It is currently 24 Aug 2019, 15:30
   
Text Size

Shandalar 2012 Revisited

MicroProse's Shandalar Campaign Game, now with new cards & a new look!

Moderators: BAgate, drool66, stassy, Aswan jaguar, gmzombie, CCGHQ Admins

Re: Shandalar 2012 Install

Postby HarlequinCasts » 14 Oct 2013, 10:25

jsv wrote:Yep, Shandalar 2012 installation is standalone, you do not need magic 2010 iso to run it.

On my Win 7 machines Play_Shandalar.cmd never worked, but simply running Shandalar.exe from the Program subfolder works without any problems.
Was having a problem where Play_Shandalar.cmd would just produce a windows "program not responding" error and crash. Was installed to C:\Shandalar\

Running Shandalar.exe as Administrator from the program folder did allow the game to launch successfully. Thanks!
User avatar
HarlequinCasts
 
Posts: 912
Joined: 07 May 2013, 14:33
Has thanked: 68 times
Been thanked: 29 times

Re: Shandalar 2012 Install

Postby ShadowcatX » 15 Oct 2013, 15:51

I wanted to say thank you for this. I've only installed the basic game, wanting to play around and get familiar with it before modding it, and already I'm having great fun. So thank you for sharing the files and thank everyone who worked on them.
ShadowcatX
 
Posts: 8
Joined: 10 Oct 2013, 16:05
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Shandalar 2012 Install

Postby dav3yb » 16 Oct 2013, 03:44

First of all, thank you to anyone who helped work on this game. I loved shandalar back when i first got into magic, it was so epic.

So i recently downloaded the 2010 game iso and installed it. When running shandalar, it runs full screen, but its in a 1024x768 window, and the rest of the screen is just black. is there some config file one can edit to get it to fill out the entire screen?

even if i could just get the game centered in my display i'd be fine with that i think, but is aligns it left and top. This isn't a major issue on my laptop with a smaller resolution, but on my main computer with a 1920x1200 monitor its a bit out of the way.

thanks again!

to add: the shandalar 2012 release does just fine, but i'd like to be able to use the main game launcher to load everything.
dav3yb
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 16 Oct 2013, 03:38
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Shandalar 2012 Install

Postby Milosz006 » 17 Oct 2013, 02:10

I'm having a couple problems:

1. I can't get the player health to show up, the text is missing

2. How do I get the original-only card art for Shandalar 2012? I tried deleting all the extra images but that made the game load blanks instead

3. Is there any way to run the game in windowed mode or with a larger resolution?

Thanks for any help!
Milosz006
 
Posts: 9
Joined: 17 Sep 2011, 17:44
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Shandalar 2012 Install

Postby Milosz006 » 18 Oct 2013, 00:42

I installed a previous version of Shandalar 2012 (delta) and it fixed the missing text problem. I then tried to delete that folder and it mentioned "TT0085M_.ttf was still in use" and I realized it was a font file. Presumably that file is missing from the gamma version of Shandalar 2012.

EDIT: after deleting the delta install the life totals went away again, apparently I didn't figure out the problem after all :|
EDIT2: reinstalling the delta version brought the text back, I have no idea why
Milosz006
 
Posts: 9
Joined: 17 Sep 2011, 17:44
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Shandalar 2012 Install

Postby admanb » 18 Oct 2013, 17:12

Has anyone ever dealt with save file corruption? I have a save file that freezes the game as soon as I click on it.
admanb
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 18 Oct 2013, 17:11
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Shandalar 2012 Install

Postby Huggybaby » 18 Oct 2013, 17:33

I seem to remember this happening to me. That's why you have to save frequently.
User avatar
Huggybaby
Administrator
 
Posts: 3083
Joined: 15 Jan 2006, 19:44
Location: Finally out of Atlanta
Has thanked: 582 times
Been thanked: 573 times

Re: Shandalar 2012 Install

Postby admanb » 18 Oct 2013, 18:39

And in separate slots, I guess. :(
admanb
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 18 Oct 2013, 17:11
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Shandalar 2012 Install

Postby Huggybaby » 18 Oct 2013, 18:44

Yep, you have to use different slots.
User avatar
Huggybaby
Administrator
 
Posts: 3083
Joined: 15 Jan 2006, 19:44
Location: Finally out of Atlanta
Has thanked: 582 times
Been thanked: 573 times

Re: Shandalar 2012 Install

Postby KULTpc » 22 Oct 2013, 13:12

Hi, a couple of months ago, Camrod asked the following question i have been curious about all this time by myself, sadly there is no reply as of today:
"Are the cut scenes where the wizards would get hit by a bolt after defeating an enemy [...] in this version?"

As far as i can tell, the animation files are still contained in the Shandalar 2012 installation. However, trying to activate them in the WizStat-screen by right-click pop-up menu yields no effect. Since CirothUngol's description is not clear about this, does anybody knows definitely?
PS: Thanks to all developers for their awesome work!
KULTpc
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 22 Oct 2013, 12:40
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Shandalar 2012 Install

Postby Balathus » 09 Nov 2013, 23:07

Cleric is bugged or something. Throw me 6 swords to plowshares in the same game. Was soooo annoying.
Balathus
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 29 Oct 2013, 23:36
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Shandalar 2012 Install

Postby benbadben1 » 23 Dec 2013, 17:34

I know im probably really stupid but i cant find the exe file. Can you let me know exactly where it is please. I have been looking for this game for ages.

Thank you, you will make my christmas if i can download this

sonia
benbadben1
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 23 Dec 2013, 17:30
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Shandalar 2012 Install

Postby Huggybaby » 03 May 2014, 19:08

Hey CirothUngol, did you ever scan the manual? I seem to remember a clean, non-HOTU version being linked around here somewhere but I could be wrong.
User avatar
Huggybaby
Administrator
 
Posts: 3083
Joined: 15 Jan 2006, 19:44
Location: Finally out of Atlanta
Has thanked: 582 times
Been thanked: 573 times

Re: Shandalar 2012 Install

Postby KULTpc » 16 May 2014, 14:40

Hi, since it seems i am not the only one with this problem, i humble dare to ask a second time about the ingame animations, i.e. the .avi vids from the StatWin folder.
1) Are these animations supposed to play ingame in Shandalar 2012_delta? This isn't 100% clear to me even considering posts from the old 'animation not working' thread.
2) If so, are there any things to do to activate/deactivate them apart from the SoundToggler which, on my system, affects ingame sounds only. (The original rightclick game menu in the WizStatScreen has no effects as well.)
3) If yes and no, are there any known issues concerning the animations on a Win7x32 system?
Everything else is working fine, i tried several installations in different paths, installed cccp video codecs, did forum search, damn, i even read the Readme! Please, let me die in peace...
KULTpc
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 22 Oct 2013, 12:40
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Shandalar 2012 Install

Postby gmzombie » 20 May 2014, 14:32

Do the vids play outside of shandalar? If so then it might just be something wrong with shandalar or if they don't then it could be Windows 7.
can I maze of ith your snowstorm?

http://home.comcast.net/~gmzombie/index.html old stuff in here. don't use this stuff right now till I get time to get back into it and readjust.
gmzombie
 
Posts: 855
Joined: 26 Feb 2009, 01:05
Location: Wyoming, Mi
Has thanked: 199 times
Been thanked: 50 times

PreviousNext

Return to Shandalar

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests

cron

Who is online

In total there are 4 users online :: 0 registered, 0 hidden and 4 guests (based on users active over the past 10 minutes)
Most users ever online was 287 on 31 Mar 2019, 04:11

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests

Login Form