It is currently 29 Nov 2020, 09:53
   
Text Size

Computer AI locking up and consuming all(12G) of RAM?

by BetaSteward

Moderators: TheElk801, BetaSteward, LevelX, North, noxx, JayDi, jeffwadsworth, CCGHQ Admins

Computer AI locking up and consuming all(12G) of RAM?

Postby Treebeardz » 14 Nov 2020, 23:14

I setup a local AI game and at times the computers will just sit there randomly if something is on the stack. For example the computer at was swinging at another computer AI with no blocker. Its own "Duelist Heritage" hits the stack....CPU goes to 95% an RAM goes to 100% of the 12G allocated in the batch run command?

This didn't used to happen on older version. Is there a fix? Can we get some Dev time spent with the AI and making it better or less buggy?
Treebeardz
 
Posts: 13
Joined: 16 Jul 2019, 06:22
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Computer AI locking up and consuming all(12G) of RAM?

Postby JayDi » 14 Nov 2020, 23:28

Some rare cards or abilities can be broken for AI (example: if some action can be executed infinite amount of times). That's ok. Just restart server and try to find broken card to remove it from deck (and report).
User avatar
JayDi
 
Posts: 299
Joined: 23 Nov 2017, 15:41
Location: Russia
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 43 times

Re: Computer AI locking up and consuming all(12G) of RAM?

Postby Treebeardz » 16 Nov 2020, 00:17

I fell that this is a bigger issue then just one card. It happens all the time but never early in the game. Always later in the game. I will attempt with one deck to remove all issue card and try and put in only AI friendly card to test this theory.

By chance is there a community created deck that is AI friendly? Or some decks known to be AI friendly or with less issues?

Still hoping we'll get some dev time into the AI and a solution to force an action based on how long the AI spends determining an action. I would rather the AI make a dumb move so the game can continue vs sitting in an inf loop. This should be possible.
Treebeardz
 
Posts: 13
Joined: 16 Jul 2019, 06:22
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Computer AI locking up and consuming all(12G) of RAM?

Postby JayDi » 16 Nov 2020, 07:51

There are some old AI decks:
* from game folder "\xmage\mage-client\sample-decks\AI\"
* from https://www.reddit.com/r/XMage/comments ... _xmage_ai/

But abilities/cards fixed and changed so some AI can play new cards and can broke another. If you catch game freeze with 100% cpu for TOO LONG TIME then AI found broken card/ability. If it unfreezed at the end then all fine -- just too much cards/moves to calculate.

XMage's AI takes max 20-25 seconds to think about next move. You can change AI level to lower level (each level gives 2-3 seconds to think time) -- it can help with slowly AI in late game.
User avatar
JayDi
 
Posts: 299
Joined: 23 Nov 2017, 15:41
Location: Russia
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 43 times


Return to XMage

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests


Who is online

In total there are 10 users online :: 0 registered, 0 hidden and 10 guests (based on users active over the past 10 minutes)
Most users ever online was 1371 on 09 Feb 2020, 16:22

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests

Login Form