It is currently 18 Apr 2024, 22:54

Text Size

AI Evolution

Post MTG Forge Related Programming Questions Here

Moderators: timmermac, Blacksmith, KrazyTheFox, Agetian, friarsol, CCGHQ Admins

AI Evolution

Postby SoulStorm » 23 Nov 2010, 02:36

This topic is here to provide a place for people to discuss AI development. Deck builders, programmers, and those who are just interested in the continued evolution of the AI are welcome to post their thoughts here.
SoulStorm

Re: AI Evolution

Postby SoulStorm » 23 Nov 2010, 02:37

I'm not a programmer, but I've recently come to enjoy building decks for the AI. One thing I've learned since I've started is that a good player deck does not necessarily translate into a good AI deck. There are a lot of reasons for this. Whether a player or AI, decisions need to be made concerning what card to play and how to use a card once it is played. The number of possible decisions each turn grows exponentially as more cards enter the battlefield. Given the complexity of Forge, now with over 5,000 cards implemented, one can only be amazed by what the developers have accomplished at this point. Still, the AI is limited and can make a lot of foolish decisions that can be irritating to a would be AI deck builder. I thought a useful exercise would be to post a deck that works very well as a player deck but poorly as an AI deck. I'll then attempt to provide an analysis of what goes wrong and give some lay suggestions of how any problems might be fixed. Remember all, I'm not a programmer, I'm just a fan of the game. I fully expect that any suggestions I have are 10 steps behinds the talented people working on this game every day. Also, talking about how to make a game better is a lot easier than actually writing the code to make it happen.

The Deck: Let's call it... Kiki Gone Wild

4 Academy Rector
4 Archon of Justice
2 Eternal Witness
4 Kiki-Jiki, Mirror Breaker
2 Meadowboon
2 Primeval Titan
2 Rukh Egg
2 Seedborn Muse
4 Seeker of Skybreak