It is currently 22 May 2025, 07:08
   
Text Size

myk's code contributions

Post MTG Forge Related Programming Questions Here

Moderators: timmermac, Blacksmith, KrazyTheFox, Agetian, friarsol, CCGHQ Admins

Re: myk's code contributions

Postby moomarc » 20 Feb 2013, 09:40

myk wrote:One more thing, could someone close issue 654 at cardforge?
Issue closed.
-Marc
User avatar
moomarc
Pixel Commander
 
Posts: 2091
Joined: 04 Jun 2010, 15:22
Location: Johannesburg, South Africa
Has thanked: 371 times
Been thanked: 372 times

Re: myk's code contributions

Postby myk » 20 Feb 2013, 18:49

Max mtg wrote:bugs #6 - Older version of deck editor copied the deck on load. On 'save' event editor called forge.util.storage.IStorage.add(T) with the changed deck as parameter. The reference to deck's storage was saved along with the deck. The storage at the moment returns decks without copying them... should i add that feature?
When you add this, is it going to break existing functionality until the editor saving algorithms are adjusted? If so, perhaps you could just post the diff here and I can check it in simultaneously with the associated editor modifications?
myk
 
Posts: 439
Joined: 17 Jan 2013, 02:39
Location: California
Has thanked: 38 times
Been thanked: 57 times

Re: myk's code contributions

Postby Max mtg » 21 Feb 2013, 08:27

Looks like I won't be able to copy objects when returning them from storage. Storage is not specific about what it holds and it will be problematic to add a special behaviour dedicated to decks.

Looks like copying-on-load is done already in forge.gui.deckeditor.tables.DeckController.load(String), but I can't figure out how to execute that branch of code.
Single class for single responsibility.
Max mtg
Programmer
 
Posts: 1997
Joined: 02 Jul 2011, 14:26
Has thanked: 173 times
Been thanked: 334 times

Re: myk's code contributions

Postby Max mtg » 21 Feb 2013, 08:37

I've found the trails!

Look at the all decks tab now, that's what was intended there. But why was it disabled?
Single class for single responsibility.
Max mtg
Programmer
 
Posts: 1997
Joined: 02 Jul 2011, 14:26
Has thanked: 173 times
Been thanked: 334 times

Re: myk's code contributions

Postby Chris H. » 21 Feb 2013, 13:19

myk wrote:I added in a margin -- it looks much better now. Keep the suggestions coming!
 
Yeah, it does looks better. Granted, the text "How to Play" file is out of date.

myk wrote:I added a new error viewer/bug reporter dialog. I could use some feedback on that as well. Does the browser interaction work for everybody? Is the forum post template good? Does the hyperlink work in the help text in the upper portion? If everything looks good, I'll go purge the mantis dependencies from the pom.

One note, the code there used some localized strings and constants. I noticed the localization system isn't exactly maintained, and the constants aren't exactly centralized. I put the URLs and strings directly in the code for now, but where should they be moved? See the _showDialog() method in r19764 to see what I mean.
 
The new error viewer/bug reporter dialog looks nice. Is this now functional?

Silly Freak added the localized strings and constants a long time ago and has not been able to maintain it over the long haul. It might be worth considering removing this type of feature as it is difficult to keep it going for very long.
User avatar
Chris H.
Forge Moderator
 
Posts: 6320
Joined: 04 Nov 2008, 12:11
Location: Mac OS X Yosemite
Has thanked: 644 times
Been thanked: 643 times

Re: myk's code contributions

Postby myk » 21 Feb 2013, 21:50

Chris H. wrote:The new error viewer/bug reporter dialog looks nice. Is this now functional?
It should be. Tell me if you have any problems with it. The 'copy and go to forum' button should take you to the snapshots bug reports thread for SVN builds and the Forge forum for release builds.
Silly Freak added the localized strings and constants a long time ago and has not been able to maintain it over the long haul. It might be worth considering removing this type of feature as it is difficult to keep it going for very long.
I added it to my shortlist to remove the localization. It is a lot of work to maintain something like that.
myk
 
Posts: 439
Joined: 17 Jan 2013, 02:39
Location: California
Has thanked: 38 times
Been thanked: 57 times

Re: myk's code contributions

Postby Chris H. » 22 Feb 2013, 01:34

myk wrote:It should be. Tell me if you have any problems with it. The 'copy and go to forum' button should take you to the snapshots bug reports thread for SVN builds and the Forge forum for release builds.
 
