It is currently 16 Apr 2024, 12:18
   
Text Size

Windows 10 not working?

Downloads, Guides , General Support
PLEASE "SEARCH" BEFORE YOU POST!

Moderators: BAgate, drool66, Aswan jaguar, gmzombie, stassy, CCGHQ Admins

Re: Windows 10 not working?

Postby crazy9000 » 15 Aug 2015, 22:45

Here's a .cmd that will try to launch the game until it works, so you don't have to keep clicking. Copy you "playmanalink.cmd", rename it to "launchmagic.cmd" or something. Then right click and go "edit", and delete all the text, then copy/paste this text into the file and save.

Code: Select all
@echo off
CD /D %~dp0Program
echo Close this bachfile to exit magic
:nextTry
echo Launching....
FOR /L %%i IN (1,1,10) DO CALL :magic %%i
:wait
echo Waiting for system to catch up...
timeout /t 2
tasklist /FI "IMAGENAME eq Magic.exe" 2>NUL | find /I /N "Magic.exe">NUL
if "%ERRORLEVEL%"=="1" goto nextTry
goto wait
:magic
echo Magic Try %1
start Magic.exe
goto :EOF
Close the command window after the game launches, otherwise it will try to launch again when you close the game.
crazy9000
 
Posts: 28
Joined: 19 Mar 2013, 18:15
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: Windows 10 not working?

Postby Korath » 15 Aug 2015, 23:24

Much better if we figure out what's actually wrong, though that'll probably have to wait until we have a developer willing to run Windows 10. As for myself, they can have my XP when they pry it out of my cold, dead fingers.

It amazes me that it doesn't at least pop up a "We're sorry, Manalink stopped working, here's some debug data" window like in prior Windowses. Maybe there's something in the application log?
User avatar
Korath
DEVELOPER
 
Posts: 3707
Joined: 02 Jun 2013, 05:57
Has thanked: 496 times
Been thanked: 1106 times

Re: Windows 10 not working?

Postby crazy9000 » 16 Aug 2015, 11:52

Korath wrote:Much better if we figure out what's actually wrong, though that'll probably have to wait until we have a developer willing to run Windows 10. As for myself, they can have my XP when they pry it out of my cold, dead fingers.

It amazes me that it doesn't at least pop up a "We're sorry, Manalink stopped working, here's some debug data" window like in prior Windowses. Maybe there's something in the application log?
Checked the event viewer, maybe it's something to do with the cardartlib.dll.

Code: Select all
Faulting application name: Magic.exe, version: 7.0.0.0, time stamp: 0x4e000000
Faulting module name: Cardartlib.dll, version: 0.0.0.0, time stamp: 0x55c01a58
Exception code: 0xc0000005
Fault offset: 0x00034745
Faulting process id: 0x804
Faulting application start time: 0x01d0d812bdb53def
Faulting application path: D:\Test Copy\Program\Magic.exe
Faulting module path: D:\Test Copy\Program\Cardartlib.dll
Report Id: d84337eb-b733-4088-a272-1fd7d187dace
Faulting package full name:

