It is currently 22 Nov 2025, 13:28
   
Text Size

[still bugged]Juggernaut & co vs. Propaganda & co

Report wrong Card behavior to get it fixed.
PLEASE ADD SAVEGAMES TO YOUR TOPIC !

Moderators: Aswan jaguar, gmzombie, stassy, BAgate, drool66, CCGHQ Admins

[still bugged]Juggernaut & co vs. Propaganda & co

Postby Nexhro » 24 May 2014, 00:30

Describe the Bug:
If a player controls a creature with the "~ attacks each turn if able" ability and has no or not enough usable/untapped mana sources available while his/her opponent controls a Propaganda-esque enchantment, the game gets stuck during declare attackers step. Clicking "done" when the client asks for "declare attackers" doesn't do anything - it keeps asking. Clicking a creature with said ability prompts the "illegal attacker" help text.

Which card did behave improperly ?
Juggernaut style creatures in conjunction with Propaganda style static abilities.

Which update are you using?(date,name)Which type(Duel,Gauntlet,Sealed Deck)
JOU v1, duel

What exactly should be the correct behavior/interaction ?
The client lets the respective player skip the declare attackers step if he/she only controls creatures with the Juggernaut clause and has no (more) mana available.
If that player controls one or more creatures with and/or one or more creatures without the Juggernaut clause, he/she may choose if and what creatures he/she attacks with. This means he/she is not obliged to attack with Juggernaut if a card like Propaganda is on the opponent's side of the board. See rule excerpt:

508.1d The active player checks each creature he or she controls to see whether it's affected by any requirements (effects that say a creature must attack, or that it must attack if some condition is met). If the number of requirements that are being obeyed is fewer than the maximum possible number of requirements that could be obeyed without disobeying any restrictions, the declaration of attackers is illegal. If a creature can't attack unless a player pays a cost, that player is not required to pay that cost, even if attacking with that creature would increase the number of requirements being obeyed.
If there is a card like Dueling Grounds on the battlefield, a creature with the "attacks each turn if able" ability has to be declared as an attacker by the respective player. See also the example that is attached to the rule quoted above:

Example: A player controls two creatures: one that “attacks if able” and one with no abilities. An effect states “No more than one creature can attack each turn.” The only legal attack is for just the creature that “attacks if able” to attack. It’s illegal to attack with the other creature, attack with both, or attack with neither.
Are any other cards possibly affected by this bug ?
Tested Ghostly Prison -> same bug

Other creatures with the "~ attacks each turn if able" ability are likely affected. Examples: Ulamog's Crusher, Ruric Thar, the Unbowed, Dauthi Slayer, Bloodcrazed Neonate, Emberwilde Caliph, Tattermunge Maniac

I suspect Collective Restraint, Sphere of Safety, Windborn Muse, Elephant Grass and, to a lesser extent (not sure how the client handles the paying of life points when respective player is at 1/0 life), Norn's Annex to prompt the same result with said creatures.

When I tested Mogis's Warhound with Reverence, the client just skipped the combat steps entirely, so cards like Moat, Teferi's Moat, Ensnaring Bridge, Blazing Archon, Chronomantic Escape, Form of the Dragon, Island Sanctuary, or Peacekeeper are probably not affected, though (probably depending on whether or not they share code) might require testing on an individual basis.
This also likely applies to Auras like Pacifism or the Vow cycle (Vow of Duty etc.), and cards like Change of Heart, Orim's Chant, Oriss, Samite Guardian, Intimidation Bolt, Festival, Martyred Rusalka, or Netter en-Dal but I haven't tested any of those.

Also of note are cards like Crawlspace/Dueling Grounds/Silent Arbiter, of which only Crawlspace seems to be coded at the moment. What happens if the opposing player controls 3 or more creatures with the Juggernaut clause?
Attachments
MogWarProp1.zip
(3.49 KiB) Downloaded 272 times
Last edited by Aswan jaguar on 16 Feb 2017, 16:00, edited 6 times in total.
Reason: still bugged by BAgate-reconfirmed by me
User avatar
Nexhro
 
Posts: 1613
Joined: 23 Jan 2014, 18:08
Location: HRO, UTC +1
Has thanked: 78 times
Been thanked: 103 times

Re: [confirmed]Juggernaut & co vs. Propaganda & co

Postby Nexhro » 24 May 2014, 01:26

Checked Crawlspace and it worked as intended.