I pressed the Report a Bug button and it appears to work as planned. It opened a tab on Safari, nice work.
User avatar
Chris H.
Forge Moderator
 
Posts: 6320
Joined: 04 Nov 2008, 12:11
Location: Mac OS X Yosemite
Has thanked: 644 times
Been thanked: 643 times

Re: myk's code contributions

Postby myk » 22 Feb 2013, 06:37

Chris H. wrote:I pressed the Report a Bug button and it appears to work as planned. It opened a tab on Safari, nice work.
Thx : ) I haven't had a chance to test that the URL for releases is used correctly, though. What is the procedure for building a release locally?
myk
 
Posts: 439
Joined: 17 Jan 2013, 02:39
Location: California
Has thanked: 38 times
Been thanked: 57 times

Re: myk's code contributions

Postby Chris H. » 22 Feb 2013, 14:12

myk wrote:Thx : ) I haven't had a chance to test that the URL for releases is used correctly, though. What is the procedure for building a release locally?
 
I use a Maven command to build a local release. Eclipse will display a selection of Maven commands, do you see something similar in NetBeans?

This Maven Goal will build locally but will not deploy to cardforge.

Code: Select all
-U -B clean install -P windows-linux,osx
 
Note that this builds both the windows + linux version and the mac version.

The goal

Code: Select all
-U -B clean -P windows-linux install
 
will build a snapshot package build of the Windows/Linux package only.

These commands only build the snapshot build. The beta releases are more complicated as it adjusts the pom file as part of the process.

If NetBeans does not give you access to the Maven commands then you will need to use a shell script/command file:

Code: Select all
#!/bin/sh
cd /Users/your user name/path to Workspace/project name/
-U -B clean -P windows-linux install
User avatar
Chris H.
Forge Moderator
 
Posts: 6320
Joined: 04 Nov 2008, 12:11
Location: Mac OS X Yosemite
Has thanked: 644 times
Been thanked: 643 times

Re: myk's code contributions

Postby myk » 22 Feb 2013, 21:36

thx! I tested it out with an "official" snapshot build. I can wait for the next release to test the 'release' url.
myk
 
Posts: 439
Joined: 17 Jan 2013, 02:39
Location: California
Has thanked: 38 times
Been thanked: 57 times

Re: myk's code contributions

Postby myk » 26 Feb 2013, 06:04

I found a bit of dead code while I was going through the gui screens. Is it alright if I remove GuiMigrateLocalMWSSetPicturesHQ, or is this likely to be used again soon?
myk
 
Posts: 439
Joined: 17 Jan 2013, 02:39
Location: California
Has thanked: 38 times
Been thanked: 57 times

Re: myk's code contributions

Postby moomarc » 26 Feb 2013, 06:15

myk wrote:I found a bit of dead code while I was going through the gui screens. Is it alright if I remove GuiMigrateLocalMWSSetPicturesHQ, or is this likely to be used again soon?
I reckon it can probably go. IIRC, it grabbed the first card it came across (for each card name) from your HQ folders, then dropped a copy of it in your root Pics folder.
-Marc
User avatar
moomarc
Pixel Commander
 
Posts: 2091
Joined: 04 Jun 2010, 15:22
Location: Johannesburg, South Africa
Has thanked: 371 times
Been thanked: 372 times

Re: myk's code contributions

Postby myk » 26 Feb 2013, 07:15

done in r19887. thx!
myk
 
Posts: 439
Joined: 17 Jan 2013, 02:39
Location: California
Has thanked: 38 times
Been thanked: 57 times

Re: myk's code contributions

Postby Max mtg » 26 Feb 2013, 18:17

myk wrote:Bugs to fix:
* don't propagate changes to current deck when you select 'no' at the save prompt waiting for infrastructure
How do I reproduce this one?
Single class for single responsibility.
Max mtg
Programmer
 
Posts: 1997
Joined: 02 Jul 2011, 14:26
Has thanked: 173 times
Been thanked: 334 times

Re: myk's code contributions

Postby myk » 26 Feb 2013, 20:05

this bug is specific to quest mode:
  • create a deck, save
  • open deck for editing by clicking on the 'edit' icon in the quest decks submenu
  • add a card, exit editor, choose not to save
  • notice card count has changed for that deck (expected: no change)
  • edit the deck again and see the unsaved change has been persisted (expected: no persistence)
myk
 
Posts: 439
Joined: 17 Jan 2013, 02:39
Location: California
Has thanked: 38 times
Been thanked: 57 times

PreviousNext

Return to Developer's Corner

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 22 guests


Who is online

In total there are 22 users online :: 0 registered, 0 hidden and 22 guests (based on users active over the past 10 minutes)
Most users ever online was 4143 on 23 Jan 2024, 08:21

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 22 guests

Login Form