It is currently 27 Apr 2024, 17:29
   
Text Size

DOTP 2014 MANA (two or more color w/o using tokens)?

Moderator: CCGHQ Admins

DOTP 2014 MANA (two or more color w/o using tokens)?

Postby kevlahnota » 05 Jul 2013, 03:35

Hi. I think its possible to have a variable mana producer. We just need to know the mana to spend with such card, and then I think we can make it without using token.

Here's an alternate way to have a mana producer using replacement trigger (one color only):
Code: Select all
  <TRIGGERED_ABILITY replacement_effect="1">
    <LOCALISED_TEXT LanguageCode="en-US"><![CDATA[{T}: Add {G} to your mana pool.]]></LOCALISED_TEXT>
    <TRIGGER value="CONSIDERED_FOR_CAST" simple_qualifier="controller" pre_trigger="1" />
    <RESOLUTION_TIME_ACTION layer="8">
    local characteristics = Object():GetCurrentCharacteristics()
    characteristics:GrantAbility(1)
    </RESOLUTION_TIME_ACTION>
  </TRIGGERED_ABILITY>
  <TRIGGERED_ABILITY replacement_effect="1">
    <TRIGGER value="CONSIDERED_FOR_ACTIVATION" simple_qualifier="controller" pre_trigger="1" />
    <RESOLUTION_TIME_ACTION layer="8">
    local characteristics = Object():GetCurrentCharacteristics()
    characteristics:GrantAbility(1)
    </RESOLUTION_TIME_ACTION>
  </TRIGGERED_ABILITY>
  <MANA_ABILITY resource_id="1">
    <PRODUCES amount="{G}" />
  </MANA_ABILITY>
Problem is we need to modify it to get the details of TriggerObject() costs (not sure how to get activation cost though) so our mana producer can change its GrantAbility to itself accordingly.

I think the best way we can get is determine the TotalMana you can pay and change it.
Another one is to get the ChromaCount of TriggerObject().
The least would be is granting the less predominant color.

Any Ideas ?...?
User avatar
kevlahnota
Programmer
 
Posts: 825
Joined: 19 Jul 2010, 17:45
Location: Philippines
Has thanked: 14 times
Been thanked: 264 times

Re: DOTP 2014 MANA (two or more color w/o using tokens)?

Postby thefiremind » 05 Jul 2013, 08:17

I was using ChromaCount in DotP2013 when I wanted to extract the mana cost of a card, but it gives wrong result with hybrid mana, and I think there's still no way to extract the mana cost of an ability.
< Former DotP 2012/2013/2014 modder >
Currently busy with life...
User avatar
thefiremind
Programmer
 
Posts: 3515
Joined: 07 Nov 2011, 10:55
Has thanked: 118 times
Been thanked: 721 times

Re: DOTP 2014 MANA (two or more color w/o using tokens)?

Postby sumomole » 06 Jul 2013, 01:31

thefiremind wrote:I was using ChromaCount in DotP2013 when I wanted to extract the mana cost of a card, but it gives wrong result with hybrid mana, and I think there's still no way to extract the mana cost of an ability.
I've improved your code in DotP2013 and it can count all mana symbol, but I agree with your last sentence, so it seems useless. :|
User avatar
sumomole
Programmer
 
Posts: 611
Joined: 07 Jun 2011, 08:34
Has thanked: 51 times
Been thanked: 234 times

Re: DOTP 2014 MANA (two or more color w/o using tokens)?

Postby kevlahnota » 07 Jul 2013, 11:27

GOOD NEWS!!! Magic 2014 supports two or more mana with no workarounds :) !!! will update my Custom DLC with it :D
User avatar
kevlahnota
Programmer
 
Posts: 825
Joined: 19 Jul 2010, 17:45
Location: Philippines
Has thanked: 14 times
Been thanked: 264 times

Re: DOTP 2014 MANA (two or more color w/o using tokens)?

Postby thefiremind » 07 Jul 2013, 11:35

kevlahnota wrote:GOOD NEWS!!! Magic 2014 supports two or more mana with no workarounds :) !!! will update my Custom DLC with it :D
:shock: :shock: :shock: I'll download it as soon as it's ready so I can see how. :mrgreen:
< Former DotP 2012/2013/2014 modder >
Currently busy with life...
User avatar
thefiremind
Programmer
 
Posts: 3515
Joined: 07 Nov 2011, 10:55
Has thanked: 118 times
Been thanked: 721 times

Re: DOTP 2014 MANA (two or more color w/o using tokens)?

