Page 1 of 1

[confirmed]Omniscience + morph creatures

PostPosted: 19 Jul 2014, 14:38
by Nexhro
Describe the Bug:
When a player controlling Omniscience attempts to cast a creature with Morph, he she is asked to pay mana after selecting mode (morph/normal).

Which card did behave improperly ?
Omniscience + morph

Which update are you using?(date,name)Which type(Duel,Gauntlet,Sealed Deck)
JOU, duel

What exactly should be the correct behavior/interaction ?
creatures with morph can be cast without paying their mana costs when their owner controls Omniscience.

Are any other cards possibly affected by this bug ?
-

Re: [confirmed]Omniscience + morph creatures

PostPosted: 20 Jul 2014, 09:25
by BAgate
You are only asked for colored mana, not colorless (ex. Akroma, Angel of Fury asks you for RRR, not 5RRR).

Re: [confirmed]Omniscience + morph creatures

PostPosted: 20 Jul 2014, 09:38
by Aswan jaguar
Also if you have less than 3 mana available so normally you can't pay for morph but you have Omniscience (so spells cast with morph also through it must be free)spells are played for free without asking any mana to pay BUT you can cast them ONLY normally as you are never asked to cast them normally or with morph.

Re: [check new update]Omniscience + morph creatures

PostPosted: 17 Dec 2016, 12:00
by Aswan jaguar
Omniscience now doesn't ask for extra mana when you cast morph or megamorph cards either normal or face down so this is fixed.

When you cast through Omniscience spells with morph or megamorph and you don't have 3 or more mana available then you don't get prompt how to cast them (normally or face down) and they always get cast normally. wrong see 2 posts below this.

Re: [confirmed]Omniscience + morph creatures

PostPosted: 18 Dec 2016, 02:52
by BAgate
I don't think that is how it supposed to work. A ruling for Omniscience says you can't pay an alternative cost when not paying mana costs, and morph is an alternative cost. So Morph should still cost 3, and currently is free.

Re: [confirmed]Omniscience + morph creatures

PostPosted: 18 Dec 2016, 07:28
by Aswan jaguar
1/7/2012 If you cast a card “without paying its mana cost,” you can’t pay any alternative costs. You can pay additional costs such as kicker costs. If the card has mandatory additional costs, you must pay those.

You are right I misinterpreted the above ruling.So either you cast it through Omniscience for free or you cast with morph.Omniscience shouldn't even give you the choice to cast it with morph which is an alternative cost.

Re: [confirmed]Omniscience + morph creatures

PostPosted: 18 Dec 2016, 14:10
by Korath
Related to that, handy morph/manifest cheat sheet I've been keeping an eye on and dreading having to implement.