It is currently 26 Jun 2017, 14:03
   
Text Size

XMage Launcher 0.3.0 released

by BetaSteward

Moderators: LevelX, North, escplan9, BetaSteward, noxx, fireshoes, Aurum, jeffwadsworth, CCGHQ Admins

XMage Launcher 0.3.0 released

Postby BetaSteward » 07 Dec 2014, 21:09

XMage Launcher 0.3.0 has been released.

Based on your feedback this version includes several new features:

The Launcher now includes the option to provide several download locations for the XMage binaries. If the Launcher fails to download from one location is will try the next location and then the next, etc.

It also provides several options that can to set in the Settings page to customize your experience.

Java and XMage downloads are now combined into one step. You can now force a full download of both java and XMage in case something went wrong with a previous install.

If you have any issues or recommendations please post them here.

Regards,

BetaSteward
BetaSteward
DEVELOPER
 
Posts: 129
Joined: 28 Mar 2010, 13:15
Has thanked: 6 times
Been thanked: 29 times

Re: XMage Launcher 0.3.0 released

Postby LevelX » 08 Dec 2014, 09:12

Thanks for the great improvements to the XMage launcher.

One little thing I'd like to see is some kind of cursor animation (or other indication) during the start of the XMage client with the lauchner. There are always about 5 seconds after the click until the XMage client window appears. During this time I'm always thinking about if windows has swallowed my click or if the client will be started.
User avatar
LevelX
DEVELOPER
 
Posts: 1578
Joined: 08 Dec 2011, 15:08
Has thanked: 173 times
Been thanked: 316 times

Re: XMage Launcher 0.3.0 released

Postby xnick » 10 Dec 2014, 16:25

I had some issues with a recent java update under Windows 7. In order to being able to run the launcher i had to use a java distribution that was previously installed under the same folder as xmage (jre1.7.0.71). Then, from the command line i went to \java\jre1.7.0_71\bin\ and ran

Code: Select all
java -jar ..\..\..\XMageLauncher-0.3.0.jar
(before this, it was enough to double click the launcher icon in any explorer window). I hope this helps someone. Couldn't find if this was because of my installation, update, or a bug.

See you soon!
xnick
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 10 Dec 2014, 16:18
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: XMage Launcher 0.3.0 released

Postby LevelX » 13 Dec 2014, 19:03

Seems like the download does not work from a direct link that looks like this:

http://www.webfilehost.com/download.php ... 9419496158

In browser it does work, but not in the launcher. Maybe because it is not named like a zip file?

You can test it with url http://xmage.info/xmagetest for the launcher.
User avatar
LevelX
DEVELOPER
 
Posts: 1578
Joined: 08 Dec 2011, 15:08
Has thanked: 173 times
Been thanked: 316 times

Re: XMage Launcher 0.3.0 released

Postby varygoode » 13 Dec 2014, 21:49

Launcher tells me I'm up-to-date, but I only have XMage 2014-11-29v3 (2014-12-10) despite XMage 2014-11-29v4 (2014-12-13) being released today. I thought it was automated?
varygoode
 
Posts: 52
Joined: 13 Sep 2014, 21:54
Has thanked: 16 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: XMage Launcher 0.3.0 released

Postby LevelX » 13 Dec 2014, 23:32

varygoode wrote:Launcher tells me I'm up-to-date, but I only have XMage 2014-11-29v3 (2014-12-10) despite XMage 2014-11-29v4 (2014-12-13) being released today. I thought it was automated?
I found some problem with the client in v4.
I will fix this before I make it available by the launcher.

Important changes of v4 are anyway in the server.
So it's no problem to keep v3 for the client at the moment.
User avatar
LevelX
DEVELOPER
 
Posts: 1578
Joined: 08 Dec 2011, 15:08
Has thanked: 173 times
Been thanked: 316 times

Re: XMage Launcher 0.3.0 released

Postby BetaSteward » 15 Dec 2014, 02:23

xnick wrote:I had some issues with a recent java update under Windows 7. In order to being able to run the launcher i had to use a java distribution that was previously installed under the same folder as xmage (jre1.7.0.71). Then, from the command line i went to \java\jre1.7.0_71\bin\ and ran

Code: Select all
java -jar ..\..\..\XMageLauncher-0.3.0.jar
(before this, it was enough to double click the launcher icon in any explorer window). I hope this helps someone. Couldn't find if this was because of my installation, update, or a bug.

See you soon!
Thanks for the feedback

Unfortunately this is the one weak spot in the launcher. You need to have a functioning version of java that is in your PATH environment or is otherwise executable from the command line.

I did think about packaging it with a set of java binaries but that would make the initial install a bit more complicated since it would need to be extracted and then scripts to launch it would be required and those scripts would need to be versioned for each potential OS ...
BetaSteward
DEVELOPER
 
Posts: 129
Joined: 28 Mar 2010, 13:15
Has thanked: 6 times
Been thanked: 29 times

Re: XMage Launcher 0.3.0 released

Postby BetaSteward » 15 Dec 2014, 02:27

LevelX wrote:Seems like the download does not work from a direct link that looks like this:

http://www.webfilehost.com/download.php ... 9419496158

In browser it does work, but not in the launcher. Maybe because it is not named like a zip file?

