It is currently 15 May 2025, 18:06
   
Text Size

Forge Beta: 04-26-2013 ver 1.3.13

Moderators: timmermac, Blacksmith, KrazyTheFox, Agetian, friarsol, CCGHQ Admins

Re: Forge Beta: 04-26-2013 ver 1.3.13

Postby Diogenes » 02 May 2013, 01:17

Just want to point out that you can edit the paths which Forge uses for images and the like. If you want to keep roughly the same directory structure Forge has used up until now, open the file "forge.profile.properties.example" in a text editor and alter the values so that they look like this:

userDir=./User/
cacheDir=./Cache/
cardPicsDir=./Pics/

Also, the following line, which is insanely long:

Code: Select all
cardPicsSubDirs=LEA->LEA|LEB->LEB|2ED->2ED|ARN->ARN|ATQ->ATQ|3ED->3ED|LEG->LEG|DRK->DRK|FEM->FEM|4ED->4ED|ICE->ICE|CHR->CHR|HML->HML|ALL->ALL|MIR->MIR|VIS->VIS|5ED->5ED|POR->POR|WTH->WTH|TMP->TMP|STH->STH|EXO->EXO|PO2->PO2|USG->USG|ULG->ULG|6ED->6ED|UDS->UDS|PTK->PTK|S99->S99|MMQ->MMQ|NMS->NMS|S00->S00|PCY->PCY|INV->INV|PLS->PLS|7ED->7ED|APC->APC|ODY->ODY|TOR->TOR|JUD->JUD|ONS->ONS|LGN->LGN|SCG->SCG|8ED->8ED|MRD->MRD|DST->DST|5DN->5DN|9ED->9ED|GPT->GPT|CSP->CSP|HOP->HOP|MBP->MBP
Then save the file as "forge.profile.properties". Note that tokens will have been moved to "Cache\pics\tokens" and are not found in "Pics\tokens" for whatever reason.
Diogenes
 
Posts: 201
Joined: 12 Jul 2012, 00:54
Has thanked: 39 times
Been thanked: 23 times

Re: Forge Beta: 04-26-2013 ver 1.3.13

Postby maxthebest1 » 02 May 2013, 08:42

Now for the result of the bugs :

2)
Ai Bug: I casted Power of fire so my creature could do 1 dmg to opponent per tap.
the ai didnt respond so he just stood afk, and got hit by it 20 times and died.
he had a defensive deck, he didnt attack me once in 20 turns.

3)
Description: Winning a game causes this bug:

NullPointerException | Open
Code: Select all
Forge Version:    1.3.13-r21215
Operating System: Windows XP 5.1 x86
Java Version:     1.7.0_17 Oracle Corporation

java.lang.NullPointerException
   at forge.card.cardfactory.CardFactoryUtil.getCardListForXCount(CardFactoryUtil.java:1632)
   at forge.card.cardfactory.CardFactoryUtil.xCount(CardFactoryUtil.java:1580)
   at forge.card.ability.AbilityUtils.xCount(AbilityUtils.java:1245)
   at forge.card.ability.AbilityUtils.calculateAmount(AbilityUtils.java:349)
   at forge.card.staticability.StaticAbilityContinuous.applyContinuousAbility(StaticAbilityContinuous.java:110)
   at forge.card.staticability.StaticAbility.applyAbility(StaticAbility.java:243)
   at forge.game.GameAction.checkStaticAbilities(GameAction.java:892)
   at forge.card.trigger.TriggerHandler.runWaitingTriggers(TriggerHandler.java:190)
   at forge.game.zone.MagicStack.unfreezeStack(MagicStack.java:201)
   at forge.game.GameAction.checkStateEffects(GameAction.java:1084)
   at forge.game.phase.PhaseHandler.handleBeginPhase(PhaseHandler.java:350)
   at forge.gui.InputProxy$1.run(InputProxy.java:66)
   at java.util.concurrent.ThreadPoolExecutor.runWorker(Unknown Source)
   at java.util.concurrent.ThreadPoolExecutor$Worker.run(Unknown Source)
   at java.lang.Thread.run(Unknown Source)
4) Description: Pressing "draw order" button in Shop, causes stack overflow error.