Code: Select all
Faulting application name: Magic.exe, version: 7.0.0.0, time stamp: 0x4e000000
Faulting module name: unknown, version: 0.0.0.0, time stamp: 0x00000000
Exception code: 0xc0000005
Fault offset: 0x01204745
Faulting process id: 0x6a4
Faulting application start time: 0x01d0d812bdb4693f
Faulting application path: D:\Test Copy\Program\Magic.exe
Faulting module path: unknown
Report Id: bc04365e-5b60-4170-bb92-fd0cce84e628
Faulting package full name:
Code: Select all
Faulting application name: Magic.exe, version: 7.0.0.0, time stamp: 0x4e000000
Faulting module name: Cardartlib.dll, version: 0.0.0.0, time stamp: 0x55c01a58
Exception code: 0xc000041d
Fault offset: 0x00034745
Faulting process id: 0x804
Faulting application start time: 0x01d0d812bdb53def
Faulting application path: D:\Test Copy\Program\Magic.exe
Faulting module path: D:\Test Copy\Program\Cardartlib.dll
Report Id: 62550585-44c8-4bd6-a459-0f28fff5fd5b
Faulting package full name:
Faulting package-relative application ID:
Code: Select all
Faulting application name: Magic.exe, version: 7.0.0.0, time stamp: 0x4e000000
Faulting module name: unknown, version: 0.0.0.0, time stamp: 0x00000000
Exception code: 0xc0000005
Fault offset: 0x01204745
Faulting process id: 0x6a4
Faulting application start time: 0x01d0d812bdb4693f
Faulting application path: D:\Test Copy\Program\Magic.exe
Faulting module path: unknown
Report Id: bc04365e-5b60-4170-bb92-fd0cce84e628
Faulting package full name:
crazy9000
 
Posts: 28
Joined: 19 Mar 2013, 18:15
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: Windows 10 not working?

Postby Korath » 16 Aug 2015, 20:54

The faults at 0x01204745 are because ManalinkEx.dll isn't getting mapped to its default address at 0x1000000, the same thing that gave me so much trouble when I was running Vista. The solution's the same as it's always been: to eliminate ManalinkEx.dll entirely. None of the cards still in it are used, and there aren't any references into it from ManalinkEh.dll left, but there's still a handful of injected jumps from Magic.exe: (comments added, obviously)
Code: Select all
dgk@Dirge:0/cygdrive/g/mtg/Manalink 3.0/Program$ objdump -M intel -d Magic.exe | egrep -i '(call|j).*0x0*1[0-9a-f]{6}'
  4030b0:       e8 e5 fa df 00          call   0x1202b9a    ; This and the next one are in card_generic_legend(), which has been replaced in ManalinkEh.dll
  4030ff:       e8 96 fa df 00          call   0x1202b9a
  40b928:       e9 13 4a e6 00          jmp    0x1270340    ; In copy_to_display().  Added by me in patches/patch_copy_to_display.pl
  42e953:       e9 38 17 e4 00          jmp    0x1270090    ; This and the next are in charge_mana().  Added by me in patches/patch_charge_mana.pl
  42eac9:       e9 12 16 e4 00          jmp    0x12700e0
  42ff0a:       e9 f5 01 e4 00          jmp    0x1270104    ; This and the next one are in autotap_mana_source().  Added by me in patches/patch_charge_mana.pl
  43001a:       e9 1b 01 e4 00          jmp    0x127013a
