Page 1 of 1

[fixed]Gaea's Touch 1st activates once per game+prompt mana

PostPosted: 13 Oct 2018, 11:52
by Aswan jaguar
Describe the Bug:
1- Gaea's Touch ability to put a forest in play can't be selected, never highlights as available.
2- Prompts all the time to sac for {G} {G} even if you have still untapped lands to provide green mana, if you autotap to cast the spell.
Which card did behave improperly?
Gaea's Touch

Which update are you using? (date, name)Which type? (duel, gauntlet, sealed deck)
Manalink dev 778ccb5 version - duel

What exactly should be the correct behavior/interaction?
1- Gaea's Touch ability to put a basic forest in play can be selected as long as you have a forest available and it is the first time you activate each turn.
2- Doesn't prompt all the time to sac for {G} {G} if you have still untapped lands to provide green mana, or other mana producers that don't need to be sacrificed.

Also keep in mind that puts in play so:
2/1/2014 The land enters the battlefield directly from your hand, but it is not “played”. This means it does not count towards the number of lands played this turn and doesn’t trigger abilities that would trigger if the Forest had been played.

Are any other cards possibly affected by this bug?
-

Re: Gaea's Touch can't activate ability forest in play.

PostPosted: 24 Jun 2019, 20:01
by travolter
Confirmed bug with Manalink dev version 250c78bd updated 11-5-19

Re: Gaea's Touch can't activate ability forest in play.

PostPosted: 22 Sep 2019, 15:53
by Aswan jaguar
Fixed can't activate forest ability in commit bd4279b7 and that revealed a bug that it can only activate the ability once in a game.

Re: Gaea's Touch 1st activates once per game+prompt mana all

PostPosted: 08 May 2021, 10:38
by Aswan jaguar
Fixed activates once per game in commit 64f7b0 not pushed due to connect to server issues.

Re: Gaea's Touch 1st activates once per game+prompt mana all

PostPosted: 23 Aug 2021, 14:33
by drool66
I've come up with a pretty elegant solution to the autotapping issue. This takes care of the fetchlands activating while autotapping for mana as well! Before I commit, can you think of any other cards we don't want to autotap for mana like this, just off the top of your head? Even if it's only under certain circumstances?

Re: Gaea's Touch 1st activates once per game+prompt mana all

PostPosted: 23 Aug 2021, 17:44
by Aswan jaguar
This will need some testing and thinking. I know that AI taps in response to human moves some times mana artifacts and other cards without a purpose and just burns mana but I don't know if that is because of auto-tapping or a totally different bug.

Re: Gaea's Touch 1st activates once per game+prompt mana all

PostPosted: 23 Aug 2021, 18:58
by drool66
So what I did is define a new event, I called it EVENT_DONT_AUTOTAP, and have the cards return 1 if they are not to autotap, then check for it in autotap_mana_source(). So Gaea's Touch returns 1 in all conditions, and fetchlands return 1 if !mana_colors_added[player] (ie if they can't produce mana, which is most of the time). It could be made a little more sophisticated, say, to return 1<<1 (using enums of course) for "only auto-activate in an autotap situation if the mana is needed", or any other behavior we can think of. And then probably also change the event to something like "EVENT_AUTOTAP_BEHAVIOR"

Re: Gaea's Touch 1st activates once per game+prompt mana all

PostPosted: 23 Aug 2021, 19:29
by Korath
Wouldn't it be simpler just to flag the cards STATE_NO_AUTO_TAPPING as they etb (or resolve, or get put on the stack), like Gemstone Array and Iceberg do for the AI?

Re: Gaea's Touch 1st activates once per game+prompt mana all

PostPosted: 23 Aug 2021, 23:04
by drool66
Yes - it saves us the event and can be toggled by the user, plus it uses an existing system. Only thing is I can imagine the bug reports of a mysterious blue border on all the fetchlands - probably not reason enough not to do it this way though. Thank you

EDIT committed in 2ba5e04