StackOverflowError | Open
Code: Select all
Forge Version:    1.3.13-r21215
Operating System: Windows XP 5.1 x86
Java Version:     1.7.0_17 Oracle Corporation

java.lang.StackOverflowError
   at java.awt.AWTEventMulticaster.removeInternal(Unknown Source)
   at java.awt.AWTEventMulticaster.remove(Unknown Source)
   at java.awt.AWTEventMulticaster.removeInternal(Unknown Source)
   at java.awt.AWTEventMulticaster.remove(Unknown Source)
   at java.awt.AWTEventMulticaster.removeInternal(Unknown Source)
   at java.awt.AWTEventMulticaster.remove(Unknown Source)
   at java.awt.AWTEventMulticaster.removeInternal(Unknown Source)
... (truncated)
5)
Description: deck building bug

IllegalArgumentException | Open
Code: Select all
Forge Version:    1.3.13-r21215
Operating System: Windows XP 5.1 x86
Java Version:     1.7.0_17 Oracle Corporation

java.lang.IllegalArgumentException: illegal component position
   at java.awt.Container.addImpl(Unknown Source)
   at java.awt.Container.add(Unknown Source)
   at forge.gui.framework.DragCell.addDoc(DragCell.java:278)
   at forge.gui.deckeditor.controllers.CEditorQuest.exit(CEditorQuest.java:315)
   at forge.control.FControl$4.windowClosing(FControl.java:140)
   at java.awt.AWTEventMulticaster.windowClosing(Unknown Source)
   at java.awt.AWTEventMulticaster.windowClosing(Unknown Source)
   at java.awt.Window.processWindowEvent(Unknown Source)
   at javax.swing.JFrame.processWindowEvent(Unknown Source)
   at java.awt.Window.processEvent(Unknown Source)
   at java.awt.Component.dispatchEventImpl(Unknown Source)
   at java.awt.Container.dispatchEventImpl(Unknown Source)
   at java.awt.Window.dispatchEventImpl(Unknown Source)
   at java.awt.Component.dispatchEvent(Unknown Source)
   at java.awt.EventQueue.dispatchEventImpl(Unknown Source)
   at java.awt.EventQueue.access$200(Unknown Source)
   at java.awt.EventQueue$3.run(Unknown Source)
   at java.awt.EventQueue$3.run(Unknown Source)
   at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
   at java.security.ProtectionDomain$1.doIntersectionPrivilege(Unknown Source)
   at java.security.ProtectionDomain$1.doIntersectionPrivilege(Unknown Source)
   at java.awt.EventQueue$4.run(Unknown Source)
   at java.awt.EventQueue$4.run(Unknown Source)
   at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
   at java.security.ProtectionDomain$1.doIntersectionPrivilege(Unknown Source)
   at java.awt.EventQueue.dispatchEvent(Unknown Source)
   at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpOneEventForFilters(Unknown Source)
   at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEventsForFilter(Unknown Source)
   at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEventsForHierarchy(Unknown Source)
   at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEvents(Unknown Source)
   at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEvents(Unknown Source)
   at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.run(Unknown Source)
maxthebest1
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 01 May 2013, 07:15
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Nice support !!!

Postby maxthebest1 » 02 May 2013, 08:50

i spend 1 hour to register into this site,

Submitting a bug should be instant, not take 1 hour !!!

Pressing the "conformation" email, it redirected me to a page saying "User doesnt exist".

It said to contact an administrator to help fix the problem. Guess what ? There is no way to communicate with an administrator if you aren't register.

After 40min creating 2 email acounts and 2 acounts on your site, i released that your site uses "Redirect" tecnology that my web browser doesnt support, forcing me to download and install another web browser of questionable security.

To add insult to the injury.
Your system prevented me for posting saying
"You post is too spammy" !!! Throwing an error 6 times.
Because it contained the word "w o w", which is an exclamation mark.

how do expect not to get an angry post ? my behavior is totally justified.
maxthebest1
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 01 May 2013, 07:15
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Forge Beta: 04-26-2013 ver 1.3.13

Postby Chris H. » 02 May 2013, 12:48

@ maxthebest1

We are sorry to hear that you had some problems registering an account for this web site.

