It is currently 23 May 2017, 06:53
   
Text Size

How to set up a (public) XMage server

by BetaSteward

Moderators: LevelX, North, escplan9, BetaSteward, noxx, fireshoes, Aurum, jeffwadsworth, CCGHQ Admins

Re: How to set up a (public) XMage server

Postby Dougmark » 10 Aug 2015, 20:22

ADjSTEAM wrote:
Dougmark wrote:BUUUUUTTTT the config file are confused, I can't start a game with a bot, and the only kind of game play is commander... I copied the config example from the forum, but didnt work...
i did that too with similar results, there must be something strange when copying and pasting... i didn't get much into that
Well, I'll explain how it works for me...

I copied the example from the forum, and didnt work, after the advice of LevelX I just updated the Xmage, and changed the server address and name, and voilá, server was up... Let me know if you need any kind of help.
Dougmark
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 28 Jul 2015, 19:58
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: How to set up a (public) XMage server

Postby trsbox » 13 Aug 2015, 19:33

I am having issues with my public server.


I have setup my config.xml file as recommended.

When I start the server i can connect. But I get disconnects at some point.

Also, after having the server run for a day and trying to connect, I get a "server not responding" in clinet...

Any ideas?
trsbox
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 07 Aug 2015, 17:30
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: How to set up a (public) XMage server

Postby Dougmark » 18 Aug 2015, 20:33

trsbox wrote:I am having issues with my public server.


I have setup my config.xml file as recommended.

When I start the server i can connect. But I get disconnects at some point.

Also, after having the server run for a day and trying to connect, I get a "server not responding" in clinet...

Any ideas?
Hello there! I'm going to help you with that issue...

Follow this steps...

1 - Update the Xmage launcher
2 - Do not change anything in your config.xml file.
3 - Add a rule in your router, known as port forward, you must redirect all requisitions for you IP (local) and port 17171 (try to look at the internet, maybe you'll se some video or tutorial about your router...)
4 - You'll need a DNS service for your public IP, try no-ip or ddns (for free), save the address of your DNS service.
5 - After all this steps, open (as administrator) your config.xml file and change ONLY the server-adress, put the DNS address (ex: xmageserver.no-ip). Save the file, start your server and try to connect with the CLIENT. If you can ask for a friend try to connect or, if you can connect by another computer, it would be nice and better.
Dougmark
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 28 Jul 2015, 19:58
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: How to set up a (public) XMage server

Postby trsbox » 23 Aug 2015, 14:01

I have it setup on a linux server not at my house. No need to port forward
trsbox
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 07 Aug 2015, 17:30
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: How to set up a (public) XMage server

Postby Dougmark » 11 Feb 2016, 12:25

Hello there, I checked at the last versions of Xmage, we have a new feature, register...

I'd like to know, if its possible to allow/deny some logins (with password of course) in my server? If yes, there's a guide or instructions for that?

By the way, I have on server for America Latina, its small, but I have some plans to become bigger, it is possible to add the server at the public server lists?

thank you!
Dougmark
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 28 Jul 2015, 19:58
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: How to set up a (public) XMage server

Postby LevelX » 13 Feb 2016, 09:35

Dougmark wrote:Hello there, I checked at the last versions of Xmage, we have a new feature, register...

I'd like to know, if its possible to allow/deny some logins (with password of course) in my server? If yes, there's a guide or instructions for that?
If you activate authentication on the server, the users have to register and can only joint to the server with the password set as they create the profile. So a profile name is bound to the a user that knows the password. But you can't prevent yet on the server that registration is allowed.
To configure authentication you have to set in in the config.xml of the server.
register
Code: Select all
    authenticationActivated - "true" = user have to register to signon "false" = user need not to     * mail configs only needed if authentication is activated:
    * if mailUser = "" mailgun is used otherwise nativ mail server on the system
    mailgunApiKey       - key from the mailgun domain  e.g. = "key-12121111..."
    mailgunDomain       - domain for the mailgun message sending
    mailSmtpHost        - hostname to send the mail
    mailSmtpPort        - port to send the mail
    mailUser            - username used to send the mail
    mailPassword        - passworf of the used user to send the mail
    mailFromAddress     - sender address
Looks for example so:
Code: Select all
            authenticationActivated="true"
            mailgunApiKey=""
            mailgunDomain=""       
            mailSmtpHost="smtp.yourprovider.com"
            mailSmtpPort="465"
            mailUser="yourMailUser@yourprovider.com"
            mailPassword="8p6l3m2j"
            mailFromAddress="yourservername@yourprovider.com"
Dougmark wrote:By the way, I have on server for America Latina, its small, but I have some plans to become bigger, it is possible to add the server at the public server lists?

thank you!
Sure no problem, post the URL and port and I can add it easily to the server list.
User avatar
LevelX
DEVELOPER
 
Posts: 1575
Joined: 08 Dec 2011, 15:08
Has thanked: 173 times
Been thanked: 316 times