You can test it with url http://xmage.info/xmagetest for the launcher.
Hmmm ... there might be some sort of java script that starts the download on that link. The launcher is actually looking for a file to download, not expecting the link to start the download. I'll see if I can make some adjustments to the launcher after my current round of MCTS AI improvements.
BetaSteward
DEVELOPER
 
Posts: 129
Joined: 28 Mar 2010, 13:15
Has thanked: 6 times
Been thanked: 29 times

Re: XMage Launcher 0.3.0 released

Postby JeffHoogland » 31 Dec 2014, 19:57

Has there been any consideration to creating/offering a .exe wrapper for the launcher to make getting XMage running more idiot proof for Windows users?

Something like Launch4j could be pretty straight forward to use it looks like -> http://sourceforge.net/projects/launch4j/
JeffHoogland
 
Posts: 24
Joined: 16 Aug 2012, 18:57
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: XMage Launcher 0.3.0 released

Postby Himself1205 » 20 Jan 2015, 13:58

Loving the new update! The only issue I've been noticing is that after 3-4 matches against the AI there seems to be some kind of issue where it starts to lag out. The AI goes from taking 1-5 seconds per turn to a few minutes per phase. Seems to correct itself when I shut down out of Xmage completely and restart but then the AI lagfree only lasts about 1 match.

Anyone else experience this? Not sure how many people play against the AI but I use it as a time killer at work :)
Himself1205
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 20 Jan 2015, 13:54
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: XMage Launcher 0.3.0 released

Postby antpinto » 24 Jan 2015, 19:51

Hello

I installed XMage in Mac OS X 10.6.8 and when I "Launch Client" to run XMage it opens a black window "XMage Client Console" with the text:

2015-01-24 17:41:27.627 java[380:1a03] *** NSInvocation: warning: object 0x10b5de3c0 of class 'ThreadUtilities' does not implement methodSignatureForSelector: -- trouble ahead
2015-01-24 17:41:27.629 java[380:1a03] *** NSInvocation: warning: object 0x10b5de3c0 of class 'ThreadUtilities' does not implement doesNotRecognizeSelector: -- abort

I don't know anything about java. What can I do to solve that?

Thank you very much for your attention.
Best regards
antpinto
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 24 Jan 2015, 17:45
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: XMage Launcher 0.3.0 released

Postby LevelX » 24 Jan 2015, 21:29

antpinto wrote:Hello

I installed XMage in Mac OS X 10.6.8 and when I "Launch Client" to run XMage it opens a black window "XMage Client Console" with the text:

2015-01-24 17:41:27.627 java[380:1a03] *** NSInvocation: warning: object 0x10b5de3c0 of class 'ThreadUtilities' does not implement methodSignatureForSelector: -- trouble ahead
2015-01-24 17:41:27.629 java[380:1a03] *** NSInvocation: warning: object 0x10b5de3c0 of class 'ThreadUtilities' does not implement doesNotRecognizeSelector: -- abort

I don't know anything about java. What can I do to solve that?

Thank you very much for your attention.
Best regards
Seems like a problem with Java. Like a too old java version is used.
Maybe you try to update java manually, here are the needed steps described:
http://www.slightlymagic.net/forum/viewtopic.php?f=70&t=13632&p=161570#p161570
If a newer java is used, you can try again to use the launcher or try to install XMage manually.
User avatar
LevelX
DEVELOPER
 
Posts: 1578
Joined: 08 Dec 2011, 15:08
Has thanked: 173 times
Been thanked: 316 times

Re: XMage Launcher 0.3.0 released

Postby DarkMedicine » 28 Jan 2015, 18:07

I hope someone can help with this because I am really wanting to try this out. Here is my issue. I have downloaded the client, upgraded to the 0.3.0 version, and made sure that java is there, but when I try to connect to the server I get a long block of test error messages. I am running Windows 8. I have uninstalled and reinstalled both the client, and the java (including all other versions of java from my system and still get this issue. Here is a SS on the error test:

XMAGE Error.PNG


I hope someone can help, thanks.
DarkMedicine
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 28 Jan 2015, 17:18
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: XMage Launcher 0.3.0 released

Postby bhamann82 » 21 Jan 2016, 21:56

Tried downloading launcher today. Everything downloaded fine just did have a launcher executable file or .bat file to use.
bhamann82
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 21 Jan 2016, 21:54
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time


Return to XMage

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


Who is online

In total there are 4 users online :: 0 registered, 0 hidden and 4 guests (based on users active over the past 10 minutes)
Most users ever online was 279 on 11 Jul 2013, 22:03

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests

Login Form