It is currently 08 Mar 2021, 10:15
   
Text Size

Microprose Magic the Gathering 2010 Custom Installer ISO

MicroProse's Shandalar Campaign Game, now with new cards & a new look!

Moderators: BAgate, drool66, stassy, Aswan jaguar, gmzombie, CCGHQ Admins

Re: Microprose Magic the Gathering 2010 Custom Installer ISO

Postby Huggybaby » 10 Aug 2011, 22:07

Isn't Manalink 2.0 part of a different package?
User avatar
Huggybaby
Administrator
 
Posts: 3117
Joined: 15 Jan 2006, 19:44
Location: Finally out of Atlanta
Has thanked: 613 times
Been thanked: 573 times

Re: Microprose Magic the Gathering 2010 Custom Installer ISO

Postby Talonblaze » 10 Aug 2011, 22:27

Sonic wrote:Have you tried installing the Multiplayer Files from the first post in this thread? They can sometimes help.

Here's the link:

http://www.mediafire.com/?jnmlywtrj2z
Yeah we used the MP fix from the first post and followed the instructions properly as well for MP games.
Talonblaze
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 08 Aug 2011, 19:49
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Microprose Magic the Gathering 2010 Custom Installer ISO

Postby Sonic » 11 Aug 2011, 00:30

Huggybaby wrote:Isn't Manalink 2.0 part of a different package?
No, Manalink was originally just the name of the Multiplayer TCP/IP section of the original Microprose game - it was only ever taken as as far as Manalink 1.3.
As far as I can make out - after Mok cracked the win95 bug and opened the game to further mods, he then updated the multiplayer to 1.32 and later 2.0. And then used the term Manalink for some of the other mods he made - the manalink.csv file for instance.
Eventually Manalink 2.0 just seems to have become a way of referring to any version of the game based on Mok's original mods. Even though the ISO is possibly now the last version to retain an active TCP/IP section.
Working On: Life, the Universe, and Everything.
User avatar
Sonic
Apprentice
 
Posts: 827
Joined: 27 Feb 2010, 00:37
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 160 times

Re: Microprose Magic the Gathering 2010 Custom Installer ISO

Postby Sonic » 11 Aug 2011, 00:43

Talonblaze wrote:
Sonic wrote:Have you tried installing the Multiplayer Files from the first post in this thread? They can sometimes help.

Here's the link:

http://www.mediafire.com/?jnmlywtrj2z
Yeah we used the MP fix from the first post and followed the instructions properly as well for MP games.
You may have better luck trying to get Mok's original version of the game to work, rather than the ISO. But even that may cause problems from what I've managed to find out from a quick search of the forums.

Microprose MTG Mok's Manalink 2.0 Version.part1.rar (92.77 MB)
http://www.mediafire.com/?dnguzumjmnm -or-
http://rapidshare.com/files/246800006/M ... .part1.rar

Microprose MTG Mok's Manalink 2.0 Version.part2.rar (91.76 MB)
http://www.mediafire.com/?jzmoel4hjam -or-
http://rapidshare.com/files/246813917/M ... .part2.rar

Don't upload any updates to this version of the game, apart from the Multiplayer Files, if needed.
Working On: Life, the Universe, and Everything.
User avatar
Sonic
Apprentice
 
Posts: 827
Joined: 27 Feb 2010, 00:37
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 160 times

Re: Microprose Magic the Gathering 2010 Custom Installer ISO

Postby hip63 » 07 Sep 2011, 02:16

CarlPH wrote:
llk2k6 wrote:Hello, I'm using Windows 7 64-bit installing to the default directory (C:\Program Files (x86)\MagicTG) and I can't launch the launcher or Shandalar yet everything else works fine. Anyone else run into this problem and if so how do I fix it?
I was running Windows 7 64-bit home and had this same problem. Everything works fine except the launcher and shandalar. And luckily I found the fix just yesterday.

The trick is, to include MTGlauncher.exe and Shandalar.exe as exceptions to Window 7's Data Execution Prevention(DEP).

Note: You must have administrator access to do this

Go to My computer > Right click it and click Properties
At the left part of your window click > remote setttings
Click the Advanced Tab
Under Performance > Click Settings (the uppermost most button)
Now Click the Data Execution Prevention (DEP) tab
Select
o Turn on DEP for all programs and services except those I select

click add, and browse your MagicTG Folder(Game installation folder) and select MTGlauncher.exe

click add again then select Shandalar.exe

I tested this myself and shandalar should now work fine on your Windows 7 system
Somebody by this man a beer or twelve! 8)

This should be mentioned in post #1 of this thread

Oh and Hi Huggy!

hip63 :P
hip63
Installer Guru
 
Posts: 30
Joined: 05 Mar 2009, 00:54
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: Microprose Magic the Gathering 2010 Custom Installer ISO

Postby CarlPH » 08 Sep 2011, 07:42

Sonic wrote:Somebody by this man a beer or twelve! 8)

This should be mentioned in post #1 of this thread

Oh and Hi Huggy!

hip63 :P
Thanks man, just sharing some info that others might find useful.
CarlPH
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 06 Jul 2011, 09:25
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Microprose Magic the Gathering 2010 Custom Installer ISO

Postby NetWalker2010 » 16 Sep 2011, 18:16

Hi everyone!

