Page 1 of 1

Necrotic Ooze swamp for creature names

PostPosted: 07 Jul 2018, 11:11
by Aswan jaguar
Describe the Bug:
1- Necrotic Ooze doesn't have activated mana abilities of creatures in graveyard.
2- When you activate it you get a menu with a Swamp (for each creature) with activated abilities of creatures in graveyard. or cancel.
3- I am not sure about this but if you activate an ability like Thraben Gargoyle with Necrotic Ooze nothing happens. Shouldn't Necrotic Ooze be transformed to Stonewing Antagonizer? Thraben Gargoyle // Stonewing Antagonizer wrong
Which card did behave improperly?
Necrotic Ooze

Which update are you using? (date, name)Which type? (duel, gauntlet, sealed deck)
Manalink dev 778ccb5 version - duel

What exactly should be the correct behavior/interaction?
1- Necrotic Ooze has activated mana abilities of creatures in graveyard.
2- When you activate it you get a menu with names of the creatures with activated abilities in all graveyards.
3- If I get below ruling right it should transform as the ability becomes "Transform Necrotic Ooze." from "Transform Thraben Gargoyle."wrong:
1/1/2011 If an activated ability of a card in a graveyard references the card it’s printed on by name, treat Necrotic Ooze’s version of that ability as though it referenced Necrotic Ooze by name instead. For example, if Cudgel Troll (which says “Green: Regenerate Cudgel Troll”) is in a graveyard, Necrotic Ooze has the ability “Green: Regenerate Necrotic Ooze.”
Are any other cards possibly affected by this bug?
-

Re: Necrotic Ooze swamp for creature names

PostPosted: 07 Jul 2018, 13:37
by Korath
3: No.

Rule 701.27c: If a spell or ability instructs a player to transform a permanent that isn't represented by a double-faced card, nothing happens.

So that ability would only do something if the card was a dfc that had been made into a copy of Necrotic Ooze. It still wouldn't have any visible effect until the copy effect wore off.

The ruling you quote is because WOTC (almost always) templates "this card" as [cardname] - the effect is to "regenerate this", not "find some Cudgel Troll somewhere and regenerate it". Likewise, the transform ability is still " {6}: Transform this card", it just doesn't do anything when it resolves because of 701.27c.