It is currently 13 Dec 2017, 14:43
   
Text Size

Alchemy Beta Testing (updated 4/23)

A version of Asmadi Games' game by jatill

Moderators: jatill, CCGHQ Admins

Alchemy Beta Testing (updated 4/23)

Postby jatill » 15 Apr 2010, 18:41

I started adding some Alchemy cards, even though I haven't read the FAQs yet. So probably not a good idea on my part :)

In any case, if you'd like to test the new cards, here's my latest update. I've added all the cards except:

There are 2 major known bugs that I am not planning on addressing:
1) Possession: this will just let the AI do all the work for you instead of giving you the choice to control your opponent
2) Golem: Using Throne Room on Golem is OK (I think), but revealing Throne Room with Golem does not work, so I have it skip over Throne Rooms

http://www.mediafire.com/file/wwcjmjxmm ... 100423.zip
Last edited by jatill on 23 Apr 2010, 13:11, edited 3 times in total.
jatill
DEVELOPER
 
Posts: 2118
Joined: 24 Feb 2009, 16:35
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 17 times

Re: Alchemy Beta Testing

Postby Tilouboy » 16 Apr 2010, 00:09

Wow, that's what I call proactive. Thx man!

Bugs:
I recall having read that there are only 16 potions in play.

And the program won't launch unless you change the name of the jpg file of the philosopher stone.
Tilouboy
 
Posts: 8
Joined: 10 Mar 2010, 14:17
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Alchemy Beta Testing

Postby Adventuress » 16 Apr 2010, 10:34

Seems most Alchemy cards aren't working correctly. Meaning all special abilities, that were newly added aren't implemented.

Example: Scrying Pool lets you draw a card and gives you the choice of wether discarding the top most card from a players deck. Just like spy does. But it does not keep drawing cards until a non action card is discovered.

Other than that I think:
* the potion card needs to be changed, even though it is a treasure card.
* you shouldn't be able to pick the potion in "Pick Cards".
* the potion card should sit next to curses, instead of next to the kingdom cards.
Adventuress
 
Posts: 14
Joined: 29 Mar 2010, 17:52
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Alchemy Beta Testing

Postby Boom2010 » 16 Apr 2010, 11:52

jatill wrote:I started adding some Alchemy cards, even though I haven't read the FAQs yet. So probably not a good idea on my part :)
Brave man :) - but very very welcome news! =D> =D>

Feedback to follow....
Boom2010
 
Posts: 83
Joined: 08 Mar 2010, 16:02
Has thanked: 21 times
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Alchemy Beta Testing

Postby jatill » 16 Apr 2010, 12:08

Adventuress wrote:Seems most Alchemy cards aren't working correctly. Meaning all special abilities, that were newly added aren't implemented.

Example: Scrying Pool lets you draw a card and gives you the choice of wether discarding the top most card from a players deck. Just like spy does. But it does not keep drawing cards until a non action card is discovered.

Other than that I think:
* the potion card needs to be changed, even though it is a treasure card.
* you shouldn't be able to pick the potion in "Pick Cards".
* the potion card should sit next to curses, instead of next to the kingdom cards.
I just tested Scrying Pool and it worked fine for me. I Spied, and drew Village, Throne Room, and finally Estate.

If there are other cards that are not working, please tell me specifically how.

What does " the potion card needs to be changed, even though it is a treasure card." mean?
jatill
DEVELOPER
 
Posts: 2118
Joined: 24 Feb 2009, 16:35
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 17 times

Re: Alchemy Beta Testing

Postby jatill » 16 Apr 2010, 14:45

Update:
-3 missing cards were added
-Added special randomization scheme for Alchemy
-Always put potion next to curse
-changes # of potions to 16
-updated name of phil's stone image

Known bugs (that I will not fix):
1) Possession: this will just let the AI do all the work for you instead of giving you the choice to control your opponent
2) Golem: Using Throne Room on Golem is OK (I think), but revealing Throne Room with Golem does not work
jatill
DEVELOPER
 
Posts: 2118
Joined: 24 Feb 2009, 16:35
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 17 times

Re: Alchemy Beta Testing

Postby Adventuress » 16 Apr 2010, 15:24

jatill wrote:What does " the potion card needs to be changed, even though it is a treasure card." mean?
Sorry for the gibberish. I meant, that the potion card needs to be changed to distinguish it more from the treasure cards.

Edit: Just played the new version and noticed, that the AI buys Potions even if they are not in the current setup.
Adventuress
 
Posts: 14
Joined: 29 Mar 2010, 17:52
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Alchemy Beta Testing

Postby Boom2010 » 17 Apr 2010, 17:30

jatill wrote:Update:

-Added special randomization scheme for Alchemy
The select at least 3 Alchemy card option might not be working as intended. I've seen two kingdom cards plus potion, and one kingdom card plus potion.
Boom2010
 
Posts: 83
Joined: 08 Mar 2010, 16:02
Has thanked: 21 times
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Alchemy Beta Testing