I have a problem with Shandalar and I think this is the place to ask.
First of all, big BIG thanks for the amazing work. I have been dreaming with windows 7 version for my entire life. I play this since 12 years ago. It has been just amazing to find all of you and your work.

Well, now, my problem. I start a new game in Shandalar (I installed Microprose Magic the Gathering 2010 Custom Installer ISO, the patch and I did the DEP things). I play one or two duels against some enemies, buy some cards and the save and exit.
I load the game (later) and load my previos saved game. Ok, no problem. Then I speak with an ancient, and for my surprise, he said something like "Thank you for defeating all the Lords and bla bla..." I didn't fight with any lord in any castle! There is no enemies making siege in the village or something. Is like if I have win the game.

I tried several times, but no way. At first, I thought it was because of the deck injector. Yes, I use it the first time... I have been a bad cheater guy :-). But it has no interference...

Any ideas?

Thanks a lot in advance.
NetWalker2010
NetWalker2010
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 16 Sep 2011, 18:07
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Microprose Magic the Gathering 2010 Custom Installer ISO

Postby shandalar2010 » 01 Oct 2011, 09:25

This is a great game! I still have my cardboard Aswan Jaguar.
Could someone please post a megaupload link for the Microprose 2010 repack?

Thanks!
shandalar2010
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 01 Oct 2011, 08:48
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Microprose Magic the Gathering 2010 Custom Installer ISO

Postby RUMc » 02 Oct 2011, 07:46

Hello,
i have question about Mana Links in Shandalar - searched forum & read manual but it didnt gave a straightforward answer.

After starting a game i had 10hp and after few duels and quests i gained Mana Link in 1 city - so 11hp, hurrey. But then Witch sieged other one on the far side of the map and i didnt make it on time so she mana domed it and i lost 1hp despite that i didnt have the mana link there!
I've recovered the city but the lost 1 Hp did not return!
(i have tested it waiting for another siege and it happened again)

Question: is it some kind of punishment for loosing city for a momment ? Or is it a bug?

Please help.
RUMc
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 02 Oct 2011, 07:13
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Microprose Magic the Gathering 2010 Custom Installer ISO

Postby Sonic » 04 Oct 2011, 14:11

To all the above.

Sorry guys, but as we mention in the first post of the thread, Shandalar still has many unfixable bugs - most left over from it's original Microprose days.

:(
Working On: Life, the Universe, and Everything.
User avatar
Sonic
Apprentice
 
Posts: 827
Joined: 27 Feb 2010, 00:37
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 160 times

Re: Microprose Magic the Gathering 2010 Custom Installer ISO

Postby shandalar2010 » 06 Oct 2011, 22:51

Megaupload link for Microprose MTG 2010 please.
shandalar2010
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 01 Oct 2011, 08:48
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Microprose Magic the Gathering 2010 Custom Installer ISO

Postby Sonic » 07 Oct 2011, 00:30

shandalar2010 wrote:Megaupload link for Microprose MTG 2010 please.
All the links to the game and updates are in the first post of this thread.
Working On: Life, the Universe, and Everything.
User avatar
Sonic
Apprentice
 
Posts: 827
Joined: 27 Feb 2010, 00:37
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 160 times

Re: Microprose Magic the Gathering 2010 Custom Installer ISO

Postby shandalar2010 » 07 Oct 2011, 01:07

I saw those links, but I can't get files through mediafire or torrent. :(
shandalar2010
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 01 Oct 2011, 08:48
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Microprose Magic the Gathering 2010 Custom Installer ISO

Postby jiansonz » 08 Oct 2011, 13:18

RUMc wrote:Hello,
i have question about Mana Links in Shandalar - searched forum & read manual but it didnt gave a straightforward answer.

After starting a game i had 10hp and after few duels and quests i gained Mana Link in 1 city - so 11hp, hurrey. But then Witch sieged other one on the far side of the map and i didnt make it on time so she mana domed it and i lost 1hp despite that i didnt have the mana link there!
I've recovered the city but the lost 1 Hp did not return!
(i have tested it waiting for another siege and it happened again)

Question: is it some kind of punishment for loosing city for a momment ? Or is it a bug?

Please help.
You start the game having 10 mana links. These are the cities that have white text on the map. The ones you can gain mana links from have yellow text.

I am pretty sure that the city the Witch took over had one of your original 10 mana links.

After you have freed a city, you need to re-establish a mana link to that city. Look in the surrounding villages for a quest to get it back.
jiansonz
 
Posts: 211
Joined: 24 Feb 2010, 02:36
Has thanked: 35 times
Been thanked: 81 times

Re: Microprose Magic the Gathering 2010 Custom Installer ISO

Postby Sonic » 10 Oct 2011, 21:58

shandalar2010 wrote:I saw those links, but I can't get files through mediafire or torrent. :(
Anybody in the forum got a Megaupload account, who can upload the ISO files for shandalar2010?
Working On: Life, the Universe, and Everything.
User avatar
Sonic
Apprentice
 
Posts: 827
Joined: 27 Feb 2010, 00:37
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 160 times

PreviousNext

Return to Shandalar

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


Who is online

In total there are 2 users online :: 0 registered, 0 hidden and 2 guests (based on users active over the past 10 minutes)
Most users ever online was 1371 on 09 Feb 2020, 16:22

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

Login Form