It is currently 07 Mar 2021, 00:40
   
Text Size

Microprose Magic the Gathering 2010 Custom Installer ISO

MicroProse's Shandalar Campaign Game, now with new cards & a new look!

Moderators: BAgate, drool66, stassy, Aswan jaguar, gmzombie, CCGHQ Admins

Re: Microprose Magic the Gathering 2010 Custom Installer ISO

Postby Sonic » 03 Nov 2010, 22:34

UltimateKane99 wrote:Interesting. I'll try reinstalling. In that vein, though, is it possible to still use the save game? And, beyond that, does this also fix the second issue I was having?

Thank you very much! :)
It's probably best to install the ISO to C:\Program Files\’ (or ‘C:\Program Files(x86)\’ if using Windows7 x64), unless you have a specific reason not to.
Although it suggest during the installation you can install the game anywhere, as long as you do not use long file path names. We've had reports of a small number of people having problems when installing it anywhere but the default path - so it's probably best to use this to be safe.

There's no guarantee your current save game file isn't corrupt if you've been having problems with your install. You might be better off starting and saving a new game.

Unfortunately, Shandalar can only access the cards that were in the original Microprose game. The new cards added in the ISO are only playable in the Dual Games.

If you check out the 'Card Art Update Installation Instructions.pdf' in the 10/29/10 update, it includes a card list showing which cards are playable in the game - those listed in gray are playable in Shandalar.

All the best... Sonic
Working On: Life, the Universe, and Everything.
User avatar
Sonic
Apprentice
 
Posts: 827
Joined: 27 Feb 2010, 00:37
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 160 times

Re: Microprose Magic the Gathering 2010 Custom Installer ISO

Postby JesusKillsForFun » 10 Nov 2010, 21:00

hey i realy need help with the multiplayer, i cant get it too work, i did everything it said to and it still wont show the gem in the corner, can anyone help me?
JesusKillsForFun
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 10 Nov 2010, 20:53
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Microprose Magic the Gathering 2010 Custom Installer ISO

Postby Sonic » 10 Nov 2010, 22:26

JesusKillsForFun wrote:hey i realy need help with the multiplayer, i cant get it too work, i did everything it said to and it still wont show the gem in the corner, can anyone help me?
Download this zip file from the first post in this thread, and follow the instructions within.

http://www.mediafire.com/?jnmlywtrj2z
Working On: Life, the Universe, and Everything.
User avatar
Sonic
Apprentice
 
Posts: 827
Joined: 27 Feb 2010, 00:37
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 160 times

Re: Microprose Magic the Gathering 2010 Custom Installer ISO

Postby terrantado » 21 Dec 2010, 19:20

i think i saw a bug for a deck i made. it's the mirror universe and lich combo. they don't seem to work after activating the mirror universe life swap :?
terrantado
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 11 Sep 2010, 20:18
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Microprose Magic the Gathering 2010 Custom Installer ISO

Postby terrantado » 21 Dec 2010, 20:00

one more thing. diabolic edict does not seem to do anything. my opponent only has 1 creature but after casting edict his creature stays at play
terrantado
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 11 Sep 2010, 20:18
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Microprose Magic the Gathering 2010 Custom Installer ISO

Postby terrantado » 21 Dec 2010, 20:03

one more thing. diabolic edict does not seem to do anything. my opponent only has 1 creature but after casting edict his creature stays at play
terrantado
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 11 Sep 2010, 20:18
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Microprose Magic the Gathering 2010 Custom Installer ISO

Postby DakkonBlackblade » 16 Jan 2011, 21:52

Gents,

New to the site, but stoked because I've been bitter about not being able to play this game for a long time. Got the ISO onto a disc and am running the install through a Vista OS, when I get this message:

Error 1305: Error reasding from file C:\Program Files\MagicTG\Cardart\CARDBK_special.bmp

Has anyone seen this, or run into this before. I ran over a number of pages here, but I didn't spot any reference to this issue. Any help would be greatly appreciated. I've been dying to stay up all night and play this since I found your awesome site!
DakkonBlackblade
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 16 Jan 2011, 21:47
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Microprose Magic the Gathering 2010 Custom Installer ISO

Postby Sonic » 16 Jan 2011, 23:26

DakkonBlackblade wrote:Gents,

New to the site, but stoked because I've been bitter about not being able to play this game for a long time. Got the ISO onto a disc and am running the install through a Vista OS, when I get this message:

Error 1305: Error reasding from file C:\Program Files\MagicTG\Cardart\CARDBK_special.bmp

Has anyone seen this, or run into this before. I ran over a number of pages here, but I didn't spot any reference to this issue. Any help would be greatly appreciated. I've been dying to stay up all night and play this since I found your awesome site!
Sounds as if you either have a duff CD-R or a corrupt download. No reports of this before.

