Page 1 of 10

Bugs

PostPosted: 18 Mar 2010, 16:24
by jatill
Please report all bugs here.

Current known bugs:
-Golem will skip over Throne Rooms in addition to Golems
-Possession will let the AI make all the choices for their turn. You will just gain whatever they would have gained. Also, if the AI trashes cards while Possessed, they will not get returned.
-Attacks with choices don't let you know who has Moat before making your choice
-Some cards automatically make choices for you when there is an obvious choice
Examples:
Treasury always returns to your deck

Re: Bugs

PostPosted: 19 Mar 2010, 02:17
by FrozenHoHos
Not sure if I missed this when reading the forums, but I'm unable to use any of the preconstructed card sets. Regardless of what I choose in the drop down list the cards are randomized.

Re: Bugs

PostPosted: 19 Mar 2010, 14:05
by jatill
FrozenHoHos wrote:Not sure if I missed this when reading the forums, but I'm unable to use any of the preconstructed card sets. Regardless of what I choose in the drop down list the cards are randomized.
Yup, I broke that when I added Campaign mode. Fixed now, along with the Warehouse bug that let you skip discarding.

Re: Bugs

PostPosted: 23 Mar 2010, 23:48
by DrJones
Moat doesn't say in its rules text that can be played as an action to draw 2 cards.

Re: Bugs

PostPosted: 24 Mar 2010, 01:26
by DrJones
Estate costs 2 instead of the 1 its text says.

Re: Bugs

PostPosted: 24 Mar 2010, 01:37
by DrJones
Additionally, the game seems to load the jpg files every time you mouseover any of the cards. This is crappy programming. Ideally, you would have an array of cards that would act as a cache, and at the start of the game you would load the files unto the array, so that when you mouseover the cards, you display the pixels in the array (already in memory) instead of having to constantly load pictures from the hard disk.

The program would be even more efficient if all the card pictures were in a single file (like a tileset), because then you would only need to load one file once, but there are some small advantages in having them separate.

Re: Bugs

PostPosted: 24 Mar 2010, 01:42
by jatill
DrJones wrote:Additionally, the game seems to load the jpg files every time you mouseover any of the cards. This is crappy programming. Ideally, you would have an array of cards that would act as a cache, and at the start of the game you would load the files unto the array, so that when you mouseover the cards, you display the pixels in the array (already in memory) instead of having to constantly load pictures from the hard disk.

The program would be even more efficient if all the card pictures were in a single file (like a tileset), because then you would only need to load one file once, but there are some small advantages in having them separate.
Um, who cares?

Re: Bugs

PostPosted: 24 Mar 2010, 03:10
by Huggybaby
Most programmers and all users care a great deal about efficient graphics implementation.

Re: Bugs

PostPosted: 24 Mar 2010, 12:14
by jatill
OK, fair enough. My comment more refers to the fact that the images load immediately anyway, so I'm not sure why efficiency matters. There are tons of improvement that could be made to the code, I'm sure. But are they bugs? I wouldn't say so. I'm just a little irked at having my work called "crappy", even if it is less than pristine. I'll choose to view this as constructive criticism, then, since it was in fact constructive, and let it go.

Re: Bugs

PostPosted: 24 Mar 2010, 12:35
by DrJones
Sorry for calling your work crappy, I'm not a native english speaker and don't know how strong some terms can sound. About your doubts, efficiency does really matters and a clue about it is that I could notice the "bug" without having to look at your code. Furthermore, minimizing hard disk accesses is always good, and not just in terms of rendering speed.

By the way, here are a couple more bugs.
- Native Village doesn't seem to empty between games.
- Secret chamber doesn't specify you get +1 gold per card discarded.

Re: Bugs

PostPosted: 24 Mar 2010, 14:17
by DrJones
Torturer's text is missing the "+3 cards" part.

Re: Bugs

PostPosted: 24 Mar 2010, 18:54
by Lummerosch
If you end a game with a bridge in play, in the next game all cards cost one coin less.

Re: Bugs

PostPosted: 24 Mar 2010, 19:58
by Huggybaby
Don't worry DrJones, next time you can say "less than optimal".

Re: Bugs

PostPosted: 25 Mar 2010, 10:48
by 1024
Not really bugs, but some AI behaviour I found very irrational (I still have the version with pics so don't mind me if this has been changed):
1. They never skipped a buy. Even if the only thing they can buy is a Copper. I killed them in a game by multi Embargo'ing the Copper and they still bought it.
2. Feast. Only cost-5 card was Upgrade, and it kept gaining Feasts for Feats.

Oh and brilliant program by the way. You could spice it up by adding custom rule variations and fan made cards so it'll remain unique once RGG's uberversion is released.

Re: Bugs

PostPosted: 25 Mar 2010, 12:48
by jatill
I'm going to post a bugfix version shortly. Here's what I've addressed. Anything I missed?

-Fix text on card images for Moat, Totruter, Salvager, Secret Chamber, Estate
-Load images as start of program instead of each time images are needed
-Allow player to get any valid coin with Mine
-Fix Pick Action screen so that actions you ban do not appear in the game
-Clear Native Village text at end of game
-Undo Bridge effect at end of game
-Fix a typo with Chancellor