Everyone has a temper but we expect that people will learn how to keep their tempers under control. A popular phrase comes to mind:

"You catch more flies with honey than with vinegar"
User avatar
Chris H.
Forge Moderator
 
Posts: 6320
Joined: 04 Nov 2008, 12:11
Location: Mac OS X Yosemite
Has thanked: 644 times
Been thanked: 643 times

Re: Forge Beta: 04-26-2013 ver 1.3.13

Postby timmermac » 02 May 2013, 13:03

Chris H. wrote:@ maxthebest1

We are sorry to hear that you had some problems registering an account for this web site.

Everyone has a temper but we expect that people will learn how to keep their tempers under control. A popular phrase comes to mind:

"You catch more flies with honey than with vinegar"
I'm more or less with Chris here. I'm normally extremely even-tempered and don't issue warnings or threaten banning very much at all. For one, it's normally not needed here, and also I'm hard enough to offend that I don't get annoyed enough to contemplate doing so. Your first post pushed enough of my buttons that I was inclined to issue a warning. Please hold the snarky remarks to a minimum, keep in mind that the people developing Forge are doing so as a hobby, and we'll get along fine. Otherwise, I'll have to revisit the whole 48-hour-ban thing, which I don't really want to have to do.
"I just woke up, haven't had coffee, let alone a pee in 7 days, and I find out you stole my ass and made a ...mini-me! Carter, I should be irked currently, yes?" - Jack O'Neill
User avatar
timmermac
Tester
 
Posts: 1512
Joined: 17 May 2010, 20:36
Has thanked: 18 times
Been thanked: 95 times

Re: Forge Beta: 04-26-2013 ver 1.3.13

Postby Hellfish » 02 May 2013, 13:15

*Self-censoring*

As for the actual bug reports:

2)Yes, the AI can be very stupid at times. We are continually improving it,though.
3)This has been fixed in the snapshot builds and for the next beta.
4)I couldn't reproduce the error but that tab shouldn't be there at all. I will remove it.
5)This is unfortunately a suspected file corruption bug.Right now the recommended solution is to delete the file editor.xml in %appdata%/Forge/preferences. If you're not on windows the location will be different and I do not know it for Linux or Mac.
So now you're
Screaming for the blood of the cookie monster
Evil puppet demon of obesity
Time to change the tune of his fearful ballad
C is for "Lettuce," that's good enough for me
User avatar
Hellfish
Programmer
 
Posts: 1297
Joined: 07 Jun 2009, 10:41
Location: South of the Pumphouse
Has thanked: 110 times
Been thanked: 169 times

Re: Forge Beta: 04-26-2013 ver 1.3.13

Postby Symphonic » 02 May 2013, 14:23

Game crashed when the opponent played Ghostly Prison. The board was loaded with cards, so underneath there's a screenshot with board and log.

ArrayIndexOutOfBoundsException | Open
Code: Select all
Forge Version:    1.3.13-r21215
Operating System: Windows 7 6.1 amd64
Java Version:     1.6.0_24 Sun Microsystems Inc.

java.lang.ArrayIndexOutOfBoundsException: Array index out of range: 0
   at java.util.Vector.get(Unknown Source)
   at forge.game.zone.MagicStack.peekAbility(MagicStack.java:883)
   at forge.gui.match.views.VStack.updateStack(VStack.java:134)
   at forge.gui.match.controllers.CStack$1.run(CStack.java:43)
   at forge.FThreads.invokeInEdtNowOrLater(FThreads.java:68)
   at forge.gui.match.controllers.CStack.update(CStack.java:59)
   at forge.gui.framework.DragCell.setSelected(DragCell.java:319)
   at forge.gui.framework.SDisplayUtil$2.run(SDisplayUtil.java:97)
   at forge.FThreads.invokeInEdtNowOrLater(FThreads.java:68)
   at forge.gui.framework.SDisplayUtil.showTab(SDisplayUtil.java:104)
   at forge.gui.match.controllers.CStack$1.run(CStack.java:42)
   at java.awt.event.InvocationEvent.dispatch(Unknown Source)
   at java.awt.EventQueue.dispatchEventImpl(Unknown Source)
   at java.awt.EventQueue.access$000(Unknown Source)
   at java.awt.EventQueue$1.run(Unknown Source)
   at java.awt.EventQueue$1.run(Unknown Source)
   at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
   at java.security.AccessControlContext$1.doIntersectionPrivilege(Unknown Source)
   at java.awt.EventQueue.dispatchEvent(Unknown Source)
   at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpOneEventForFilters(Unknown Source)
   at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEventsForFilter(Unknown Source)
   at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEventsForHierarchy(Unknown Source)
   at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEvents(Unknown Source)
   at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEvents(Unknown Source)
   at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.run(Unknown Source)
Unbenannt.png
Symphonic
 
