It is currently 20 Jun 2018, 03:51
   
Text Size

What is a "normal" % of memory used?

by BetaSteward

Moderators: LevelX, BetaSteward, North, escplan9, noxx, Aurum, fireshoes, jeffwadsworth, TheElk801, CCGHQ Admins

What is a "normal" % of memory used?

Postby cheddarsuave » 08 Jan 2018, 11:32

With the new memory used being shown at the top, what should I expect to get out? Mine frequently hovers in the red range, 80%+. I tried increasing the -xmx value in Java settings, but I haven't noticed a difference with that.

Thanks!
cheddarsuave
 
Posts: 133
Joined: 12 Sep 2016, 00:18
Has thanked: 74 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: What is a "normal" % of memory used?

Postby JayDi » 08 Jan 2018, 14:49

cheddarsuave wrote:With the new memory used being shown at the top, what should I expect to get out? Mine frequently hovers in the red range, 80%+. I tried increasing the -xmx value in Java settings, but I haven't noticed a difference with that.

Thanks!
Normal memory usage must be < 70% But it's not scary to have big percent -- game will work as before, but with random freezes. XMage sometime increase memory for hard operations like cards loading, but after done can free to normanl. It's a java :-)

If you change it correct then new value must be likely as max memory available in stats (plus/minus). If your max available value don't change then check it again:
- what you setup it for client command, not server;
- what you setup it correct (try -Xmx1024M or -Xmx1G)
- what you launch client from launcher;
- what you have free memory in your OS.

Example:
Image
User avatar
JayDi
 
Posts: 47
Joined: 23 Nov 2017, 15:41
Location: Russia
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 9 times

Re: What is a "normal" % of memory used?

Postby cheddarsuave » 09 Jan 2018, 11:07

I don't understand this part:

JayDi wrote: value don't change then check it again:
- what you setup it for client command, not server;
Also, I increased my max memory in the Java settings to "-Xmx1G", but in the status bar it still says xxx of 519 MB used. Shouldn't that be increased if I increase -Xmx in the Java settings? I confirmed that it stays at 519 MB whether I have 512m, 1024m, or 1G enabled in the settings.
cheddarsuave
 
Posts: 133
Joined: 12 Sep 2016, 00:18
Has thanked: 74 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: What is a "normal" % of memory used?

Postby JayDi » 13 Jan 2018, 23:59

cheddarsuave wrote:I don't understand this part:

JayDi wrote: value don't change then check it again:
- what you setup it for client command, not server;
Also, I increased my max memory in the Java settings to "-Xmx1G", but in the status bar it still says xxx of 519 MB used. Shouldn't that be increased if I increase -Xmx in the Java settings? I confirmed that it stays at 519 MB whether I have 512m, 1024m, or 1G enabled in the settings.
Yes, max stats must increase too (e.g. you can see 950-980 MB in xmage menu). Check up your settings again -- it's can have typo or repeats. Post it here.

Try to decrease it to 350 -- if new settings will apply and show values in menu then you haven't enough free system memory. Try to close other apps.

Also you can delete all launcher settings -- then it will use max available memory.
User avatar
JayDi
 
Posts: 47
Joined: 23 Nov 2017, 15:41
Location: Russia
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 9 times


Return to XMage

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: igniteaxiom and 5 guests


Who is online

In total there are 6 users online :: 1 registered, 0 hidden and 5 guests (based on users active over the past 10 minutes)
Most users ever online was 279 on 11 Jul 2013, 22:03

Users browsing this forum: igniteaxiom and 5 guests

Login Form