It is currently 19 Apr 2024, 20:01

Text Size

Thoughts about Magarena

Moderators: ubeefx, beholder, melvin, ShawnieBoy, Lodici, CCGHQ Admins

Thoughts about Magarena

Postby VladVoivode » 06 Jan 2015, 12:52

Hi all,

I was on another forum and a member was complaining that Magarena has a lousy AI (NOT true) and that it isn't "real" M:TG - in my opinion ALSO not true. I am not a Magarena developer just a person who loves the game and I thought I would share my thoughts about this superb game for anyone who is confused as to what it's all about. Don't judge a book by its cover is a venerable trope that is appropriate here.

Magarena's site will tell you that the game "is based upon a well known collectible card game." I surmise that some people miss the "based upon" part of the statement. Magarena introduces a few rules that are not "canonical" but that does not mean it is not M:TG. Manalink 3.0 has an interesting mode called SPAT which really upends canonical MTG but is nonetheless a blast to play.

Back to Magarena. The way I play it is by using the deck generator to create random decks based upon parameters I choose. While there are pre-made decks and you CAN create your own decks, for me, the random decks are the way to really enjoy this tough and smart game that loves to punch your face. Kudos to Ubeefx, Melvin, Shawnie Boy, and others who develop this brilliant game!