Posts: 146
Joined: 10 Dec 2011, 19:09
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 6 times

Re: Forge Beta: 04-26-2013 ver 1.3.13

Postby Doerk » 02 May 2013, 16:50

Recently, I wrote a message about extra starting cards not showing up in quest mode. This was commented in the current version in the following way:

- Quest challenge start in play cards -
We have received reports that the quest challenge start in play cards are not appearing on the battlefield for some people. This was either fixed recently or it only affects some people but not all of them. Your match.xml and/or your quest save files may be corrupted.
However, my disappointment about being one of those people grew large enough to do something about it. So I downloaded the source code and debugged it. Now I can present the reason for the described behavior: It's simply that the quest is stored as being in CLASSIC mode instead of FANTASY. The piece of code shown in the picture shows that not only the extra cards are not displayed in CLASSIC mode but also additional effects (like more life for AI) don't are not triggered.

Forge - NetBeans IDE 7.1.jpg
The piece of code which shows why no extra cards are displayed in CLASSIC mode.


During the Forge history there must have been a change of dealing with the treatment of CLASSIC/FANTASY modes and extra cards. The mode seems to be stored in the questData.dat file and cannot be changed in an easy way. What I did is changing the code (i.e. setting the mode to FANTASY "by hand") and storing the quest data. Now I have a "converted" quest. However, this way may not be appropriate for everybody ;) The programmers may think about a conversion tool/option, since many of the quests simply don't make sense without the extra cards (e.g. Reactor Meltdown in Main World).

Regards,

Doerk
Doerk
 
Posts: 41
Joined: 12 Apr 2011, 16:43
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Forge Beta: 04-26-2013 ver 1.3.13

Postby Chris H. » 02 May 2013, 17:04

Ah, thank you for the detailed analysis. :)

I made a copy of my questData file and changed the extension to .zip. I then extracted this file and I can see the following at the start of this file:

Code: Select all
<forge.quest.data.QuestData>
  <versionNumber>6</versionNumber>
  <name>Carnival of Blood</name>
  <mode>Fantasy</mode>
  <assets>
    <cardPool>
      <card c="Carapace Forger" s="SOM" n="1"/>
 
The mode for my questData file is "Fantasy" and I guess that this is why I was able to get the start in play cards at the start of a challenge.

So it looks like you should be able to change the mode setting in your questData file. Getting the edited file back into it's original state may not be as easy.
User avatar
Chris H.
Forge Moderator
 
Posts: 6320
Joined: 04 Nov 2008, 12:11
Location: Mac OS X Yosemite
Has thanked: 644 times
Been thanked: 643 times

Re: Forge Beta: 04-26-2013 ver 1.3.13

Postby Max mtg » 02 May 2013, 18:06

Doerk, thank you for analysis. If they gave me a computer, i'd move ai life adjustment and extra cards out of if block, to apply them for any quest mode.
Single class for single responsibility.
Max mtg
Programmer
 
Posts: 1997
Joined: 02 Jul 2011, 14:26
Has thanked: 173 times
Been thanked: 334 times

Re: Forge Beta: 04-26-2013 ver 1.3.13

Postby Nordos » 02 May 2013, 21:39

The Compost trigger is not a 'may' trigger but forced
Nordos
 
Posts: 558
Joined: 23 May 2011, 14:06
Has thanked: 6 times
Been thanked: 18 times

Re: Forge Beta: 04-26-2013 ver 1.3.13

Postby texas » 02 May 2013, 21:41

thanks Xitax, BaloErets, and Diogenes for your responses. they were helpful but did not solve the problem, or likely it's my implementation of your advice. because this doesn't seem like it should be complicated so i must be doing something foolish / making a silly mistake. i tried different naming and structure conventions: different cases in file names and having pics folder be local to forge.exe's folder, etc. I still do not get card art, only what looks like a greenred dual land w/o text. in previous versions of forge there was simply a black space(absence of card) when the program did not access the card art. dunno if this is a convention that changed before the current version or not, as i did not use ver 1.3.1* up to .13.

