Page 1 of 1

[confirmed] X casting cost and X target spells

PostPosted: 12 Dec 2013, 00:29
by PGM
Describe the Bug:
AI has 6 mana, I have 2.
AI FIREBALLs me and 2 creatures (3 targets, 1 damage each) and I am able to FORK him back for 80 damage (1 target).

Which card did behave improperly ?
Fork

Which update are you using?(date,name)Which type(Duel,Gauntlet,Sealed Deck)
Manalink update 16/11/2013 : Portals to Theros
Gauntlet

What exactly should be the correct behavior/interaction ?
Fork must copy Fireball exactly (X value and number of targets).

Are any other cards possibly affected by this bug ?
N/A

Re: Fork + Fireball

PostPosted: 12 Dec 2013, 01:19
by Korath
Almost certainly wrong for Drain Life, too, and very likely all X spells that call charge_mana() themselves to find X rather than setting it in the spell's cost.

The way the exe version of Fork deals with this is by setting land_can_be_played |= LCBP_CARD_BEING_COPIED just before put_card_in_play and removing it just after. Fireball and Drain Life check for it specifically and copy their number of targets and X from the copied card, rather than determining them normally. Other exe X spells like Disintegrate, thankfully, ignore it entirely.

LCBP_BEING_COPIED also makes charge_mana() just return without doing anything else.

Modal spells (like entwine ones, or all those horrid split cards) also should be copied in the same mode and aren't, but that's another headache entirely.

Re: [confirmed]Fork + Fireball

PostPosted: 02 Jan 2014, 18:25
by PGM
Not sure if I should open a new topic or if it's the same problem. Fork + Goblin Grenade, Fork fizzled probably because I didn't have a 2nd goblin to sacrifice.

Re: [confirmed]Fork + Fireball

PostPosted: 02 Jan 2014, 22:44
by BAgate
Probably the reason, but it shouldn't. The first ruling for Fork is: "When a spell with additional costs is copied, you don't have to pay those costs again."