It is currently 19 Apr 2024, 01:18

Text Size

Want to create a patch, would it be well-received?

Post MTG Forge Related Programming Questions Here

Moderators: timmermac, Blacksmith, KrazyTheFox, Agetian, friarsol, CCGHQ Admins

Want to create a patch, would it be well-received?

Postby kek » 20 Dec 2016, 16:11

Hi guys, as a player I seem to orbit somewhat around Forge - every few months I'll come back to it and play a few games but a few things always seem to put me off so I'm not a regular player. As I'm a programmer I often have a hands-on approach and try to improve on FOSS projects when I can - and the time might have come to do the same with Forge.

I think all of my patches I've written for FOSS games have eventually gotten into the game itself but it is sometimes a hard journey and I've learned to be careful before putting work into something that might not get into the project. Sure, I could make the changes for myself only but I'd might as well just keep playing the game as-is on and off. On other projects I usually come to IRC and talk to a few devs about whether they'd endorse my changes or even immediately commit them for me once ready and well tested. Forge doesn't seem to have an IRC channel so this is what I'm doing here with this post :)

I'm a very casual player and what I'm looking for the most when playing Forge is to get a very well-rounded experience like the old Shandalar game which I played a bunch. I do sealed decks and quest games mostly - I suck at them but I have fun lol. So if I were to write a patch the first thing I'd like to do would be to offer a non-default setting that removes from the game cards that have no image. Currently there are over 2000 cards without LQ images and they really break what is otherwise an excellent experience for me whenever they come up during a game or even while deck building. Call me nit-picky: maybe I am.