  43460d:       e9 be bb e3 00          jmp    0x12701d0    ; In activate().  Added by me in patches/patch_tapped_to_play_ability.pl
  43549e:       e9 cd ac e3 00          jmp    0x1270170    ; In get_abilities(), which has been replaced in ManalinkEh.dll
  440f06:       e9 71 39 dc 00          jmp    0x120487c    ; A replacement of sub_440F00(), [s]which doesn't seem to get called by anything[/s].  It shells out to ".\LaunchMCu.exe /MTGshell", if anyone happens to know what that was.
  4486cd:       e9 1c c0 db 00          jmp    0x12046ee    ; In dlgproc_GauntletPage(); it contains the jump into ManalinkEh.dll at address 0x2001d49 (set_challenge() in functions/rules_engine.c)
  4671bc:       e9 47 d5 d9 00          jmp    0x1204708    ; In get_card_or_subtype_name(), which has been replaced in ManalinkEh.dll
  46a028:       e9 18 a9 d9 00          jmp    0x1204945    ; This and the next two are in sub_46A000(), which loads imagery for the "Play or draw" dialog
  46a05e:       e9 f4 a8 d9 00          jmp    0x1204957
  46a08b:       e9 fd a8 d9 00          jmp    0x120498d
  46a118:       e9 16 a8 d9 00          jmp    0x1204933    ; This and the next two are in sub_46A0F0(), which loads imagery for the "Mulligan" dialog
  46a14e:       e9 16 a8 d9 00          jmp    0x1204969
  46a17b:       e9 1f a8 d9 00          jmp    0x120499f
  46b71b:       e9 01 92 d9 00          jmp    0x1204921    ; In sub_46B6F0(), which loads imagery for the "End duel" dialog
  472815:       e9 98 22 d9 00          jmp    0x1204ab2    ; In count_colors_of_lands_in_play(), which has been replaced in ManalinkEh.dll
  479bf7:       e9 c7 aa d8 00          jmp    0x12046c3    ; In shuffle(); it contains the jump into ManalinkEh.dll at address 0x2001d17 (deck_was_shuffled() in cards/zendikar.c)
  489e81:       e9 7a 61 de 00          jmp    0x1270000    ; In wndproc_CardClass().  Added by me in patches/patch_icons.pl
  48cb60:       e9 db 34 de 00          jmp    0x1270040    ; A replacement of card_instances_will_have_same_icons().  Added by me in patches/patch_icons.pl
  48cbb4:       e9 19 7c d7 00          jmp    0x12047d2    ; In get_special_counters_name(), which has been replaced in ManalinkEh.dll
  4cea26:       e9 1a 5d d3 00          jmp    0x1204745    ; This and the next one are in sub_4CEA20(), which loads imagery for the start-up menu.  It's always the first one called, hence the first to crash.
  4cebb6:       e9 c1 5b d3 00          jmp    0x120477c
  4d2bad:       e8 6e d6 d9 00          call   0x1270220    ; In draw_smallcard_activation_card().  Added by me in patches/patch_drawfullcard_drawsmallcard_color.pl
  4d307c:       e9 30 19 d3 00          jmp    0x12049b1    ; In draw_smallcard(), displaying icons
  4d4ca9:       e9 ee fa d2 00          jmp    0x120479c    ; In get_counter_type_by_id(), which has been replaced in ManalinkEh.dll
Plenty of unused space is available in the Magic.exe image now to jump to instead, now that almost none of the original card functions are still used.

