It is currently 16 Apr 2024, 19:11

Text Size

Would-be developer in need of orientation

Post MTG Forge Related Programming Questions Here

Moderators: timmermac, Blacksmith, KrazyTheFox, Agetian, friarsol, CCGHQ Admins

Would-be developer in need of orientation

Postby hervebronnimann » 21 Jan 2015, 02:39

My background: I've taught computer science in college (visiting prof at Princeton, tenured at NYU Poly), left academia to pursue software at Bloomberg for a few years (maintained their version of the C++ Standard Library there), participated in some C++Boost and C++14 standardization committees, and for the past five years been working in Java for the financial industry. I'm new with Magic (started playing back in September because of my son), but I've fell in love with the game... I've benefited immensely in my game by playing against the forge AI in booster draft and sealed deck.

This is a great project and I'd love to contribute. One problem is that the code base is a bit too large to grasp all at once, and as a new player I don't know much about various formats like EDH, or cube, or quest mode, or gauntlet, etc. Nevertheless, I feel I could and would love to contribute.