It is currently 30 Oct 2025, 18:52
   
Text Size

More M14 rules changes

Post MTG Forge Related Programming Questions Here

Moderators: timmermac, Agetian, friarsol, Blacksmith, KrazyTheFox, CCGHQ Admins

More M14 rules changes

Postby Sloth » 12 Jul 2013, 12:55

Todays Update Bulletin has some more rules changes than previewed: I don't think we have to implement them before the next beta though.

A. Convoke and Delve are no longer additional costs (which is ok, because we haven't really implemented them correctly yet).
Convoke | Open
Convoke

I don't remember exactly how the conversation started, but one day a few months ago R&D ended up talking about how weird it was that you could "overtap" when casting a spell using convoke. That was weird, past-me thought, so I started thinking about ways to change that. As a cost-reduction ability, it couldn't really be contained. You can make a spell cost a billion mana less if you want to. I sought the advice of Rules Manager Emeritus Mark Gottlieb. Together, we came up with a new paradigm for convoke: what if instead of reducing the cost, tapping creatures was just another way of paying mana?

So now it is! You don't declare which creatures you're tapping ahead of time, just like you don't declare what lands you'll be tapping ahead of time. When it comes time to pay the spell's costs (rule 601.2g), you can tap creatures rather than pay mana. Note that this is after you have a chance to activate mana abilities (rule 601.2f). This means that if you intend to sacrifice a creature to activate a mana ability, you can't also tap that creature for convoke.


B.
Expansion symbols | Open
109.3

Expansion symbols are no longer a characteristic. Magic cards are recognized as individual game pieces by their English card names. One of the central tenets of that system is that all cards with the same name are considered the same for deck building and play purposes. This system lets us reprint cards, print promo cards, and have cards appear in many languages. But three older cards referred to cards from a specific expansion, and that runs contrary to the system. The Arabian Nights Bird Maiden and the Fourth Edition version should be the same, but City in a Bottle says they're not. In fact, it makes the original version worse!

So, cards will no longer refer to expansion symbol as a characteristic. The three cards that used to do this (City in a Bottle, Golgothian Sylex, and Apocalypse Chime) will receive errata in a future update to refer to cards "originally printed" in the Arabian Nights, Antiquities, and Homelands sets, respectively). This means that City in a Bottle no longer affects any cards named Mountain. It also means that those three cards can affect cards that were in the appropriate set and then reprinted. City in a Bottle will affect the aforementioned Fourth Edition Bird Maiden.

References to expansion symbol being a characteristic were removed in several other rules as well.


C. Gaea's Touch works differently than implemented (damn!).
User avatar
Sloth
Programmer
 
Posts: 3498
Joined: 23 Jun 2009, 19:40
Has thanked: 125 times
Been thanked: 507 times

Re: More M14 rules changes

Postby swordshine » 12 Jul 2013, 15:03

Gaea's Touch is really silly.
swordshine
 
Posts: 682
Joined: 11 Jul 2010, 02:37
Has thanked: 116 times
Been thanked: 87 times

Re: More M14 rules changes

Postby friarsol » 12 Jul 2013, 15:16

swordshine wrote:Gaea's Touch is really silly.
Yea I don't like their explanation. Fastbond has the exact same verbiage from basically the same time, but that works the way it was intended.
friarsol
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 7593
Joined: 15 May 2010, 04:20
Has thanked: 243 times
Been thanked: 965 times

Re: More M14 rules changes

Postby ZzzzSleep » 13 Jul 2013, 11:23

friarsol wrote:
swordshine wrote:Gaea's Touch is really silly.
Yea I don't like their explanation. Fastbond has the exact same verbiage from basically the same time, but that works the way it was intended.
Yes, but Gaea's Touch cares about the type of land played. I think Wizards was trying to avoid needing to remember what type of lands have been played this turn rather than just the number.
ZzzzSleep
 
Posts: 182
Joined: 29 Oct 2010, 02:19
Has thanked: 18 times
Been thanked: 18 times

Re: More M14 rules changes

Postby swordshine » 13 Jul 2013, 12:27

r22567, Gaea's Touch is rewritten.
swordshine
 
Posts: 682
Joined: 11 Jul 2010, 02:37
Has thanked: 116 times
Been thanked: 87 times


Return to Developer's Corner

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: ArchieRoW and 20 guests

Main Menu

User Menu

Our Partners


Who is online

In total there are 21 users online :: 1 registered, 0 hidden and 20 guests (based on users active over the past 10 minutes)
Most users ever online was 9298 on 10 Oct 2025, 12:54

Users browsing this forum: ArchieRoW and 20 guests

Login Form