I won't be able to debug the cardartlib.dll crash without the exact cardartlib.dll build you're using; there wasn't one distributed with the Fates Reforged patch, or I'd have tried with that.

Better would be to elicit a crash while using the cardartlib.dll from any of the recent Shandalar updates, RT3 or later, since I still have debugging data for them. The one from TH1 is attached. (If you use a different one, please specify the version.)

It's still infuriating that this isn't making a program-crash popup. That'll make it much harder to get a full dump if that proves necessary, and it probably will.

(edit: remove attachment)
Last edited by Korath on 29 Dec 2015, 07:08, edited 2 times in total.
User avatar
Korath
DEVELOPER
 
Posts: 3707
Joined: 02 Jun 2013, 05:57
Has thanked: 496 times
Been thanked: 1106 times

Re: Windows 10 not working?

Postby crazy9000 » 16 Aug 2015, 22:11

Korath wrote:I won't be able to debug the cardartlib.dll crash without the exact cardartlib.dll build you're using; there wasn't one distributed with the Fates Reforged patch, or I'd have tried with that.

Better would be to elicit a crash while using the cardartlib.dll from any of the recent Shandalar updates, RT3 or later, since I still have debugging data for them. The one from TH1 is attached. (If you use a different one, please specify the version.)

It's still infuriating that this isn't making a program-crash popup. That'll make it much harder to get a full dump if that proves necessary, and it probably will.
Here's with the cardartlib.dll you attached:

Code: Select all
Faulting application name: Magic.exe, version: 7.0.0.0, time stamp: 0x4e000000
Faulting module name: Cardartlib.dll, version: 0.0.0.0, time stamp: 0x55c01a58
Exception code: 0xc0000005
Fault offset: 0x00024745
Faulting process id: 0x23f0
Faulting application start time: 0x01d0d86fe2bcc73f
Faulting application path: D:\Test Copy\Program\Magic.exe
Faulting module path: D:\Test Copy\Program\Cardartlib.dll
Report Id: 667f5ad6-d1d9-42f2-ba67-741f13d32e6d
Faulting package full name:
Faulting package-relative application ID:
Code: Select all
Faulting application name: Magic.exe, version: 7.0.0.0, time stamp: 0x4e000000
Faulting module name: Cardartlib.dll, version: 0.0.0.0, time stamp: 0x55c01a58
Exception code: 0xc000041d
Fault offset: 0x00024745
Faulting process id: 0x23f0
Faulting application start time: 0x01d0d86fe2bcc73f
Faulting application path: D:\Test Copy\Program\Magic.exe
Faulting module path: D:\Test Copy\Program\Cardartlib.dll
Report Id: 432c4320-45ec-4fb9-a2a7-9c84a84be18c
Faulting package full name:
Faulting package-relative application ID:
crazy9000
 
Posts: 28
Joined: 19 Mar 2013, 18:15
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: Windows 10 not working?

Postby Korath » 16 Aug 2015, 22:31

Aha!

With the previous version:
crazy9000 wrote:Fault offset: 0x00034745
With the new one:
crazy9000 wrote:Fault offset: 0x00024745
Note the commonality with the bad jmp attempt to 0x1204745. What's happening here isn't actually a problem with cardartlib.dll. It's that cardartlib.dll happens to be the dll that gets mapped into the location that magic.exe expects ManalinkEx.dll to be in. So the real solution's the same as above.

As an interim measure, I can build a cardartlib.dll with its address forced to something else. That might help at least a little; it'll be just over 300k fewer bytes that the loader tries to squeeze in between the end of Magic.exe at 0x70a000 and the start of ManalinkEx.dll at 0x1000000.

It probably won't help enough, mind.

(edit: remove attachment)
Last edited by Korath on 29 Dec 2015, 07:08, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Korath
DEVELOPER
 
Posts: 3707
Joined: 02 Jun 2013, 05:57
Has thanked: 496 times
Been thanked: 1106 times

Re: Windows 10 not working?

Postby gmzombie » 16 Aug 2015, 22:50

The launchmc.exe was the old custom limited that is in the shell under switcher. I'm trying to figure out how to just change that back to shandalar. I have the bottom button setup for the intro.avi now but haven't gotten shandalar back yet. Also trying to merge the crap from manalinkex for the startup page.
can I maze of ith your snowstorm?

http://home.comcast.net/~gmzombie/index.html old stuff in here. don't use this stuff right now till I get time to get back into it and readjust.
gmzombie
 
Posts: 857
Joined: 26 Feb 2009, 01:05
Location: Wyoming, Mi
Has thanked: 200 times
Been thanked: 51 times

Re: Windows 10 not working?

Postby Korath » 17 Aug 2015, 00:09

sub_440F00 is, it seems, stored at a table starting at 0x4eec54, along with the other handlers for the startup menu. (Finding function addresses stored in this way can't be done mechanically; if a ManalinkEx.dll function is stored like this, the only way we'll know is when, after eliminate the dll, someone tries to use the now-invalid functionality and crashes the program. Diagnosing that will be a pain.)

Changing the filename text for "\LaunchMCu.exe" at 0x4eac0a should have been enough for a quick-and-dirty fix to launch Shandalar. It's not, and I'm not sure why. (It wouldn't work if the subdir had spaces in it - sub_440F00() cuts some serious corners - but that's not it either.)
User avatar
Korath
DEVELOPER
 
Posts: 3707
Joined: 02 Jun 2013, 05:57
Has thanked: 496 times
Been thanked: 1106 times

Re: Windows 10 not working?