Postby RiiakShiNal » 07 Jul 2013, 13:21

kevlahnota wrote:GOOD NEWS!!! Magic 2014 supports two or more mana with no workarounds :) !!! will update my Custom DLC with it :D
How?
  • I tried creating dual land using a single mana ability with hybrid mana.
    • Failed to produce any mana.
  • I tried with a single mana ability with two PRODUCES tags with a single colour in each.
  • I tried with two separate mana abilities each with a PRODUCES tag using a single colour each.
RiiakShiNal
Programmer
 
Posts: 2185
Joined: 16 May 2011, 21:37
Has thanked: 75 times
Been thanked: 497 times

Re: DOTP 2014 MANA (two or more color w/o using tokens)?

Postby Persee » 10 Jul 2013, 08:51

kevlahnota wrote:GOOD NEWS!!! Magic 2014 supports two or more mana with no workarounds :) !!! will update my Custom DLC with it :D
Is this precisely this code you are talking about ?

Code: Select all
<ACTIVATED_ABILITY forced_skip="1" linked_ability_group="1">
      <LOCALISED_TEXT LanguageCode="en-US"><![CDATA[|(|{T}|: Add| {B} |or| {R} |to your mana pool.)|]]></LOCALISED_TEXT>
      <LOCALISED_TEXT LanguageCode="it-IT"><![CDATA[|(|{T}|: Aggiungi| {B} |o| {R} |alla tua riserva di mana.)|]]></LOCALISED_TEXT>
      <LOCALISED_TEXT LanguageCode="de-DE"><![CDATA[|(|{T}|: Erhöhe deinen Manavorrat um| {B} |oder| {R}|.)|]]></LOCALISED_TEXT>
      <LOCALISED_TEXT LanguageCode="fr-FR"><![CDATA[|(|{T}| : Ajoutez| {B} |ou| {R} |à votre réserve.)|]]></LOCALISED_TEXT>
      <LOCALISED_TEXT LanguageCode="es-ES"><![CDATA[|(|{T}|: Agrega| {B} |o| {R} |a tu reserva de maná.)|]]></LOCALISED_TEXT>
      <LOCALISED_TEXT LanguageCode="jp-JA"><![CDATA[({T}:あなたのマナ・プールに{B}か{R}を加える。)]]></LOCALISED_TEXT>
      <LOCALISED_TEXT LanguageCode="ko-KR"><![CDATA[({T}: {B} 또는 {R}를 당신의 마나풀에 담는다.)]]></LOCALISED_TEXT>
      <LOCALISED_TEXT LanguageCode="ru-RU"><![CDATA[|(|{T}|: добавьте| {B} |или| {R} |в ваше хранилище маны.)|]]></LOCALISED_TEXT>
      <LOCALISED_TEXT LanguageCode="pt-BR"><![CDATA[|(|{T}|: Add| {B} |or| {R} |to your mana pool.)|]]></LOCALISED_TEXT>
      <AVAILABILITY>
    return Object():IsTapped() == false
    </AVAILABILITY>
      <MODE_SELECT tag="CARD_QUERY_MC_CHOOSE_MODE">
         <MODE tag="MANA_BLACK" index="1" />
         <MODE tag="MANA_RED" index="2" />
      </MODE_SELECT>
      <RESOLUTION_TIME_ACTION mode="1">
    LinkedDC():Set_Int(0, 2 )
    </RESOLUTION_TIME_ACTION>
      <RESOLUTION_TIME_ACTION mode="2">
    LinkedDC():Set_Int(0, 3 )
    </RESOLUTION_TIME_ACTION>
      <SFX text="null_activated_ability" />
   </ACTIVATED_ABILITY>
User avatar
Persee
 
Posts: 168
Joined: 02 Jun 2011, 08:33
Has thanked: 42 times
Been thanked: 24 times

Re: DOTP 2014 MANA (two or more color w/o using tokens)?

Postby thefiremind » 10 Jul 2013, 09:10

No, he was talking about PRODUCES amount="{WUBRG}" (or whatever combination you want), but that actually produces only the last color before }.
< Former DotP 2012/2013/2014 modder >
Currently busy with life...
User avatar
thefiremind
Programmer
 
Posts: 3515
Joined: 07 Nov 2011, 10:55
Has thanked: 118 times
Been thanked: 721 times


Return to Programming Talk

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 34 guests

cron

Who is online

In total there are 34 users online :: 0 registered, 0 hidden and 34 guests (based on users active over the past 10 minutes)
Most users ever online was 4143 on 23 Jan 2024, 08:21

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 34 guests

Login Form