. Set your life to 2. AI cast shock and nothing happened.
swordshine
 
Posts: 682
Joined: 11 Jul 2010, 02:37
Has thanked: 116 times
Been thanked: 87 times

Re: Bug Reports (snapshot builds)

Postby Hanmac » 13 Jun 2014, 05:49

some things are broken when a card enters the grave and then comes back.

like having a creature with Animate Dead on the field, give her persist. sacrifice it, it comes back with a -1/-1 counter, but then it goes sacrificed again by the effect of Animate Dead

same for Shirei, Shizo's Caretaker and other similar cards like sword of the meek.

for Shirei:
Creature with persist on the field,
sacrifice it,
effect of Shirei activates.
creature comes back because of persist.
sacrifice it,
effect of Shirei activates.
<endstep>
effect from Shirei activates twice,
creature comes back
sacrifice it,
creature comes back second

one of the comebacks in the endstep should not happen because the card in the graveyard is a different one then it was as it enters the grave.

same for Sword of the meek:
Sword is in graveyeard, Genesis Chamber is on the field and a 1/1 Artifact creature enters the battle field.
now the stack can be:

[Sword equip to creature]
[Genesis Chamber token]

[then sacrificing the sword]
[Genesis Chamber token]

to
[Sword equip to token]

=> Sword comes back 2 times

or the stack can be:
[Genesis Chamber token]
[Sword equip to]
then to
[Sword equip to token]
[Sword equip to creature]
=> Sword comes back one time

if sword is equiped to token, and then sacrificed again it should not come back because it should be a different card then the one that triggers that effect
Hanmac
 
Posts: 954
Joined: 06 May 2013, 18:44
Has thanked: 229 times
Been thanked: 158 times

Re: Bug Reports (snapshot builds)

Postby swordshine » 13 Jun 2014, 07:58

swordshine wrote:Was DamageDealAi changed recently? AI CANNOT choose targets. :shock:
How to reproduce.
Discard AI's hand (One with Nothing), give AI a Mountain and a Shock. Set your life to 2. AI cast shock and nothing happened.
Fixed in r26301.
Hey, excessum, please don't bring crazy bugs like this next time when you try to fix something.
swordshine
 
Posts: 682
Joined: 11 Jul 2010, 02:37
Has thanked: 116 times
Been thanked: 87 times

Re: Bug Reports (snapshot builds)

Postby rikimbo » 13 Jun 2014, 12:33

I tried to counter my opponent's Armadillo Cloak by responding with a Vines of Vastwood targeting his creature. Since the oracle text says "target creature can't be the target of spells or abilities your opponents control this turn," that should have made his creature an illegal target for his Armadillo Cloak (a spell which an opponent of mine controls). That's what should have happened, but instead I was looking at an armadillo be-cloaked creature with one card fewer and egg on my face. :(

The problem is Forge's implementation of Vines of Vastwood gives the creature hexproof, but hides the keyword. For most uses of the card (targeting your own creature) this is fine, but it's not quite correct because of situations like the above.
User avatar
rikimbo
 
Posts: 52
Joined: 25 Mar 2014, 14:15
Location: Winnipeg
Has thanked: 10 times
Been thanked: 7 times

PreviousNext

Return to Developer's Corner

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 48 guests


Who is online

In total there are 48 users online :: 0 registered, 0 hidden and 48 guests (based on users active over the past 10 minutes)
Most users ever online was 4143 on 23 Jan 2024, 08:21

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 48 guests

Login Form