Postby gmzombie » 17 Aug 2015, 00:58

yea its weird it still looks for launchmc.exe and if you change the name to launchmc.exe from shandalar it will work. but the names of the buttons are are still wrong wordwise.
can I maze of ith your snowstorm?

http://home.comcast.net/~gmzombie/index.html old stuff in here. don't use this stuff right now till I get time to get back into it and readjust.
gmzombie
 
Posts: 857
Joined: 26 Feb 2009, 01:05
Location: Wyoming, Mi
Has thanked: 200 times
Been thanked: 51 times

Re: Windows 10 not working?

Postby Korath » 17 Aug 2015, 01:19

Those are in Text.res under @SHELLSCREEN_METAGAME. (And this has gotten to be very much off-topic.)
User avatar
Korath
DEVELOPER
 
Posts: 3707
Joined: 02 Jun 2013, 05:57
Has thanked: 496 times
Been thanked: 1106 times

Re: Windows 10 not working?

Postby monojoker » 11 Oct 2015, 14:27

Korath wrote:The faults at 0x01204745 are because ManalinkEx.dll isn't getting mapped to its default address at 0x1000000, the same thing that gave me so much trouble when I was running Vista. The solution's the same as it's always been: to eliminate ManalinkEx.dll entirely.
Please excuse my ignorance but what does "eliminate" mean? I have removed the file from my Magic folder but now I get an error on launch about it being missing. Are you saying the solution for the programmers is to get rid of the dll from the application or similar?

If so then the only fix for my win10 tablet is the batch file mentioned?

Thanks.
monojoker
 
Posts: 10
Joined: 12 Jun 2014, 12:06
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Windows 10 not working?

Postby gmzombie » 13 Oct 2015, 17:52

no Korath was talking about getting rid of it in the game itself but first i think some items do need to be moved back to their original areas in magic.exe. some of the coding for the main page was moved in there to be able to change the main screen to what it currently is. You cant just delete the file right now the game will crash.
can I maze of ith your snowstorm?

http://home.comcast.net/~gmzombie/index.html old stuff in here. don't use this stuff right now till I get time to get back into it and readjust.
gmzombie
 
Posts: 857
Joined: 26 Feb 2009, 01:05
Location: Wyoming, Mi
Has thanked: 200 times
Been thanked: 51 times

Re: Windows 10 not working?

Postby parjas1991 » 05 Nov 2015, 09:01

try booting in safe mode on windows 10
parjas1991
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 05 Nov 2015, 08:54
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Windows 10 not working?

Postby Korath » 29 Dec 2015, 06:26

Safe mode would do jack-all to help.

The situation should most likely be much improved as of BFZv2. I've removed the last of the known references into ManalinkEx.dll, either moving their containing functions into C or retargeting the injections into recently-freed space in Magic.exe.

There's a fairly small chance that it'll be much worse, though, if I missed any of the sort I mentioned here. Instead of having a 75% or whatever chance to crash at startup, it'll have that same 75%, but sometime long after the game is started, and in such a way that it won't be at all obvious what's happening. At best, they'll present similarly to the Cardartlib.dll dead-end above.

That said, I've looked for more refs in a couple of different ways, and only found one I hadn't already known about; so I'm reasonably certain I've gotten them all.
User avatar
Korath
DEVELOPER
 
Posts: 3707
Joined: 02 Jun 2013, 05:57
Has thanked: 496 times
Been thanked: 1106 times

Re: Windows 10 not working?

Postby xaxtan » 11 Mar 2016, 17:03

was wondering if a fix has been found for win 10 yet. each new patch i install hoping, but nothing yet.

thanks everybody
xaxtan
 
Posts: 13
Joined: 04 Apr 2011, 20:42
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

PreviousNext

Return to Installation and Troubleshooting

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 15 guests


Who is online

In total there are 15 users online :: 0 registered, 0 hidden and 15 guests (based on users active over the past 10 minutes)
Most users ever online was 4143 on 23 Jan 2024, 08:21

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 15 guests

Login Form