Try running the ISO from a virtual drive like Nero Drive Image to install it. Or simply extract the ISO into a folder on your hard drive, and then run the Setup.exe in the 'Setup' folder.
If you get the same problem using either of these methods you may need to download the torrent again.
Working On: Life, the Universe, and Everything.
User avatar
Sonic
Apprentice
 
Posts: 827
Joined: 27 Feb 2010, 00:37
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 160 times

Re: Microprose Magic the Gathering 2010 Custom Installer ISO

Postby discoransom » 23 Jan 2011, 21:18

I mount this with MagicIso and the the intro music starts, but the screen goes black and the program locks up. Installation never begins. Anyone else have this problem? I am running Vista.

I've d/l'd this several times to make sure the d/l wasn't corrupted.
discoransom
 
Posts: 141
Joined: 08 Sep 2009, 20:44
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Microprose Magic the Gathering 2010 Custom Installer ISO

Postby Huggybaby » 24 Jan 2011, 01:19

If autorun fails, navigate to the CD and run Setup.exe from the Setup folder.

Or, you can extract the ISO using WinRAR or 7-Zip, then run Setup.exe found in the Setup folder.
User avatar
Huggybaby
Administrator
 
Posts: 3117
Joined: 15 Jan 2006, 19:44
Location: Finally out of Atlanta
Has thanked: 613 times
Been thanked: 573 times

Re: Microprose Magic the Gathering 2010 Custom Installer ISO

Postby Sonic » 24 Jan 2011, 01:24

discoransom wrote:I mount this with MagicIso and the the intro music starts, but the screen goes black and the program locks up. Installation never begins. Anyone else have this problem? I am running Vista.

I've d/l'd this several times to make sure the d/l wasn't corrupted.
Added to Huggy's observations.
You might need to be logged in as an administrator to install the game.
Or it could be that Vista is trying to prompt you for permission to install the game, but you are unable to see the prompt menu behind the games installation screen.
Working On: Life, the Universe, and Everything.
User avatar
Sonic
Apprentice
 
Posts: 827
Joined: 27 Feb 2010, 00:37
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 160 times

Re: Microprose Magic the Gathering 2010 Custom Installer ISO

Postby discoransom » 25 Jan 2011, 02:16

Thanks so much!

Worked like a charm, extracted the CD and ran setup as administrator
discoransom
 
Posts: 141
Joined: 08 Sep 2009, 20:44
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Microprose Magic the Gathering 2010 Custom Installer ISO

Postby Salbei » 09 Feb 2011, 05:59

< here was a link to download MANALINK 2.0 that should have been in the MANALINK 2.0 forum and not in the SHANDALAR forum.>
Last edited by Salbei on 11 Feb 2011, 17:38, edited 1 time in total.
ImageImage
User avatar
Salbei
DEVELOPER
 
Posts: 1053
Joined: 04 Jun 2009, 10:58
Location: Germany
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Microprose Magic the Gathering 2010 Custom Installer ISO

Postby Sonic » 10 Feb 2011, 02:53

Ok Salbei, no problem. :)

Thanks for removing the post. As you rightly point out, we have enough problems with people using Win7 - last thing we need is to confuse the issues with people corrupting whichever version of the game they have managed to get up and running. [-o<

All the best.
Last edited by Sonic on 13 Feb 2011, 02:32, edited 1 time in total.
Working On: Life, the Universe, and Everything.
User avatar
Sonic
Apprentice
 
Posts: 827
Joined: 27 Feb 2010, 00:37
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 160 times

Re: Microprose Magic the Gathering 2010 Custom Installer ISO

Postby Salbei » 11 Feb 2011, 17:27

I got no clue how that post got here in the Shandalar forum.

The post was meant to help people that use windows 7 (64bit), since a couple people had to use Virtual Machine or Compatibility settings to get the game to work.
Just wanted to post my game folder (that worked for pretty much everyone on every system so far) and didn´t mean to post this over here.

Posted that in the "New User Start Here" (forum 55) Section for Manalink 2.0 and definatly NOT here(76).
Guess it has to do with the "Announce". Never actually visited the Shandalar Forum so i got no idea how this happened.

Sorry about that anyway.
ImageImage
User avatar
Salbei
DEVELOPER
 
Posts: 1053
Joined: 04 Jun 2009, 10:58
Location: Germany
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 2 times

PreviousNext

Return to Shandalar

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


Who is online

In total there are 4 users online :: 0 registered, 0 hidden and 4 guests (based on users active over the past 10 minutes)
Most users ever online was 1371 on 09 Feb 2020, 16:22

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests

Login Form