to reiterate my goal: to have all forge files on drive B. drive c contains my windows OS and nothing else, I have some gigs free on it but not enough for the pics folder. plus i would just like to keep that buffer space. i tried a clean 'install' with the same forge.profile file and still no luck. i'm sure this is something i'm doing wrong but i'm not sure what. with a properly configured forge.profile, will forge's built-in pics importer copy to a custom directory? or is a custom pics directory in the forge.profile file only for 'scanning' a folder that already contains the pics?
please excuse whatever improper computer diction i use. i'm less familiar with windows than osx and not at all familiar with java applications. needless to say this is very frustrating for me, as i'm not accustomed to or (apparently) gifted at solving problems such as this. attached is my current forge data folder. if someone can help me, i am open to changing anything about the structure of folders as long as I can avoid putting big forge files (pics) on the main hard drive. again, thanks to the users who offered help already and huge thanks to forge's developers.
Attachments
Untitled.png
current data folder within main Forge folder
texas
 
Posts: 12
Joined: 01 May 2013, 19:40
Has thanked: 21 times
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Forge Beta: 04-26-2013 ver 1.3.13

Postby Diogenes » 02 May 2013, 22:50

@ texas - I think that should be easy enough to accomplish.

First off, I believe that the locations you set in the properties file both specify where Forge will search for images and control where the importer will send images - however, I don't think the importer remembers their previous location if it's something other than the old default (and it sounds like you've shuffled things around already, so it probably won't work for you right now.)

I'd suggest foregoing the importer entirely at this point, and moving everything into place manually. I highly recommend setting relative paths in the properties file ("./User/", etc.,) since that will allow you to have a portable Forge folder you can place wherever you want, although you can input specific locations on any drive.

Anyway, if you follow these steps everything should be working. Edit the properties file with the lines I included in my previous post and run Forge, the program will generate the appropriate directories and your Forge directory should look like this:

\Cache
\Pics
\Res
\User
Changes.txt
Forge.exe
etc...

At this point the Pics subfolder will be empty. Copy over the contents of your old Pics directory (except for \tokens) and everything should work.

The Cache folder will have two subfolders, db and pics. Other than one exception (pics\tokens,) there's no real benefit to using any custom files, so the content downloader built into Forge will take care of everything here. If you have non-default tokens, copy them into pics\tokens.

The User directory will have four subfolders (decks, preferences, quest, and gauntlet,) and the autogenerated logs. Nothing you need to import here manually except for your decks.

At this point you can copy the Forge folder to whichever drive you want and everything should work out of the box. If you copied over all the contents of your old folders that you want to keep, go ahead and delete the old ones.

Anyway, hope this works for you. Cheers. :)
Diogenes
 
Posts: 201
Joined: 12 Jul 2012, 00:54
Has thanked: 39 times
Been thanked: 23 times

Re: Forge Beta: 04-26-2013 ver 1.3.13

Postby BaloErets » 03 May 2013, 00:41

texas wrote:userDir=B:/Program Files/forgeData/user
cacheDir=B:/Program Files/forgeData/cache
cardPicsDir=B:/Program Files/forgeData/pics
I believe your problem is the paths you provided in the forge.profile.properties has

/forgeData

but from your screenshot the actual path shows
/forge/Data

your forge.profile.properties file should read

userDir=B:/Program Files/forge/Data/user
cacheDir=B:/Program Files/forge/Data/cache
cardPicsDir=B:/Program Files/forge/Data/pics

Should solve all yr problems :)
Attachments
Untitled.png
BaloErets
 
Posts: 32
Joined: 20 Apr 2013, 00:51
Has thanked: 19 times
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: Forge Beta: 04-26-2013 ver 1.3.13

Postby texas » 03 May 2013, 01:23

@Diogenes & @BaloErets

finally accomplished it. thanks again for your help. the issue was solved when i was able to get forge to generate the appropriate folders at the custom path indicated in the properties file.
Last edited by texas on 03 May 2013, 01:42, edited 1 time in total.
texas
 
Posts: 12
Joined: 01 May 2013, 19:40
Has thanked: 21 times
Been thanked: 0 time

PreviousNext

Return to Forge

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 45 guests


Who is online

In total there are 46 users online :: 1 registered, 0 hidden and 45 guests (based on users active over the past 10 minutes)
Most users ever online was 4143 on 23 Jan 2024, 08:21

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 45 guests

Login Form