Now, can I get a cookie for this comprehensive report?
Attachments
JuggCrawl1.png
JuggCrawl2.png
User avatar
Nexhro
 
Posts: 1613
Joined: 23 Jan 2014, 18:08
Location: HRO, UTC +1
Has thanked: 78 times
Been thanked: 103 times

Re: [confirmed]Juggernaut & co vs. Propaganda & co

Postby Aswan jaguar » 24 May 2014, 06:06

In the case that you have mana to pay you are also obliged to pay the cost for Propaganda for Juggernaut and lookalikes. Manalink is forcing you to attack/pay which I don't thing is correct either, unless rules have changed lately.
---
Trying to squash some bugs and playtesting.
User avatar
Aswan jaguar
Super Tester Elite
 
Posts: 8144
Joined: 13 May 2010, 12:17
Has thanked: 751 times
Been thanked: 486 times

Re: [confirmed]Juggernaut & co vs. Propaganda & co

Postby Nexhro » 24 May 2014, 11:59

Aswan jaguar wrote:In the case that you have mana to pay you are also obliged to pay the cost for Propaganda for Juggernaut and lookalikes. Manalink is forcing you to attack/pay which I don't thing is correct either, unless rules have changed lately.
The rules haven't changed. See quoted rule taken from current comp rules document in report.
User avatar
Nexhro
 
Posts: 1613
Joined: 23 Jan 2014, 18:08
Location: HRO, UTC +1
Has thanked: 78 times
Been thanked: 103 times

Re: [confirmed]Juggernaut & co vs. Propaganda & co

Postby Gargaroz » 29 May 2014, 20:39

Fixed in 7cb44ef
----
- Current / medium term task: adjusting the code for making Misdirection and such usable
- Long term task: inserting all the good stuff I left out from the "Golden Years" mod
Gargaroz
Programmer
 
Posts: 7097
Joined: 06 Nov 2009, 11:11
Has thanked: 82 times
Been thanked: 595 times

Re: [still bugged]Juggernaut & co vs. Propaganda & co

Postby BAgate » 12 Oct 2014, 11:58

tested with Juggernaut and Ruric Thar, the Unbowed against both Propaganda and Sphere of Safety (separately).

Combat window automatically came up and wouldn't go away unless you attacked if you had mana available. If you did not have the mana then the combat window did not appear and you could proceed.
Working on: housekeeping and archived reports
User avatar
BAgate
Tester
 
Posts: 2444
Joined: 06 Mar 2012, 11:09
Has thanked: 117 times
Been thanked: 158 times

Re: [still bugged]Juggernaut & co vs. Propaganda & co

Postby Aswan jaguar » 26 Nov 2015, 05:13

Maybe fixed,careful testing for them is needed:
viewtopic.php?f=86&t=17699#p189294
---
Trying to squash some bugs and playtesting.
User avatar
Aswan jaguar
Super Tester Elite
 
Posts: 8144
Joined: 13 May 2010, 12:17
Has thanked: 751 times
Been thanked: 486 times

Re: [fixed]Juggernaut & co vs. Propaganda & co

Postby BAgate » 29 Dec 2015, 12:12

Nope, still requires you to attack if you have the mana available.
Working on: housekeeping and archived reports
User avatar
BAgate
Tester
 
Posts: 2444
Joined: 06 Mar 2012, 11:09
Has thanked: 117 times
Been thanked: 158 times


Return to Bug Reports

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 67 guests

Main Menu

User Menu

Our Partners


Who is online

In total there are 67 users online :: 0 registered, 0 hidden and 67 guests (based on users active over the past 10 minutes)
Most users ever online was 9824 on 10 Nov 2025, 04:33

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 67 guests

Login Form