Re: How to set up a (public) XMage server

Postby Rico Mittelholzer » 30 Sep 2016, 20:08

Hi all. having a question on set up a public server
on a vServer. we bought a Linux vServer on Zap-Hosting

so i installed the latest version of Java 8 already

after this i copied the folder xmage-server located on

usr/games/xmage-server1/xmage-server

Question a: do i keep the config.xml on the linux vServer
originally with server ="0.0.0.0" and server name="xmage-server"
or do i have to change something?

what i did is overwrite the config.xml local, means on my computer
where i launch xmage. so there i wrote server="and my IP Adresse"
i got from Zap-Hosting.

i keep the server name "xmage-server"

so now i open xmage and at the xmage window i "start server"
by checking the windowed process i got the fatal error in the end:

can someone please help me out?
i was happy getting that far, so it would
be great to get to a point.

thanks a lot
Rico
Rico Mittelholzer
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 30 Sep 2016, 19:30
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: How to set up a (public) XMage server

Postby RRRenchant » 07 Feb 2017, 15:07

Can any one tell me, how to forward XMage server (running on my Windows PC that is deep behind NATs) to internet, using ngrok?
As I see, XMage server is running on localhost on 2 ports on it: 17171 and 17172
So (I guess) I need to forward these ports such a way, that I shall have 1 web-address (http:--xxxx.ngrok.io) with xxxx.ngrok.io:17171 bound to localhost:17171 and xxxx.ngrok.io:17172 bound to localhost:17172
And if I simply forward localhost:17171 to some http:--aaaa.ngrok.io, and localhost:17172 to some http:--bbbb.ngrok.io - this way XMage clients will not have ability to connect to these "two" web-addresses
How to do?

P.S. "http:--" in my post means "http:<slash><slash>" (restriction for new users here, from posting "external urls")
RRRenchant
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 07 Feb 2017, 14:56
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: How to set up a (public) XMage server

Postby thriller22 » 06 Mar 2017, 02:31

I am running a new public server from an old media server I had laying around. What is the best way to schedule auto restarts?

I tried creating an entry in task manager to relaunch the .bat file once a day and terminate any existing processes, but it did not seem to work properly.

OS windows 7 32-bit

Thanks in advance.
thriller22
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 10 Jan 2017, 04:25
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: How to set up a (public) XMage server

Postby azaleth » 17 Mar 2017, 20:52

bedlamp wrote:I managed to get it working on a NAT-like setup (linux)

The method appears to be:
1) get a domain name and point it to your public IP
2) On your server host, edit /etc/hosts to have the domain name point to your local ip
3) Forward the appropriate ports
4) in your config, set server Address to the domain name
5) connect using the domain name (if you're on the local network, you'll need to add the same entry to your /etc/hosts)

YMMV
Ok,
The networking side is cake, and pretty sure I have this all setup correctly, but still unable to connect from the WAN side. Since this is going to be home based and ISP only gives a /30, I only have one IP so unable to set this server on the edge and manually give it a static IP. From outside, Nmap shows that 17171 is open (secondary service does not show up), so verified service is running.
1) Got a domain name from free DNS, obviously pointed to my public IP. xxx.strangled.net
2)Hostfile adjusted to xxx.strangled.net pointing to my internal ip address.
3)Primary and secondary port forwarded.
4)Xml config setup to xxx.strangled.net. Server loads up with DNS name fine.
5)Connection fails (DNS name does resolve, tried with IP and DNS name)

I will double check my config tonight, but this should be a very simple port forward type thing to connect. Service runs on X port, forward X port to internal IP on router, then done. This must have to do with names lining up or something, for the network layer is pretty straight forward. If there is anything I have missed, please let me know. Many thanks!
azaleth
 
Posts: 8
Joined: 31 Oct 2016, 18:59
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: How to set up a (public) XMage server

Postby patbou » 25 Apr 2017, 13:29

Maybe it's a stupid question : But why would I want to launch Server + Client? And not just Client?

During peak hours, if I have Server + Client, does that mean that my game (and only mine) will be hosted on my computer, and we'll suffer less lag? Or will my computer become a server for other games? What happens to these if I leave the game and disconnect?

Thanks!
patbou
 
Posts: 10
Joined: 02 Mar 2017, 17:33
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: How to set up a (public) XMage server

Postby Kibbz » 10 May 2017, 20:29

Good Afternoon,

I used this guide to create the server on a Linux VM. Everything is running and working, users are able to connect etc. However, I don't see any instructions about admin capabilities, for example, how would I kick/ban a disruptive user from the server?

Is there a list of Admin commands, or a way to manage the server from XMAGE Client?

Thanks,

Kibbz
Kibbz
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 10 May 2017, 20:26
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Previous

Return to XMage

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


Who is online

In total there are 5 users online :: 0 registered, 0 hidden and 5 guests (based on users active over the past 10 minutes)
Most users ever online was 279 on 11 Jul 2013, 22:03

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests

Login Form