Postby Bog Wraith » 18 Apr 2010, 14:15

Posted this here as it has to do with this Alchemy version.
You can see that Golem is in play when the game crashes. Not sure if this is part of the known bugs associated with Golem that was written above:
Attachments
Dominion_Run-time Error.jpg
Run-time Error
'Twas in the bogs of Cannelbrae
My mate did meet an early grave
'Twas nothing left for us to save
In the peat-filled bogs of Cannelbrae.
User avatar
Bog Wraith
Global Mod 1 (Ret)
 
Posts: 1048
Joined: 28 May 2008, 22:40
Location: Shandalar
Has thanked: 347 times
Been thanked: 147 times

Re: Alchemy Beta Testing

Postby Lummerosch » 18 Apr 2010, 16:45

Thank you for Alchemy! :D

Some Bugs:
When a Swindler trashes a card costing 3 coins and a potion, you can only give the player a card costing 3 coins and no potion.

When I remodel such a card, i can't take a potion card either.

(I read the FAQ :wink: )
Lummerosch
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 24 Mar 2010, 18:51
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Alchemy Beta Testing

Postby Adventuress » 19 Apr 2010, 13:26

blackearth over from Dominionblog.de posted the recommended Setups from the Alchemy rules:

Code: Select all
ALCHEMY B1 - Forbidden Arts:
Possession
Apprentice
University
Familiar
Thief
Gardens
Cellar
Laboratory
Council Room
Throne Room

ALCHEMY B2 - Quack:
Alchemist
Apothecary
Golem
Herbalist
Transmute
Festival
Chancellor
Cellar
Militia
Smithy

ALCHEMY B3 - Chemistry Class:
Alchemist
Golem
Phil's Stone
University
Moat
Bureaucrat
Witch
Woodcutter
Market
Remodel

ALCHEMY I1 - Servants:
Possession
Golem
Transmute
Scrying Pool
Vineyard
Great Hall
Pawn
Minion
Conspirator
Steward

ALCHEMY I2 - Secret Research:
Herbalist
Phil's Stone
University
Familiar
Nobles
Shanty Town
Bridge
Torturer
Minion
Masquerade

ALCHEMY I3 - Pots, Potions and Prats:
Apothecary
Golem
Apprentice
Scrying Pool
Nobles
Baron
Ironworks
Trading Post
Coppersmith
Wishing Well
Lummerosch wrote:Thank you for Alchemy! :D

Some Bugs:
When a Swindler trashes a card costing 3 coins and a potion, you can only give the player a card costing 3 coins and no potion.

When I remodel such a card, i can't take a potion card either.

(I read the FAQ :wink: )
I got the rulebook right in front of me, and it reads:
If a player plays Remodel he determines a card to trash. If he trashes, for example a Herbalist (Cost 2C) he may take a Smithy (4C) for example, but he may not take any card with a Potion in its cost. If he trashes, say a Golem (4C1P) he may gain a Possesion (6C1P) or a Gold (6C).
Adventuress
 
Posts: 14
Joined: 29 Mar 2010, 17:52
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Alchemy Beta Testing

Postby 1024 » 19 Apr 2010, 13:58

Thanks for the new cards.

AI buys Potion even if it's not available.
1024
 
Posts: 13
Joined: 25 Mar 2010, 10:39
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Alchemy Beta Testing

Postby jatill » 19 Apr 2010, 14:05

1024 wrote:Thanks for the new cards.

AI buys Potion even if it's not available.
Cool! (i.e. oops)
jatill
DEVELOPER
 
Posts: 2118
Joined: 24 Feb 2009, 16:35
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 17 times

Re: Alchemy Beta Testing

Postby Lummerosch » 19 Apr 2010, 18:09

Adventuress wrote:
Lummerosch wrote:Thank you for Alchemy! :D

Some Bugs:
When a Swindler trashes a card costing 3 coins and a potion, you can only give the player a card costing 3 coins and no potion.

When I remodel such a card, i can't take a potion card either.

(I read the FAQ :wink: )
I got the rulebook right in front of me, and it reads:
If a player plays Remodel he determines a card to trash. If he trashes, for example a Herbalist (Cost 2C) he may take a Smithy (4C) for example, but he may not take any card with a Potion in its cost. If he trashes, say a Golem (4C1P) he may gain a Possesion (6C1P) or a Gold (6C).
I know. But when I want to remodel a Golem in the computer version I could take a Gold but I'm not able to gain a Posession.

Sorry for my bad English...
Lummerosch
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 24 Mar 2010, 18:51
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Alchemy Beta Testing

Postby pinkymadigan » 19 Apr 2010, 21:14

Not quite sure what the conditions are for this bug to occur, but I was using universities and the "gain a card" effect stopped working eventually. It was a longer game, 18 count of all VPs and required more stacks to be out.

Also, on that topic, when the # of kingdom cards in each pile is more than 10 the game seems to end after any action card is purchased. Testing that ruined my stats heh heh...
pinkymadigan
 
Posts: 36
Joined: 08 Apr 2010, 22:07
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Next

Return to Dominion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


Who is online

In total there is 1 user online :: 0 registered, 0 hidden and 1 guest (based on users active over the past 10 minutes)
Most users ever online was 279 on 11 Jul 2013, 22:03

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

Login Form