It is currently 16 Aug 2018, 06:05
   
Text Size

Necrotic Ooze swamp for creature names

Report wrong Card behavior to get it fixed.
PLEASE ADD SAVEGAMES TO YOUR TOPIC !

Moderators: drool66, stassy, BAgate, gmzombie, Aswan jaguar, CCGHQ Admins

Necrotic Ooze swamp for creature names

Postby Aswan jaguar » 07 Jul 2018, 11:11

Describe the Bug:
1- Necrotic Ooze doesn't have activated mana abilities of creatures in graveyard.
2- When you activate it you get a menu with a Swamp (for each creature) with activated abilities of creatures in graveyard. or cancel.
3- I am not sure about this but if you activate an ability like Thraben Gargoyle with Necrotic Ooze nothing happens. Shouldn't Necrotic Ooze be transformed to Stonewing Antagonizer? Thraben Gargoyle // Stonewing Antagonizer wrong
Which card did behave improperly?
Necrotic Ooze

Which update are you using? (date, name)Which type? (duel, gauntlet, sealed deck)
Manalink dev 778ccb5 version - duel

What exactly should be the correct behavior/interaction?
1- Necrotic Ooze has activated mana abilities of creatures in graveyard.
2- When you activate it you get a menu with names of the creatures with activated abilities in all graveyards.
3- If I get below ruling right it should transform as the ability becomes "Transform Necrotic Ooze." from "Transform Thraben Gargoyle."wrong:
1/1/2011 If an activated ability of a card in a graveyard references the card it’s printed on by name, treat Necrotic Ooze’s version of that ability as though it referenced Necrotic Ooze by name instead. For example, if Cudgel Troll (which says “Green: Regenerate Cudgel Troll”) is in a graveyard, Necrotic Ooze has the ability “Green: Regenerate Necrotic Ooze.”
Are any other cards possibly affected by this bug?
-
Attachments
necrotic ooze swamp; for nim replica.rar
(4.84 KiB) Downloaded 4 times
Last edited by Aswan jaguar on 07 Jul 2018, 13:46, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: strikethrough wrong & correct name for autoshow card name
---
Just playtesting.
User avatar
Aswan jaguar
Super Tester
 
Posts: 5684
Joined: 13 May 2010, 12:17
Has thanked: 516 times
Been thanked: 272 times

Re: Necrotic Ooze swamp for creature names

Postby Korath » 07 Jul 2018, 13:37

3: No.

Rule 701.27c: If a spell or ability instructs a player to transform a permanent that isn't represented by a double-faced card, nothing happens.

So that ability would only do something if the card was a dfc that had been made into a copy of Necrotic Ooze. It still wouldn't have any visible effect until the copy effect wore off.

The ruling you quote is because WOTC (almost always) templates "this card" as [cardname] - the effect is to "regenerate this", not "find some Cudgel Troll somewhere and regenerate it". Likewise, the transform ability is still " {6}: Transform this card", it just doesn't do anything when it resolves because of 701.27c.
User avatar
Korath
DEVELOPER
 
Posts: 3329
Joined: 02 Jun 2013, 05:57
Has thanked: 479 times
Been thanked: 910 times


Return to Bug Reports

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


Who is online

In total there are 0 users online :: 0 registered, 0 hidden and 0 guests (based on users active over the past 10 minutes)
Most users ever online was 279 on 11 Jul 2013, 22:03

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

Login Form